Chapter 29 Project

Miguel Martinez

Consumer Bill of Rights

The Consumer Bill of Rights was proposed by President John F. Kennedy in 1962 to protect the consumer.

1. The Right to safety - Protection against products that are hazardous to someones life or health.
2. The Right to Be Informed - Protection against fraudulent, deceitful, or grossly misleading practices.
3. The Right to Choose - Access to a variety of quality products and services offered at competitive prices.

4. The Right to Be Heard - Assurance of representation of consumer interests in formulating gov. policy and of fair and prompt. treatment.

5. The Right to Redress - Assurance that buyers have ways to register their dissatisfaction and receive compensation for valid complaints.

6. The Right to Consumer - Assurance that consumers have the necessary assistance plan and use their resources to the maximum potential.

Patients' Bill of Rights

The Patients' Bill of Rights was proposed by the President's Advisory Commission on Consumer protection and quality in the Health Care Industry in 1998

1. Information Disclosure - Patients have the right to receive accurate, easily understood information to make information to make informed health decisions

2. Choice of Providers - Patients have the right to choose their own doctors and other help providers.

3. Access to Emergency Services - Patients have the right to access health car services how and where the need arises.

4. Treatment - Patients have the right to fully participate in all decisions related to their health care.

5. Respect and Nondiscrimination - Consumers have the right considerate, respectful care from all members of the health care systems at all times.

6. Confidentiality - Consumer have the right to have the confidentiality of their individual identifiable health care information protected.

Consumer Protection Laws

Since the 1930's, Congress passed many laws to protect consumer from unsafe products and unfair or deceptive business practices.

1. Meat Inspection Law - The Poultry Products Inspection Act of 1957 requires poultry to be inspected for harmful contamination.

2. Hazardous Substance labeling Act - The Hazardous Substances Labeling Act of 1960 requires that warning labels appear on all households products that are potentially dangerous to the consumer.

3. Child Protection and Toy Safety Act - The Child Protection and Toy Safety Act of 1966 bans of toys and children's articles that contain hazardous substances or pose electrical mechanical, or thermal dangers.

Federal Agencies

1. NIST -(National Institute of Standards and Technology) an agency within the U.S. Department of Commerce

2. FDA - (Food and Drug Administration) enforces laws and regulation preventing distribution of mislabeled foods, drugs, cosmetics, and medical devices.

3. CPSC - (Consumer Product Safety Commission) protects consumer from unreasonable risks of injury or death fro potentially hazardous consumer products.