TRIX ACADEMY

March 9, 2021

Dates to Remember

3/9/2021 - Food Distribution

3/11/2021 - Parent Forum

3/19/2021 - Progress Reports

From the Desk of the Principal

Hello Trix Academy Family!


We are continuing to make plans for the 2021-2022 school year. If you have not already, please check your email for your child(ren) intent to return form. In addition, Trix Academy is also accepting new scholar application for the upcoming school year. If you are aware of a family who is searching for a safe, nurturing and educationally focused school, please call the office at (313) 426-1020 or visit http://trix.mecc-academies.org for enrollment information.


Sincerely,


Detra Coleman, Ed.S.

Trix Academy School Leader

Summer Learning

To help address the needs of our scholars, Trix Academy is in the process of planning its Summer Learning program. Scholars will have the opportunity to attend a 5 week program that is full of academic and enrichment engagement activities. Please look for additional details as they are finalized. If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Coleman at (313) 426-1020 or d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.

Parent Forum

Thursday, March 11th, 9am

This is an online event.

https://meet.google.com/kvd-uaub-kxy


Join by phone:

‪(US) +1 651-571-1659‬

PIN: ‪990 993 492‬#

Facts About Attendance

Trix Academy is continuing to help all of our scholars participate in the learning process on a consistent basis. Based on data, there are certain patterns that exist for children who are chronically absent from school.


  • By 6th grade, chronic absence becomes a leading indicator that a student will drop out of high school.

  • Poor attendance can influence whether children read proficiently by the end of third grade or be held back.


In the midst of the challenges we are currently facing, it is important for our scholar(s) to log into class on a daily basis. Receiving first hand instruction on a consistent basis is very important to the learning process.

Laptop Care and Tips

Many of our scholars have received devices for virtual learning. Below are a few tips to ensure the technology devices are not accidently damaged or lost.


  • Ensure the case remains on the iPad or Chromebook
  • Ensure food and drinks are not around the technology device
  • Ensure scholars are stationary when using the iPad or Chromebook
  • Monitor data usage on the hotspot
  • When lessons have concluded for the day, ensure the scholar places the device in the same location for the next day
  • Ensure technology devices are plugged in to charge at the end of the school day in order for scholars to have a fully charged device for the next school day.


If you have any questions, please let me know via email at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org or by calling the office at (313) 426-1020.

Breakfast

Trix Academy serves breakfast daily from 8:05am - 8:30am in each classroom to ensure social distancing is being observed. It is very important for all scholars to arrive at breakfast time to eat breakfast and begin learning at the start of instructional time.

Staff Email Addresses


Leadership

Detra Coleman, Principal - d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Sheilene Smith, Office Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org


Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Matthew Bowman, Academic Interventionist - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Sharon Dye, Lead Teacher - s.dye@mecc-academies.org

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org



Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher Assistant - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Darryle Cross, Teacher Assistant - d.cross@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher Assistant - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Christine Truesdell, Teacher - c.truesdell@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher Assistant - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher Intern - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, Teacher Assistant - a.keys@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Paige DeRue, Teacher Assistant - p.derue@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org