LAKELAND ATHLETICS

UNCOMMON EFFORT | UNITED MINDSET | SERVANT LEADERSHIP

Big picture

PURPOSE PRINCIPLE

"Inaction breeds doubt and fear. Action breeds confidence and courage. If you want to conquer fear and achieve greatness, do not sit at home and thing about it. Go out and get busy!"


David Harris - Director of Athletics | University of Northern Iowa

Week of February 18, 2019

Monday | February 18, 2019

5:00pm | MS Wrestling vs. Churubusco Middle School

6:00pm | Varsity Gymnastics vs. WV/WN/Warsaw (LHS East Aux.)


Tuesday | February 19, 2019

4:30pm | 6th Grade Girls' Basketball at Westview

5:00pm | MS Girls' Basketball vs. Angola Middle School (LMS Main Gym)

5:00pm | MS Gymnastics at Angola (Central Gymnasium - Martha St.)


Wednesday | February 20, 2019

7:00pm | Staff vs. Law Dogs Charity Basketball Game (LHS Main Gym)


Thursday | February 21, 2019

5:00pm | MS Wrestling at Prairie Heights Middle School

5:00pm | MS Girls' Basketball at Elkhart Christian Academy

5:00pm | MS Gymnastics vs. West Noble Middle School (LHS East Aux.)


Friday | February 22, 2019

6:00pm | JV Boys' Basketball at Angola

7:30pm | Varsity Boys' Basketball at Angola


Saturday | February 23, 2019

5:00pm | MS Wrestling at Fairfield Super Duals (Fairfield High School)

11:00am | Varsity Gymnastics IHSAA Sectionals (Wawasee - Old Elementary Gym)

HIGH SCHOOL | SPRING SPORTS SCHEDULES

Middle School Spring Sports Schedules will be posted at a later date.

Big picture
Big picture

Based off of the IHSAA Semi-State Tourament that took place on Saturday, February 9th. Brian Bergman has been selected as the first alternate for the 285lb. Weight Class.


Brian will travel to Indianapolis, and MAY have the opportunity to wrestling in the IHSAA State Championship Tournament on Friday (February 15th).


If Brian is has the opportunity to wrestle, all he will need to do is win on Friday (February 15th), and he will earn a spot on the State Podum (1st - 8th place).

Big picture

Brian Bergman (285) qualified to be the 1st Alternate at the IHSAA State Wrestling Meet. The meet will begin at Bankers Life Fieldhouse in Indianapolis on Friday, February 15th!

Brian will have a chance to wrestle if another individual doesn't make weight, or is injured before the meet.


The Middle School Wrestling team dominated Sturgis Middle School on February 11th.

Final | 83-24


The Middle School Wrestling team defeated West Noble Middle School on February 14th.

Final | 59-33

COLLEGE-BOUND ATHLETES

Big picture
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tn_Cn9W6wYI

Senior, Hunter Frost, signed his National Letter of Intent on Monday, February 11th


Frost will play baseball for the Cougars of Kalamazoo Valley Community College, and head baseball coach, Cody Piechocki.

BASKETBALL & CHEERLEADING| SENIORS

Will be celebrated on Friday, February 15th between the JV & Varsity Boys' Basketball game.

ATHLETIC ANNOUNCEMENTS & INFORMATION

  • High School Track & Field has officially began! If your son/daughter is interested in competing, have them stop by the Athletic Office or have them see Head Coach, Keith Thompson.


  • High School Baseball & Softball have begun their pre-season practices and performance training! If your son/daughter plans to compete and play, they need to begin attending practices and workouts! Have them stop by the Athletic Office for information -or- contact Head Coaches (contact information is at the bottom).


  • ACADEMIC ELIGIBILITY | For High School Athletes - The end of the Tri-Mester is coming up (Thursday, February 21st). Athletes must be passing 75% of their classes in order to be eligible for a Spring Sports, per IHSAA.


  • High School Track & Field began on February 11th.


  • High School Softball will officially begin on March 4th.


  • High School Baseball will officially begin on March 11th.


  • High School Boys' Golf will officially begin on March 11th.


  • High School Girls' Tennis will officially begin on March 11th.


