AHS ACTIVITIES NEWSLETTER

JULY 29, 2022

BLUE CARD DISTRIBUTION DATES - FALL SPORTS/MARCHING BAND


Fall sports and Marching Band will officially begin on August 8.


All Students that are playing a fall sport or students in Marching Band, will need a Blue Card. A Blue Card is obtained from the Athletic Trainer or Activities Office once all paperwork has been signed and uploaded into your Healthy Roster Account. See additional details below:


Once a blue card is obtained, the student gives it to their coach or teacher. The Blue card informs the coach that all paperwork has successfully been put on Healthy Roster. Please contact Becky Stigen, the AHS Athletic Trainer for any questions. bstigen@afftonschools.net

(314) 899-6510


Blue Card Distribution Dates are:

Monday, August 1: 8:00- 11:00 am - High School Front Office


Thursday, August 4: 1:00 - 3:00 pm: Athletic Training Office (Door 17 - North Entrance)

SPORT/MARCHING BAND: HEALTHY ROSTER FOR 2022-23

If you are participating in a sport or Marching Band at AHS during the 2022-23 school year, MSHSAA (Missouri State High School Activities Association) requires that all sport/activity physicals be dated February 1, 2022 or after.


The sports physical can be uploaded into their Healthy Roster Account. This is a program that AHS uses to hold all sports paperwork.


To get started with a Healthy Roster Account, please fill out the below google form. You will receive an invite from Healthy Roster to create an account. (please note: your invite will not come until Summer for 8th. grade students)


Documents needed after creating a Healthy Roster Account is:

(1) Sports Physical dated and signed by a Physician (this can uploaded to your account)

(2) Insurance Card (this can be uploaded to your account)

(3) Signature Page: This you can sign digitally after you have read and agreed to the code of conduct and consent to treat documents.

(4) Pre-Participation Documents: To be filled out by the student.

(5) Update your emergency contact information


To receive an Invite to Healthy Roster, Please fill out this form:


https://bit.ly/HealthyRoster

FREE SPORTS PHYSICALS FOR HIGH SCHOOL

If you had your physical before February 1, you will need a new physical. SSM is performing free sport physicals. However, you must sign up. YOU MUST REGISTER - they will not accept walk ups.


The physical you receive witll be good for all of the 2022-23 school year. Spots are filling up fast, so sign up today! Slots are filling up very fast.


https://www.signupgenius.com/go/10c0d44a4a728a7fec61-high

Big picture

AUGUST 8: TRYOUT TIMES

August 8, is the first day for Fall Sports and Marching Band. If you have questions regarding that sport or for Marching Band, please reach out to the Coach or Sponsor. Please remember, on August 8, you may not attend without a Blue Card.


All sports are open to students 9-12 grade of all abilities....Come out if you have the slightest interest! Coaches are excited to work with everyone!!! If you have never played before, that s OK! Come on out! - But Remember - You need your BLUE CARD.


MARCHING BAND:

Mr. Lupka: rlupka@afftonschools.net

Band Camp Starts Monday, August 1:

YOU WILLNEED THE BLUE CARD BY MONDAY AUGUST 8:

Students should report to the HS Band Room, Door #29 in the north parking lot.


BOYS SOCCER:

6:00 - 8:30 pm

Affton Turf Field

Coach Mesplay: bmesplay@afftonschools.net


BOYS SWIM:

9:00 - 11:00 am

AHS Swim Pool

This is available for boys of all abilities

Coach Boehm: bboehm@afftonschools.net


GIRLS SOFTBALL:

9:00 - 11:00 am

AHS Softball/Baseball Field (this will NOT be at AAA)

In case of rain, it practice will be held in the upper gym

Coach Stringer: astringer@afftonschools.net


FOOTBALL

7:30-9:30 am AND 10:30 am - 12:00

AHS Main Field

Coach Muyco: tmuyco@afftonschools.net


BOYS AND GIRLS CROSS COUNTRY:

7:00 - 8:30 am

AHS Gym Steps

Coach Walker: rwalker@afftonschools.net


GIRLS VOLLEYBALL:

4:00 - 6:00 pm

AHS Lower Gym

COACH BYRD: lbyrd@afftonschools.net


BOYS AND GIRLS CHEERLEADING:

3:00 - 6:00 pm

AHS COMMONS

COACH BERRA: aberra@afftonschools.net


GIRLS TENNIS

TBD

Big picture

SENIOR PICTURES

We are happy to announce that we have switched to a new photography company this year. We have met with Trotter Photography and think they will be great going into the 2022-23 year.


