3L Weekly News

Week Ending April 8, 2016

16-17 Class Placements

Please see Mrs. Simkus' email (from 3/31) regarding class placements for next year. The printable Characteristic Profile is due to me (hard copy or email) no later than April 22nd. Thank you in advance for completing these as they are helpful when creating class assignments for next year!

*The form is also attached to the email with this newsletter

Take Your Child to Work Day

Take Your Child to Work Day is Thursday, April 28th. Complete the form by Friday, April 22nd. In order for your child's absence to be considered EXCUSED on April 28th, this form must be submitted in advance. By returning this form or note to your child’s teacher prior to April 22nd, we will place your child’s name on our EXCUSED ABSENCE list, eliminating the need for you to call the school. You must submit this form for each of your children.

G&T Testing

Please see the information regarding G&T testing. The deadline for submission is next Friday, April 15th.
Big image

This week in...

Thank you Mrs. Blackburn for reading us a wonderful book!


Reading:

  • We read an information text titled The Albertosaurus Mystery by T.V. Padma.
  • The story is about how difficult it is to find clues that assist in the understanding of how meat-eating dinosaurs, like the Albertosaurus once lived.
  • During this story, we reviewed vocabulary terms and worked on the target skill: drawing conclusions and the strategy: visualize.
  • Students quickly realized that drawing conclusions is just like inferring!
  • We will continue working on this skill this coming week.
  • The next Comprehension/Vocabulary Assessment will be on Tuesday, April 12th (Day 6)!


Math:

  • We completed Unit 7 by completing a station review and taking the Unit 7 Math Test.

  • We began Unit 9 and learned how solve word problems using extended facts,

  • We worked to apply mental math to multiply 1 digit numbers by multi-digit numbers.

  • We worked on Open Responses and showing our thinking.

  • It is important that students are studying their multiplication facts each night. It not only helps build good study habits, but also builds stamina and quick recall! While it is great students are using strategies such as repeated addition and drawing pictures, these facts must be known by heart. Students can check out my eBoard for additional practice with this skill.


Writing:

  • Please encourage your child to continue to research (using books or the internet) their topics to help prepare them for writing. **This MUST be done when it is assigned in place of the 20 minutes of reading. It helps your child prepare for writing the next day and gives them an opportunity to write the best chapter they can!
  • We reviewed various strategies our mentor texts use to develop their informational books and tried a few in our writing.
  • We learned how to connect the information in our chapters by using transitional strategies and phrases.


Word Study:

  • The next Word Study Assessment will be on Tuesday, April 12th (Day 6)!

Science:

  • We tested the unknowns with fire. Don't worry, this was demonstrated by myself and our new Science Educational Assistant, Alison Metzinger. One of the unknowns became sticky and hard. Do you know what it could be?!

Habit of the Month: Think Win-Win

I balance courage for getting what I want with consideration for what others want. I make deposits in others’ Emotional Bank Accounts. When conflicts arise, I look for third alternatives.


I encourage parents to submit their children for nominations (you can email it right to me)! I'd love to celebrate what a child does outside of the classroom as much as we celebrate what they do in school. :-)

Reminders

Please remember to have your child submit his/her poem for Poet of the Week prior to the presentation for approval.


Absences/Late: Always include csattendanceoffice@haddonfield.k12.nj.us on all emails regarding absence, early dismissal or late arrival. This email is checked frequently throughout the day.


Vocabulary: Vocabulary for each story in Journeys can be found on my eBoard under the Language Arts tab. The red tabs are sectioned by lesson (example: L1 is Lesson 1 etc.). Vocabulary can also be found in the Journeys textbook or online textbook (before the reading selection).


Strings Make Up Work: Please keep in mind that your child will be missing instructional time when he or she attends strings. Any work that he or she miss will be expected to be made up.


Birthdays: If your child would like to celebrate his/her birthday, please contact me so we can set up a date to celebrate! See my eBoard for more details.


Student Logins: If students forget their Journeys Textbook click this link for the website. Students have logins and passwords in the front of their Agendas. EDM Home Links can be accessed on the website. The login information is also in the front of your child's planner book. My eBoard has additional information on logging in under the Language Arts and Math tabs.

Check This Out!

**My eBoard has loads of resources on it under the Math Tab. Be sure to check it out!


1.Typing Agent: **This is a GREAT tool to help your child with his/her typing skills!

  • The link can be found on my eBoard under the PARCC/Teach tab.


2. Multiplication

Student Council Activities

None at this time.

Central Events: January and February

Central Events: April

Wednesday, April 13

  • Thomas Jefferson's Birthday


Thursday, April 21

  • 6:30 pm Central School Expo Night


Friday, April 22

  • 5:30 pm Rotary Oyster Dinner


Monday, April 25

  • Jump Rope for Heart @ 10:00


Friday, April 29

  • 6:00pm Family Fun Night


Central Events: May

Monday, May 2

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5 8:00am
  • Teacher Appreciation Week


Tuesday, May 3

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5
  • Teacher Appreciation Week


Wednesday, May 4

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5
  • Teacher Appreciation Week
  • 3:10pm Central School PAC Meeting


Thursday, May 5

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5
  • Teacher Appreciation Week


Friday, May 6

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5
  • 9:00am Teacher Appreciation Week
  • 8:00am Spirit Day


