Stanford, NC

Located in Lee County

"A great place to be".

Lee County is located in the Piedmont region of North Carolina. The bordering counties are: Chatham County, Harnett county, and Moore County. Lee County was founded in 1907, and was named after Robert E. Lee, general of the confederate army.

The Government

Sanford's government is a .council-manager government. The city council consists of the mayor and seven council members, each with a four-year term. Five of the council seats are ward (district) representatives, and two seats are citywide representatives elected at-large. Sanford's 2012 city counsel members are: Samuel Gaskins, 1st Ward and Mayor Pro Temp, Charles Taylor, 2nd Ward, James Williams, 3rd Ward, Walter McNeil, 4th Ward, Rebecca Wyhof, 5th Ward, Leopold Poly Cohen, At-Large, Jimmy Haire, At-Large, and the County Manager is John Crumpton.

What to do?

In Lee County You can go see the Triassic basin, you can go see the sandhills, or you can go to The Temple Theatre.
Big image

Fun Fact

Lee county has the state's most concentrated reserves of oil and natural gas. Lee County is the epicenter for future horizontal drilling in North Carolina.