The 7 Principles

Reece Maddox-2nd period

Limited Government

Limited Government is a political system in which legalized force is restricted through delegated and enumerated powers. America has a limited government, so that our government will not be to powerful.

Separation of Powers

Separation of Powers is an act of vesting the legislative, executive, and judicial powers of government in separate bodies. In America, we have separation of powers, so that not one branch has too much power.

Checks and Balances

Checks and Balances is a system in which the different parts of an organization (such as a government) have powers that affect and control the other parts so that no part can become too powerful. Each branch of our government checks the power of the other branches, and keeps their powers balanced.

Popular Sovereignty

Popular Sovereignty is a government in which the people rule the consent of the governed. The people of America rule the consent of the governed.


    Republicanism is one possible ideology of governing a society or state as a republic. The key point is that the people hold popular sovereignty, rather than the people being subjects of a monarch.

Individual Rights

Individual Rights refers to the liberties of each person to pursue life and goals, without interference from the individuals of the government. The people of America have individual rights, and that will never change.


Federalism is the federal principle of government. Today, the states are all one nation. Every state has the same currency as the next. Federalism unifys the country. The states have the same amount of power as the government.