Haywood County

Everything You Need to Know

General Info

Haywood County is located in the mountain region of North Carolina. It was founded by European Americans in 1808. It was originally part of Buncombe County. Haywood County was named after John Haywood. John served as the NC treasurer for 40 years.


Part of the Great Smokey Mountains National Park is located in our lovely county, as well as part of Blue Ridge Parkway. If you like skiing, we also have the Cataloochee ski area in the mountains. Like thrill rides? Come visit the Ghost Town in the Sky.

Governmental Info

Staff includes:

  • County Manager: Ira Dove
  • Waynesville Manager (county seat): Amie Owens
  • Mayor: Gavin A. Brown
  • County Board of Commissioners: Five members