Sunday, May 8

  • Mother's Day


Monday, May 9

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5


Tuesday, May 10

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5


Wednesday, May 11

  • PARCC Testing Grades 3-5
  • 3:10pm Central School PTA Meeting


Friday, May 13

  • 3:30pm Interim Report Cards Available Online Grades 1-5


Tuesday, May 24

  • 7:30am Central School Band Dress Rehearsal
  • 8:15am Central School Orchestra Dress Rehearsal
  • 7:00pm Central School Spring Concert


Wednesday, May 25

  • 8:00am 4th Grade Science Testing
  • 3:00pm Scholastic BOGO Sale


Monday, May 30

  • Memorial Day
  • 8:00am School Closed


Central Events: June

Wednesday, June 1

  • 8:00am Make up 4th Grade Science Testing


Friday, June 3

  • 8:00am Central School Kindergarten End of the Year Program
  • 6:00pm Spring Social


Monday, June 6

  • 8:00am Spirit Week


Tuesday, June 7

  • Spirit Week


Wednesday, June 8

  • Spirit Week
  • 6:00pm PTA Information Night


Thursday, June 9

  • Spirit Week
  • 6:00pm 5th Grade Remembrance Night


Friday, June 10

  • 9:00am Spirit Week
  • 8:00am Spirit Day
  • 9:00am Central School Awards Assembly


Wednesday, June 15

  • 8:40am Central School Field Day
  • 1:00pm 5th Grade Swim Party


Thursday, June 16

  • 1:00pm 5th Grade Swim Party (Rain Date)


Friday, June 17

  • 3:30pm Final Report Cards Available Online Grades PK-5


Sunday, June 19

  • Father's Day

Specials This Week

Monday is a Day 5:

  • Library


Tuesday is a Day 6:

  • Art

Wednesday is a Day 1:

  • Spanish and Gym


Thursday is a Day 2:

  • Music

Friday is a Day 3:

  • Health and Gym

Guest Read Aloud Schedule

October:

  • Jennifer Cittadini Wednesday, October 14 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Beth Wassall Wednesday, October 21 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Nicole Ventrella Tuesday, October 27 @ 2:40 (completed)


November:

  • Emmie Goldenbaum-Cook Thursday, November 12 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Mia Levine or Eric Huebl: Friday, November 20 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Jennifer Barker Monday, November 23 @ 2:40 (completed)


December:

  • Stefanie Kist: Wednesday, December 2 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Dana Mower: Monday, December 7 @ 2:40 (completed)


January:

  • Jeff Tucker Tuesday, January 5 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Susan Gordon: Tuesday, January 12 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Jennifer Grega : Friday, January 22 @ 2:40


February:

  • Robin Landis: Friday, February 5 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Dori Shields: Monday, February 22 @2:40 (completed)
  • Barbara Cavacini: Thursday, February 25 @ 2:40 (completed)


March:

  • Heather Tucker: Friday, March 4 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Debbie Wolschina: Friday, March 11 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Shannon Simkus: Tuesday, March 29 @ 2:40 (completed)


April:

  • Sara Blackburn: Tuesday, April 5 @ 2:40 (completed)
  • Sharon Dominco: Wednesday, April 13 @ 2:40


May:

  • Mary Beth Smith: Tuesday,May 10 @ 2:40


June:

  • Carol Cox: Friday, June 10 @ 2:40

Star of the Week Schedule

Student and Date:

1. Natalie Sept. 28-Oct.2 (completed)

2. Diego October 5-9 (completed)

3. Katie October 12-16 (completed)

4. Isaiah October 26-30 (completed)

5. Blair November 9-13 (completed)

6. Caden November 16-20 (completed)

7. Nathan November 30-Dec. 4 (completed)

8. Eliza January 4-8 (completed)

9. Caroline January 11-15 (completed)

10. Bryson January 25-29 (completed)

11. Vienna February 1-5 (completed)

12. Dayne February 22-26 (completed)

13. Libby February 29-Mar.4 (completed)

14. Derrick March 7-11 (completed)

15. Lindsey March 14-18 (completed)

16. Diana March 29- April 1 (completed)

17. Molly April 4-8 (completed)

18. Liam April 11-15

19. Elena April 25-29

20. William May 2-6

21. Joey May 16-20

22. Christopher June 6-10

Poet of the Week Schedule

Student and Date:

1. Libby Friday, October 2 (completed)

2. Liam Friday, October 9 (completed)

3. Diana Friday, October 16 (completed)

4. Vienna Friday, October 30 (completed)

5. Lindsey Friday, November 13 (completed)

6. Derrick Friday, November 20

7. Molly Friday, December 4 (completed)

8. Elena Friday, December 11 (completed)

9. Natalie Friday, January 8 (completed)

10. Joey Friday, January 15 (completed)

11. William Friday, January 29 (completed)

12. Isaiah Friday, February 12 (completed)

13. Katie Friday, February 19 (completed)

14. Christopher Friday, February 26 (completed)

15. Blair Friday, March 4 (completed)

16. Caden Friday, April 1 (completed)

17. Diego Friday, April 8 (completed)

18. Nathan Friday, April 15

19. Eliza Friday, May 6

20. Caroline Friday, May 13

21. Bryson Friday, May 27

22. Dayne Friday, June 10