Dietary Laws Judaism

Harrison Wong - C2/C4

Overview Paragraph

Kashrut, more commonly known as Kosher, is a Jewish law that tells people what foods they can and cannot eat. This law contains many of the intricate dietary laws of Judaism. Kosher laws tells you how foods must be prepared. For example, meat (defined as flesh of birds/mammals) may not be eaten with dairy. Also, certain animals may not be eaten. More specifically you can eat animal with cloven hooves, you can eat anything that has fins and scales, you cannot eat birds of prey or scavengers, you cannot eat any winged insect, and you cannot eat any rodents, reptiles, amphibians. Products of these forbidden animals also may not be eaten. Finally, all fruits/vegetables are considered kosher unless they are infested with bugs. Some special food preparation rituals are the inability to eat any blood of an animal (even if the animal is Kosher), and the inability to eat the fat of an animal. A special holiday is Passover, one of the most widely celebrated and important Jewish holy festivals. Contrary to some opinions, Kosher laws are followed year-round rather than just on Passover. Some foods of passover are matzo, bitter herbs, fruits/nuts, green herbs, lamb, hard-boiled egg, and wine.

Relavant Images

Dinner Menu

Modernized Passover Meal

Appetizer - Spring salad

Main Courses - Veal shoulder

Sides - Olive oil mashed potatoes, roasted carrots & fennel

Desserts - Fresh fruit, fruit sorbet