For the 2022-23 school year. Senior Pictures will be taken later during the school year (not during summer). There will be more details coming on the date, etc.

MINI CHEER CAMP 2022

Mini Cheer Camp was a huge success! The little Cougars were taught some stunts and cheers from our AHS Cheerleaders!!! We can't wait to see them when they get to AHS!!
Big picture
Big picture

AHS CLUBS

If sports isn't your thing, why not try one of the many clubs at AHS.

They are all listed below.

If your interested, please see that sponsor for more information!


All information regarding sports or clubs can be found on our website:

https://ahs.afftonschools.net/o/ahs



ANIME CLUB
Mr. O’Brien: mobrien@afftonschools.net

Watch anime

CATS CREW (FRESHMEN MENTORING PROGRAM)
Ms. Free: free@afftonschools.net
Mr. Mittler: mmittler@afftonschools.net

Work with excellent Junior and Senior mentors to conduct freshmen orientation the day before school starts. We use the LINK Crew curriculum. We also do team building exercises throughout the year that help the freshmen get acclimated and succeed in high school. Also promotes getting involved in at least one sport/club/activity while in high school.

CYBER PATRIOTS
Ms. Koblents: rkoblents@afftonschools.net

Computer Science

DECA
Mr. Stringer: astringer@afftonschools.net

Prepares emerging leaders and entrepreneurs in marketing, finance, hospitality and management in high schools and colleges around the globe. Must be enrolled in a business/marketing course. Competitions at Districts in February, State in March, and Internationals will be held in April.

FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America):
Mr. Henning: dhenning@afftonschools.net

Provides Opportunities to develop leadership skills and increase knowledge of business. Students compete on the district level with the possibility of advancing to the state and national levels. FCA (Fellowship of Christian Athletes): Mr. Uthoff ruthoff@afftonschools.net Mrs. Cartier ccartier@afftonschools.net The Fellowship of Christian Athletes is touching millions of lives challenging coaches and athletes on the professional, college, high school, junior high, and youth levels to use the powerful medium of athletics to impact the world for Jesus Christ. FCA focuses on serving local communities by equipping, empowering, and encouraging people to make a difference for Christ.

FCCLA (Family Career, and Community Leaders of America)
Mr. Bridwell: cbridwell@afftonschools.net

Attend conferences and STAR events where students are able to compete in district, state, and possibly national competitions regarding presentations that revolve around FACS content.

GAMES CLUB

Mr. Ketih: rkeith@afftonschools.net

Students can come together to play games of all types: board games, card games, video games. It gives students a chance to find other students with similar interests.

FREEDOM FIGHTERS:

Mr. Jennings bjennings@afftonschools.net

The Affton High School Freedom Fighters is a Youth Leadership Group whose mission is to educate ourselves and others and take action to make our school and community equitable and inclusive. First Meeting is Monday, September 13, in Room 302

GARDEN CLUB
Mr. O’Brien mobrien@afftonschools.net

Grow vegetables at the high school and eat them! Learn about the process. Go on field trips related to these topics.

GAMES CLUB:

Mr. Keith rkeith@afftonschools.net

Play board games

GAY STRAIGHT ALLIANCE
Ms. Conway: jconway@afftonschools.net

Everyone Welcome to attend weekly meetings on Monday's 2:30-3:30 in Ms. Conway's Room (109)

The Gay Straight Alliance’s mission is to raise awareness and understanding of human diversity of all kinds including sexual orientation and gender identity.

