Follow Your Own Star

Weekly Newsletter April 11-April 15

Peek @ the Week

Monday, April 11

  • Welcome Back!


Tuesday, April 12

  • After School PD CANCELED (Make up time moved to Tues, May 10 3-4:30)
  • District 2 Board Meeting @DO 7:00 pm


Wednesday, April 13

  • Math Coach Meeting
  • Literacy Coach Meeting
  • Literacy Cohort IX @DO 3:00 pm


Thursday, April 14

  • Literacy Cohort X @DO 3:00 pm


Friday, April 15

  • PTA Board Meeting 8:00 am
  • BSMS Spanish Club visits 2nd grade

Need to Know News Shared with OES Parents

Single-Gender “Opt-In” Forms (Parents of 2nd & 3rd grade students only) – Your child has the option of participating in our school’s single-gender program next school year. Participation in the program requires parents to opt-in. We ask that all 2nd and 3rd grade students return this form. All forms are due by Friday, April 29th.


2016 Annual Report Card Survey (Parents of 4th grade students only) – The 2016 Annual State Department of Education Report Card Surveys went home the week before Spring Break. This is a “last call” for forms. Please return this this week. These surveys will provide the administration and our School Improvement Council (SIC) the feedback needed to make future decisions regarding our students’ experience at Oakland.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION FROM THE OFFICE OF TRANSPORTATION...

Due to the rezoning of Hendrix, BSE & the new elementary school, new bus routes are being planned for the 2016-2017 school year. In order to help plan for the new bus routes, the office of transportation is asking for parents to complete a transportation form that will be sent home tomorrow with students. Please encourage students to return the forms by this Friday, April 15th. The following blurb was sent in this week's call out to all OES parents...


2016-2017 Transportation Information – To assist us in planning for student transportation needs next year, forms will be coming home tomorrow that, when returned, will specify to us how your child will be transported to and from school in 2016-17. Whether your child will be a bus or car rider, please fill out the Transportation Information form and return it to us by this Friday, April 15th. If you have any questions after you’ve received the form, please do not hesitate to call the front office.

OES All Star Shout Outs

LIGHT IT UP BLUE!

Thanks to everyone who helped to "Light it Up Blue" at OES!

Big image

Important April & May Dates...Please Mark Your Calendars!

Wednesday, April 20:

District Office Spring Instructional Visit (Mercer, Hinton & Ashby)

Thursday, April 21:

5K Orientation 5:45 pm
PTA/Fine Arts Night 6:30 pm


Friday, April 22:

Volunteer Brunch 9:00 am


Tuesday, April 26:

SC Ready: Writing


Wednesday, April 27:

SC Ready: ELA


Thursday, April 28:

SC Ready: Math

Friday, April 29:

Single Gender Opt In Forms Due to Office

Relay for Life @ Chapman High School


Week of May 2-6:

Teacher Appreciation Week


Tuesday, May 3:

PD Make Up: DOK/Assessment 3:00-5:00 (K-4th, Resource)


Wednesday, May 4:

National School Nurses Day


Thursday, May 5:

Special Education Banquet @RLMS 6:00 pm


Sunday, May 8:

Mother's Day


Monday, May 9:

Muffins w/Mom PreK & 5K


Tuesday, May 10:

Muffins w/Mom 1st Grade

DO Instructional Team meeting with OES Faculty & Staff (3:00-4:30)


Wednesday, May 11:

Muffins w/Mom 2nd Grade

PASS Testing- Science (4th Grade)


Thursday, May 12:

Muffins w/Mom 3rd Grade

PASS Testing- SS (4th Grade)


Friday, May 13:

Muffins w/Mom 4th Grade
Mini Relay for Life @OES


Thursday, May 19:

Chick-Fil-A Spirit Night


Friday, May 20:

Field Day
School Spirit Day


Monday, May 23:

School Cookout


Tuesday, May 24:

3rd & 4th Grade Fun Day
5K End of the Year Program 1:00 pm
4th Grade Awards Night @BSMS 6:30 pm


Wednesday, May 25:

5K, 1st, & 2nd Grade Fun Day
3rd Grade Awards Day 8:30 am


Thursday, May 26:

Full Day for Students
2nd Grade Awards Day 8:30 am
1st Grade Awards Day 9:45 am

Rising Stars Mentor/Mentee Luncheon 11:00 am

4K End of the Year Program 1:00 pm


Friday, May 27:

1/2 day for students


Monday, May 30:

Memorial Day Holiday


Tuesday, May 31:

1/2 day for students
Last Day of School


Wednesday, June 1:

Teacher Workday

Big image
Big image

Birthday Wishes Go Out To...

Debbie Thomas- April 16

Regina Burnett- April 25

Linda McAbee- April 25

Jamie Kent- April 27

Doris Skipper- April 28