The New England Colonies

The 17th and 18th Century Colonies

Big image

Government in the New England Colonies

The New England colonies had a town meeting based government, the reason for this is because they had small communities connected by these meetings which they believed to reduce the chaos

Massachusetts ( including Maine)

The Maine part of Massachusetts was founded by John Winthorp in 1630, while William Bradforn founded Plymouth in 1620. They consisted of either separatist (those who wish to separate from the Church of England) and Puritans (those who wish to purify the Church). Agriculture (mainly for the household) and manufacturing were the ways they earned their money. It generalizes the Native Americans but the Massachusetts colony had two different wars with the Indians, Pequot War and King Philip's war.

They also had the Salem Witch Trials here, a time of terror and extreme hostility.

New Hampshire (including Vermont)

Captain John Mason and Sir Fernando Gorges, in 1629. Fishing, manufacturing textiles, shipbuilding, and farming were how they made their money. They were Separatist. The surrounding Indians were known as the Abenaki and some Iroquois.


Thomas Hooker founded Connecticut in 1636. They were Separatist. Manufactured goods and shipbuilding was how Connecticut made its money. Mohegan Indians were the only Indians of significance.

Rhode Island

Founded by Roger Williams in 1636. Their Economy was focused on fishing, timber, and shipbuilding. They didn't have one set religion, but were welcoming of all religion. There were two main tribes: Narragansetts (People of the Small Point) and Wampanoags (Eastern People).