By: Daniel Sung

Terms, facts, and explanations.

Islamic followers are called Muslims, and some of their core beliefs include the Sabbath and the 6 Major Beliefs. Their sacraments are called the Five Pillars of Faith.The Five Pillars are composed of:
  1. Shadaha- public declaration of one's faith
  2. Salat- prayer
  3. Zakat- generosity to the poor and needy
  4. Slyam- fasting during the ninth month of the islamic calendar
  5. Hajj- journey to Mecca at least once in one's life

The average Muslim usually goes to worship at a mosque, and are led in worship by a Imam or a Mullah. Their holy book, the Quran, was believed to be given to Muhammad (pbuh) by Allah himself. Some Islamic holidays include Ramadan and Eid al Fitr:

  • Ramadan- the celebration of Allah giving Muhammad the Quran
  • Eid al Fitr- celebrates the closure of Ramadan

One of the most holy places for Muslims is the Dome on the Rock in Jerusalem; it is where Muhammad is said to have ascended to heaven. Abraham is also an important common figure in Islam. Abraham is also important in Christianity and Judaism. All three religions believe in monotheism.

For more info, go to:

Please E-mail me any recommendations and/or comments. My mind is open!
* please note that this is based on the core culture and that I have no experience in the matter. Please take the survey below.
Big image