HIGH SCHOOL E SPORTS
Mr. Barker: sbarker@afftonschools.net

Electronic sports, not to be confused with video games. Esports takes video gaming to another level with organized competitive gameplay between two teams, governed by its own strict set of rules and guidelines.

HOSA (Future Health Professionals)
Mrs. Wall awall@afftonschools.net

Health Occupations Students of America is a national professional organization for students interested in a healthcare career. The officers are elected and meet once a month to plan activities for the organization. Activities include team building activities, national fundraisers, local fundraisers, and state and national competitions.

INTERNATIONAL CLUB
Mr Jennings bjennings@afftonschools.net

The international club is open to all students of Affton High School. The International Club’s goal is to raise awareness of, promote the value of, and maximize opportunities for students from a diverse variety of places of origin and cultures.

JAZZ BAND

Mr. Lupka rlupka@afftonschools.net

KEY CLUB (SPONSORED BY KIWANIS)
Mrs. Allen mallen@afftonschools.net

student-led organization whose goal is to encourage leadership through serving others

MATHLETES
Mr. Polokonis dpolokonis@afftonschools.net

Mathletes is a club dedicated to celebrating the beauty of mathematics. There are several contests throughout the year, in which students have a chance to compete against other schools all over Missouri.

MENTORING MATTERS
Mrs. Merlo mmerlo@afftonschools.net
Mrs. Stewart gstewart@afftonschools.net

Mentoring Matters mission is to develop friendships, promote school spirit, and foster inclusion of all. Some activities include going to some Cougar sport events and various extracurricular AHS events with a buddy. Buddy lunches and team building events are also part of the club.

NATIONAL HONOR SOCIETY
Mr. Esselman besselman@afftonschools.net & Ms. Free lfree@afftonschools.net

Nationwide organization for high school students in the United States and outlying territories, which consists of many chapters in high schools. Selection is based on four criteria: scholarship (academic achievement), leadership, service, and character

ROBOTICS
Mrs. Koblents bkoblents@afftonschools.net

A robotics club is a gathering of students who are interested in learning about and working with robots

SPEECH & DEBATE
Mrs. Vaughn: hvaughn@afftonschools.net

Competitive academic activity in which students utilize both their wit and intellect to challenge peers and opponents

STUDENT COUNCIL
Ms. Nelson jnelson@afftonschools.net and

Mrs. Sander ksander@afftonschools.net

share students' ideas, interests, and concerns with teachers and school principals. They often also help raise funds for school-wide activities, including social events, community projects, helping people in need and school reform.

TEAMS (Tests of Engineering Aptitude, Mathematics, and Science)
Mr. Polokonis dpolokonis@afftonschools.net
Mr. Bernabo abernabo@afftonschools.net

Middle and High School competition helping students discover their potential for engineering. Using math, science, and 21st. Century learning skills. Students work together to problem-solve real world challenges. Throughout the competition, students work collaboratively to solve original and innovative engineering scenarios focused on an annual theme. The test consists of both a collaborative multiple-choice section and an open-ended design competition with a common engineering-based theme. We take three teams of 8-9 students to Rolla (University of Missouri Science and Technology) for the full day competition each spring.

TECHNICAL STUDENT ASSOCIATION (TSA)
Mr. Bernabo abernabo@afftonschools.net
Mr. Heitkoetler mheitkoetler@afftonschools.net

national student organization created to develop skills in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics (STEM) as well as business education.

TREND
Mrs. Snethen jsnethen@afftonschools.net

Promote Drug Free lifestyle

GET LIVE UPDATED SPORT SCHEDULES

You can see live updated sport schedules anytime. Click the below link:

https://www.arbiterlive.com/School/Calendar/185

CONTACT INFO

Chris Kappler - Activities Director

314-951-4923


Becky Stigen - Athletic Trainer

314-899-6510


Mary Dreon - Activities Secretary

314-633-5969 - Office

314-337-9804 - Cell