TVES Staff Summer Reading List

2016

Happy Reading!

Patti's Picks

Big image

"A bit quirky--but good." -Suzanne

Ruth Ozeki’s mesmerizing debut novel has captivated readers and reviewers worldwide. When documentarian Jane Takagi-Little finally lands a job producing a Japanese television show that just happens to be sponsored by an American meat-exporting business, she uncovers some unsavory truths about love, fertility, and a dangerous hormone called DES.

Soon she will also cross paths with Akiko Ueno, a beleaguered Japanese housewife struggling to escape her overbearing husband.

Hailed by USA Today as “rare and provocative” and awarded the Kirayama Prize for Literature of the Pacific Rim, My Year of Meats is a modern-day take on Upton Sinclair’s The Jungle for fans of Michael Pollan, Margaret Atwood, and Barbara Kingsolver.

Liz from RJ Julia's Suggestions

Kris' List

All the Light We Cannot See by Doerr

Loved, loved, loved this book about a blind French girl and a German orphan who are struggling to grow up and survive WWII during the Nazi occupation. It’s so beautifully written and haunting you will read and re-read every paragraph.

Euphoria by Lily King

I technically read this book last year, but I’m recommended it anyway. It’s historical fiction loosely based on the life of anthropologist Margaret Mead as she studies native tribes in New Guinea. Does that sound boring? Then try this – it about friendship, ego, professional rivalry, love triangles, and revenge!

One Minute to Midnight: Kennedy, Khrushchev, and Castro on the Brink of Nuclear War by Dobbs

Geek alert! This is a fascinating analysis of the Cuban Missile Crisis and the leadership of JFK during a tumultuous (and almost apocalyptic) time in American history.

Smarter, Faster, Better by Duhigg

Marketed as a book about productivity (yawn), it provides a series of true and inspiring life stories illustrating that HOW you think is more important than WHAT you think. This book changed my perspective about many things in my professional and personal life.

Alexander Hamilton by Chernow

I’ve just begun reading this fascinating account of a lesser known Founding Father, Alexander Hamilton and his rise to political power culminating in his infamous duel with Aaron Burr.

If you haven’t read The Girl on the Train by Hawkins, what are you waiting for? Read it this summer. I wouldn’t characterize it as great literature, but it’s full of twists and turns and is impossible to put down.

Big image

Recommended by Carrie Sabetta

Liz's List

Recommended by Jackie

Big image

City of Light

The year is 1901. Buffalo, New York, is poised for glory. With its booming industry and newly electrified streets, Buffalo is a model for the century just beginning.

Louisa Barrett has made this dazzling city her home. Headmistress of Buffalo’s most prestigious school, Louisa is at ease in a world of men, protected by the titans of her city. But nothing prepares her for a startling discovery: evidence of a murder tied to the city’s cathedral-like power plant at nearby Niagara Falls. This shocking crime–followed by another mysterious death–will ignite an explosive chain of events. For in this city of seething intrigue and dazzling progress, a battle rages among politicians, power brokers, and industrialists for control of Niagara. And one extraordinary woman in their midst must protect a dark secret that implicates them all…

A Note from Tricia

Once again, I am recommending the Stephanie Plum series from Janet Evanovich! I just read the latest one and it still pleases. When my kids hear me spontaneously laugh out loud while reading they know I must be reading Janet again. Not to mention that I am on Team Ranger all the way! The Maisie Dobbs series from Jacqueline Winspeare without a doubt is a great series. Barbara T. and I love them; Smith library just ordered the newest one for me. Yes!--there is a new one out! I cant wait!

My favorite authors remain Martha Grimes and P.D. James with a few Louise Penny novels thrown in.

Happy Summer Reading!

Tricia

"Sweet and funny!" -Carrie

The Rosie Project

When Don Tillman, a genetics professor, decides it is time to get married, he devises a scientific survey designed to filter out undesirables, calling it the "Wife Project." When Don meets Rosie Jarman, she is quickly eliminated as wife material, but when he assists Rosie in a search for her biological father, he discovers that love finds you, not the other way around.

From the Publisher

Now in paperback, the international bestselling romantic comedy "bursting with warmth, emotional depth, and...humor," (Entertainment Weekly) featuring the oddly charming, socially challenged genetics professor, Don, as he seeks true love.

The art of love is never a science: Meet Don Tillman, a brilliant yet socially inept professor of genetics, who's decided it's time he found a wife. In the orderly, evidence-based manner with which Don approaches all things, he designs the Wife Project to find his perfect partner: a sixteen-page, scientifically valid survey to filter out the drinkers, the smokers, the late arrivers.

Rosie Jarman possesses all these qualities. Don easily disqualifies her as a candidate for The Wife Project (even if she is "quite intelligent for a barmaid"). But Don is intrigued by Rosie's own quest to identify her biological father. When an unlikely relationship develops as they collaborate on The Father Project, Don is forced to confront the spontaneous whirlwind that is Rosie―and the realization that, despite your best scientific efforts, you don't find love, it finds you.

Big image

Suggestions from my friend, Bette

Sue Morretti's Recommendations

My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry by Fredrik Backman

a novel about a young girl whose grandmother dies and leaves behind a series of letters, sending her on a journey that brings

to life the world of her grandmother's fairy tales.

Big image