Child Labor Laws
What are Child Labor Laws?
For the sate of Georgia:
Minors under the age of 16 may work no more than:
- 4 hours on a school day
- 8 hours on a non-school day
- 40 hours during a non-school week\
- Minors 14 and 15 years of age can work:
- 3 hours on a school day
- 8 hours on a nonschool day
- 18 hours in a school week
- 40 hours in a nonschool week
- Not work before 7:00 a.m.
- Not work after 7:00 p.m. (extended to 9:00 p.m. June 1 through Labor Day)
California Child Labor Laws
• May be employed only during school holidays and vacations (usually construed to
include weekends). May never be employed on any school day, either before or after
• Daily and weekly work hour maximums while school is in session are not specified in
statute, but may not exceed the maximum allowed when school is not in session or the
maximum stated on permit.
• 3 hours per school day outside
of school hours
• 8 hours on any non-school day
• 18 hours per week
• WEE students may work during school hours & up to 23 hours per week.
4 hours per day on any school day
• 8 hours on any non-school day or on any day preceding a non-school day.
• 48 hours per week