  • On February 20, 2019 at 7:00pm the Lakeland Athletic Department will be hosting a Charity Basketball game between the Lakeland Staff and the Law Dogs of LaGrange County! Admission will be $5.00. All proceeds will be donated to Habitat for Humanity. Come enjoy a great event!


  • If you're looking to attend the Middle School Booster Steak-Fry, Middle School Athletes are currently selling tickets! The event will take place on February 23, 2019!


  • The Baseball Steak-Fry will take place on March 16, 2019! Contact a Lakeland Baseball player to purchase tickets!


  • Winter Sports Awards | March 11, 2019
Big picture

UPCOMING MAJOR EVENTS

NECC Weightlifting Meet

Saturday, Feb. 23rd, 8am

805 East 075 North

LaGrange, IN

Lakeland Middle School Steak-Fry

Saturday, Feb. 23rd, 6pm

100 Industrial Parkway

LaGrange, IN

Winter Sports Awards | High School & Middle School

Monday, March 11th, 6pm

805 East 075 North

LaGrange, IN

The 2019 Winter Sports Awards will take place in the Lakeland High School Auditorium.

Baseball Steak-Fry

Saturday, March 16th, 5pm

100 Industrial Parkway

LaGrange, IN

SIGN UP FOR ATHLETIC ALERTS

Visit - www.anchordownlakers.org

Sign up for specific Team alerts and get updates on cancellations, changes, reschedules, etc.

COACHING OPPORTUNITIES

Big picture

PROUD SPONSORS

High School Coaches | Contact Information

FALL

Football - Keith Thompson | kthompson@lakelandlakers.net

Volleyball - Brian Jordan | flyinbrian766@gmail.com

Boys' Soccer - Vacant

Girls' Soccer - Vacant

Girls' Cross Country - Thom Taylor | ttaylor@impactinstitue.net

Boys' Cross Country - Guy Glick | gglick@lakelandlakers.net

Boys' Tennis - Kyle Grossman | kgrossmane@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Golf - Cassidy Roush | croush@lakelandlakers.net

Fall Cheer - Taylor Miller | milltd05@gmail.com


WINTER

Boys' Basketball - Nick Burlingame | nburlingame@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Basketball - Dan Huizenga | dhuizenga@lakelandlakers.net

Wrestling - Kevin Watkins | kwatkins@lakelandlakers.net

Gymnastics - Sherill Habedank | shabedank@lakelandlakers.net

Winter Cheer - Taylor Miller | milltd05@gmail.com


SPRING

Baseball - Michael Isaacs | misaacs@lakelandlakers.net

Softball - Lauren Harris | lharris@lakelandlakers.net

Boys' & Girls' Track and Field - Keith Thompson | kthompson@lakelandlakers.net

Boys' Golf - Jon Roush | jroush@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Tennis - Kyle Grossman | kgrossmane@lakelandlakers.net

Middle School Coaches | Contact Information

FALL

7th Football - Rich Frey | rfrey@lakelandlakers.net

8th Football - Trent Cowley | tcowley@lakelandlakers.net

6th Volleyball - Vacant

7th & 8th Volleyball - Angie Moore

Boys' Soccer - Dustin Riehl | driehl@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Soccer - Sara Leggett | sleggett@lakelandlakers.net

Cross Country - Jessica Givens | jgivens@lakelandlakers.net

Fall Cheer - Kristina Fry | kfry75@gmail.com


WINTER

6th Boys' Basketball - Michael Isaacs | misaacs@lakelandlakers.net

7th Boys' Basketball - Jeff Patrick | jpatrick@lakelandlakers.net

8th Boys' Basketball - John Vander Roest | jvanderroest@lakelandlakers.net

6th Girls' Basketball - Lauren Moore | lmoore@lakelandlakers.net

7th Girls' Basketball - Amber Jerdon | ajerdon@lakelandlakers.net

8th Girls' Basketball - Doug Menz | dmenz@lakelandlakers.net

Wrestling - Luke Miller | jlmiller1993@icloud.com

Gymnastics - Katy Hiscox | khiscox@lakelandlakers.net

Winter Cheer - Kristina Fry | kfry75@gmail.com


SPRING

Boys' Track and Field - Guy Glick | gglick@lakelandlakers.net

Girls' Track and Field - Jessica Givens | jgivens@lakelandlakers.net

Co-Ed Golf - Cassidy Roush | croush@lakelandlakers.net