The Messenger

St. Peter School News

January 2, 2022


St. Peter School exists to provide a nurturing environment where students become Disciples of Jesus Christ, embrace the love of lifelong learning, and believe in the dignity of all people.


May your home be filled with blessings of our Lord Jesus Christ on this Epiphany Day.


Dear Parents,


My hope is that you have had a blessed Christmas and that you have welcomed in 2022 with a hopeful heart. As we look forward to a new year, may it bring all of us good health, joy, and peace.


I wanted to let you know that with everything going on these days, the one thing we can count on is a constantly changing landscape. We have recently received updates regarding quarantine guidance for schools from the CT Department of Health. We will be sending out more detailed information in the coming week.


In the meantime, remember that we take our protocols very seriously. We all have a part to play when it comes to containing COVID - 19. Therefore, we ask students, staff, and visitors to do the following:


  • Wear a mask that covers your mouth and your nose.
  • Wash your hands frequently or use hand sanitizer.
  • Watch your distance.


Please remind your child about these important protocols. Also, if your child has been exposed to anyone with COVID - 19, please contact the school nurse, principal, teacher or office if you have any questions or concerns. Thank you in advance as we work in partnership to do our best to maintain a safe environement for all of us at St. Peter School.


Catholic Schools Week is on the horizon. It is always a special time at St. Peter School as we celebrate the beauty of a Catholic School education. Open House opportunities for prosepctive and new parents will be scheduled during Catholic Schools Week. We will also send home a list of daily events being held during Catholic Schools Week in the next week or so for your information. Catholic Schools Week 2022 is from January 30 - February 5.


Registration information for the 2022-2023 school year will be available during Catholic Schools Week. Stay tuned for more information. If you have friends who may be interested in exploring a Catholic School Education for their child, please invite them to contact mcorrea@spsdanbury.org or mtorre@spsdanbury.org or simply call the school office.


Have a blessed week! We know there will be challenges ahead, but we will tackle each one that comes our way with God's grace.


In Christ,


Mary Lou Torre, Principal

PK-8 Staff

Staff Members - K through 8


K - Mrs. Boyle/Mrs. McCabe - vboyle@spsdanbury.org


1 - Mrs. Lazarra/Mrs. Kolitsas - tlazzara@spsdanbury.org


2 - Ms. Galli - lgalli@spsdanbury.org


3 - Mrs. Moody (nee Escudero) - mescudero@spsdanbury.org


4- Ms. Marchese - amarchese@spsdanbury.org


5 - Mrs. Galante - scapone@spsdanbury.org - on leave

(Mrs. Pipkin - mpipkin@spsdanbury.org


6 - Mrs. Hanrahan (Math) - mharahan@spsdanbury.org


7 - Ms. Vivirito(English) - dvivirito@spsdanbury.org


8 - Mrs. Puglisi (Science) - spuglisi@spsdanbury.org


Social Studies - Middle School/Innovation/Technology - Ms. Vill - cvill@spsdanbury.org


Specialists


Mr. Bellucci (PE) - pbellucci@spsdsnbury.org

Ms. Campbell (Music) - rcampbell@spsdanbury.org

Mrs. Preveza (Art/Special Education) - apreveza@spsdanbury.org

Ms. Pantaleo (Spanish and English Language Teacher) - apantaleo@spsdanbury.org


Danbury Support Team:


Ms. Kruijs, Mrs. Carino, Mrs. Conron, Ms. Lombardi


Catapult Interventionist:


Lauren McEvoy


Office Staff:


Mrs. Correa (mcorrea@spsdanbury.org) - Administrative Assistant

Ms. Burnside (kburnside@spsdanbury.org) - Administrative Assistant

Ms. DeFlumeri (kdeflumeri@spsdanbury.org) - Bookkeeper


Preschool Staff:


Ms. Lucy Rice - lrice@spsdanbury.org

Mrs. Patti Norman-Paez - ppaez@spsdanbury.org

Mrs. Jessica Arconti - jarconti@spsdanbury.org

Catholic Theme

Our theme this year is: "Building a Community of Faith and Service."


Our scripture reading for the year is: 1Peter 33:8 - "Be of one mind, sympathetic, loving toward one another, compassionate, and humble."


Our Monthly Virtues are:

September - Faith

October - Hope

November - Love of God

December - Prayerfulness

January - Simplicity

February - Purity of Heart

March - Sacrifice

April - Obedience

May - Reflectiveness


Each month one student from each classroom will be named a Disciple of the Month. The decision will be made based on the student's actions in accordance with the Monthly Virtues.

We will post the names of the Disciples of the Month in this newsletter. Each student will receive a certificate and will be recognized at a Friday Mass.

Important Dates

January 3 - School Resumes

January 14 - 12:30 Dismissal - PD for teachers

January 17 - MLK Day - No School - SR Closed

January 30 - February 5 - Catholic Schools Week 2022

February 18 - 12:30 Dismissal - PD (K-8 only)

Donation Button

Please visit our website and check out our new feature. We have added a button to make it easier to donate to St. Peter School. Thank you for checking out our website.

Big picture