MGM 8th Grade House News

October 13, 2019

Welcome!

Welcome to 8th Grade! Please read below for house news, upcoming assessments, and 8th grade house highlights! These newsletters will be sent out every week!

Follow Us!

Please keep up with news and happenings at MGMS by following us on social media. Check us out at:


Facebook @mgmsgators

Twitter @mgmgators

Instagram @mgmgators

School website: mgms.lexington1.net

8TH GRADE TRIP: PHILADELPHIA AND NEW YORK CITY

SEASONAL PRICE INCREASE ON OCTOBER 1ST. ENROLL BY MONDAY, SEPTEMBER 30TH TO LOCK IN THE LOWEST PRICE.


HOW TO ENROLL:

1. VISIT WWW.EFEXPLOREAMERICA.COM/2230955UH

2. PRESS ENROLL NOW AND COMPLETE YOUR ENROLLMENT

3. TELL YOUR FRIENDS SO THEY CAN JOIN YOU!

6th Grade Community Faces Expedition Needs Your Help

Please help out our sixth graders here at MGM. They need volunteers for this year's 6th grade expedition. Please read the letter attached for more details. If you have any questions, please contact ahammill@lexington1.net. Thank you!


Volunteer Letter

Acessing Powerschool and Schoology from home

Acessing Schoology and PowerSchool from a home or personal device

https://launchpad.classlink.com/lexington1

Schoology- Students can access Schooology using their login and password through the Launchpad link. Students can use their Chromebook to access Launchpad or enter the link above in an internet browser (i.e. Chrome, Safari, Firefox).

We recommend parents and students bookmark this Launchpad link on your home computers for easy access away from the district-issued Chromebook. Students are only able to use the Launchpad web link at this time.


Parents will continue to access Schoology using Schoology.com and entering the parent username and password you created when you set up your account. Parents can also use the Schoology app on an app-enabled device.


PowerSchool- Students and parents can access PowerSchool through the web or the app. Parents can contact the office for PowerSchool account information. Students will use their district username and password to access PowerSchool grades and attendance information. Powerschool can also be found in the Launchpad for easy access by students.

Bookmark on personal devices.

https://launchpad.classlink.com/lexington1

MGM Counseling Department

Follow the counseling center on Twitter @mgmcounseling for updates from our counselors!

PTO INFORMATION

Let's show our Meadow Glen Middle School Staff our appreciation with a Spooky Spuds and Chili luncheon. The PTO is providing the potatoes (Spuds) and our wonderful cafeteria staff will be cooking them. We just need our fabulous parents to provide chili and toppings for the potatoes, some paper products and desserts. Please see the list and sign up where you can help.

All items need to be dropped off Thursday, October 24th in the office by 9AM.

Thank you all in advance for everything you do to support the PTO and our MGMS staff.


https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10C0C4CAFAE22A3FE3-mgmspooky

2019-20 MGMS YEARBOOK

Order your yearbook now before the price of $55 goes away. This lowest price of the year also gives you great discounts on personalization. Go to www.jostensyearbooks.com or stop by the front office before its too late.

8TH GRADE UPCOMING ASSESSMENTS

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT ASSESSMENTS BELOW, PLEASE EMAIL YOUR CHILD'S TEACHER.

ELA: See Schoology for updates


ENGLISH I : See Schoology for updates


PRE-ALGEBRA : Quiz this week on solving multi-step inequalities with variables on both sides


ALGEBRA I: Check Schoology for updates


GEOMETRY: Check Schoology for updates


SOCIAL STUDIES:

Civil Rights Movement (1-4/1-5) Test is Thursday 10/17


SCIENCE:

Ginny Lane Support Labs due Thursday, October 17.

Skills Assessment- Friday, October 18


WORLD LANGUAGES: Click here for a link to all WL updates


" Reminder to Early Bird students/parents that class begins at 7:25 everyday unless otherwise stated in an email from Ms.Hamner. Students who need to make up assessments in the morning with other teachers need to get approval from their Immersion teachers first. If they are not in class or receive too many unexcused tardies, they are considered absent. If you have any questions or concerns please contact the WL Department Chair (Jessica Stolebarger) at jstolebarger@lexington1.net "

Contact information

Please contact your child's teacher if you have any questions or concerns.


Administration:

Dr. Bill Coon - bcoon@lexington1.net

Dr. Kyle Meetze - kmeetze@lexington1.net

Jamie Powell -jpowell@lexington1.net

Alisa Long- aklong@lexington1.net


Counselor:

Davis Myers -dmyers@lexington1.net


House Leader

Ashley Holmes - aholmes@lexington1.net


Content Area Teachers:

ELA

Cameron Johns - cjohns@lexington1.net

Trudie Montgomery - tmontgomery@lexington1.net

Brittany Muir - btucker@lexington1.net

Social Studies

Janet Dorneker - jdorneker@lexington1.net

Michael Moore - mhmoore@lexington1.net

Korin Rogerson - krogerson@lexington1.net

Science

Kendall Bell - kdbell@lexington1.net

Kay Dyar - kdyar@lexington1.net

Ashley Holmes - aholmes@lexington1.net

Margaret Tesh - mtesh@lexington1.net

Math

Jennifer Cook - jlcook@lexington1.net

Allee Mathis - amathis@lexington1.net

Katie Smith - kfsmith@lexington1.net


Encore Teachers

Drama - Rachel Cooper - rlcooper@lexington1.net

Orchestra - Jo Hanna - jhanna@lexington1.net

Dance - Megan Viazanko- mviazanko@lexington1.net

Dance - Kara Corley - kccorley@lexington1.net

Band - Melanie Winn- mwinn@lexinton1.net

Art - June Collins - jcollins@lexington1.net

Art - Beth Maddox - bmaddox@lexington1.net

Chorus - Augie Gil- agil@lexington1.net

STEM - Cliff Roberts - cjroberts@lexington1.net

ICIVICS - Melody Shafer - mshafer@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Phillip Thomas - pthomas@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed - Stephen Harmon - srharmon@lexington1.net

Outdoor Ed- Abby Chisholm - achisholm@lexington1.net

PE - Candice Cobb - ccobb@lexington1.net

PE- Ben Anderson- rbanderson@lexington1.net

Digital Design - Ryan Panter - rpanter@lexington1.net

Supplemental Math - Ann Bennett - abennett@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Susan Myrick - smyrick@lexington1.net

ELA RTI - Rayna Kleckley - rkleckley@lexington1.net

Academic Seminar LA - Jennifer Williams - jbwilliams@lexington1.net


World Language

Latin - Jessica Stolebarger - jstolebarger@lexington1.net

French - Erin Hamner - ehamner@lexington1.net

French - Cheikh Fall - cfall@lexington1.net

French - Catherine Pontenes -Alemu - cpontens-alemu@lexington1.net

Chinese - Na Zhang - nzhang@lexington1.net

Chinese - Susan Wang - ywang@lexington1.net

Chinese-Natalie Lukity - nlukity@lexington1.net

Spanish - Samantha Simmons - ssimmons@lexington1.net

Spanish - Valentina Salomon msalomon@lexington1.net

Spanish- Molina Munoz mmolinamunoz@lexington1.net

Spanish- Hilda Duarte Gomez hduartegomez@lexington1.net

Spanish- Filder Segura fsegura@lexington1.net