Dare County, NC

The Land Of Beginnings

Where is Dare County?

Dare county is located in the coastal plain region of North Carolina. Dare County is located in northeastern North Carolina along the Atlantic seaboard. The county is bordered by Currituck County, Tyrell and Hyde County. Dare county was founded in 1870 and was named after Virginia Dare, the first child born in the Americas to English parents in what is now Dare county. Dare county is home to many fun attractions and their beautiful beaches.

Dare County Government

Dare County stretches almost 110 miles of shoreline known as the Outer Banks. The County seat is the town of Manteo, founded in 1899, and is about 200 miles east of Raleigh, the State capital. The county seat got it's name from Richard Grenville who established "The Lost Colony", he brought back two indians and one of their names was Manteo. Manteo has a population of abou 1,434 people, The County has seven members on the board of commissioners who serve 4-year terms and the county manager is Robert Outten. The population in Dare County as of the 2010 census was 33,920 but tourism during the summer months results in a daily population of almost 300,000. The county has six munincipalities including Duck, Kitty Hawk, Kill Devil Hills, Nags Head, Manteo and Southern Shores.

Attractions in Dare County and Things to do

The County contains much of North Carolina's "Outer Banks" vacation and resort areas and makes up approximately two-thirds of the North Carolina coastline. Being on the beach, Dare county has many fun activities and historic attractions to visit. Popular attractions include the Cape Hatteras National Seashore, the Wright Brothers National Monument, the Fort Raleigh National Historic Site, the Alligator River National Wildlife Refuge, the Pea Island National Wildlife Refuge, Jockey's Ridge State Park, the Elizabeth II State Historic Site, the Roanoke Island Festival Park, the North Carolina Aquarium and the Nags Head Woods Nature Preserve.

Departments in the County

Dare county operates many departments including the Airport, animal shelters, EMS, elections, Emergency Management, parks and recreation, Human and public services and more.