Trix Family News

Week of March 14, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (14 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 3)

Good evening Trix Families,


I hope this message meets you prepared and ready to take on a new week. Daylight savings took place this weekend and we lost an hour. However, I am excited about having longer days and that Spring feeling is coming through. I anticipate our scholars being a little sleep this week, so lets make sure they get to be a little earlier tonight.


For the second week in a row our average daily attendance has went up. We increased our attendance by 2% last week from 80% to 82%. Let's continue the awesome progress and ensure our scholars are able to maximize their instructional time with their teachers.


Intent to Return Forms are due by March 31st (FINAL DEADLINE). Please complete online or return your hardcopy.


Lastly, please fill out our Face Mask Survey. Parent feedback is importance to us.


Let's make it a WONDERFUL WEEK!!



Thank you parents for all that you do!


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

Big picture
6 Questions | Fun Reading & Writing Comprehension Strategy For Kids | Jack Hartmann

Reading Spirit Week!!!

Monday 3/14

Readers Never Stop Dreaming!

Wear your pajamas to school and get cozy while you read!


Tuesday 3/15

Book Character Day!

Dress up as your favorite book character from any book (school appropriate please!)


Wednesday 3/16

Dr. Seuss Day!

On March 2nd, it was Dr. Seuss' birthday. Dress up as your favorite Dr. Seuss Character!


3/17

Biography Day!

Dress up as your favorite famous person that either has or could write a biography about their life (actors/actresses, famous athletes, celebrities, etc.)


Friday 3/18

Powerful Word Day!

Wear clothing with a positive message on it! Keep it school appropriate please!


--

82% Average Daily Attendance the week of March 7th - March 11th! Goal 95%

Attendance Matters!! Let's Continue to Work Together!

It is important for scholars to be in attendance daily! Continue to work with the school and your scholars teachers to ensure they have a great Quarter 3!!
Big picture

Climate and Culture

Big picture

Thursday, March 17th Please RSVP!!

Big picture

Vaccination Clinic Registration Link

We are asking families and community members to please use the Vaccination Clinic Registration Link to save your spot!


https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSeV7oecivwtGziryXj4vkNn4AflWfcqLdP-EWdckFBQhrCqpw/viewform?usp=pp_url

March 31st Deadline!! Scholar Intent to Return (2022-2023 School Year) SAVE YOUR SPOT!!

Now is that time of year to secure your spot for the 2022-2023 school year. Please fill out the Google Form to solidify a spot for each of your scholars for next fall. The first class(es) with 100% will receive a celebration! Pizza or Ice Cream or Popcorn and a movie! Please find our Intent to Return Flyer HERE


Trix Academy 2022-2023 Scholar Intent to Return Form


A little over 62% of Intent to return forms have been submitted!!! So far our 1st, 2nd, 4th, 5th and 6th grades for next fall are filling fast. Be proactive and get your forms completed ASAP!! Be on the look out for a second round of paper copies coming soon.

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Dates to Remember


March 17th Vaccination Clinic (Dose 1, Dose 2, Booster)

Week of March 22nd - Interim Assessments (ELA and Math)

March 28th - April 1st Spring Break No School (Building will be Closed)

April 4th - School Resumes

March 30th Intent to Return Final Deadline

WHAT ARE YOU DOING THIS SUMMER!!!

SUMMER ADVANTAGE 2022

It is never too early to be prepared!


Please click on link to see the Summer Advantage opportunity here at Trix Academy this Summer 2022.

(SPACE IS LIMITED SO SIGN UP TODAY!!)

Big picture

Summer Advantage Registration


Or call the Summer Advantage Team at 1-866-924-7226 from 8am-6pm Monday - Friday

Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available
Big picture


Detroit At Work Scholarship Program


Detroit at Work has five scholarship programs designed to give Detroiters access to greater opportunity, better careers and higher earning power.

Fill out the FORM and choose all programs you're interested in.

If you're interested in a finding a job, call us at 313-962-9675! Detroit at Work is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.


Emerging Industries Training Institute:


Emerging Industries Training Institute (EITI) is Detroit’s premier vocational school. We are the only employer led training facility in the City of Detroit. We pride ourselves in offering employment opportunities for our graduates, offering classes year round. EITI has the success of our students at the forefront of everything we do…we are in the business of changing lives for the better…starting with yours!


Since 2009, EITI has placed over 2,200 graduates into viable careers. With a placement rate of over 90% and consistently retaining over 88% of our students, EITI works closely with participating employers to ensure our graduates receive the best employment experience possible.


Local Food Pantry:

New Covenant of Peace

13560 E. McNichols
Detroit, MI - 48205

Phone: (313) 526-4000
tonynewcop@yahoo.com

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Dwight Walls, Teacher - d.walls@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.