November 19th Jefferson Journal

Upcoming Events

November 24th, 25th, 26th: NO SCHOOL

November 30th: Bridging Brighter Smiles at school

December 13th: PTO Meeting at 5:30pm in Library

December 23rd- January 2nd: Winter Break NO SCHOOL


Kaum Ib Hli 24, 25, 26: TSI MUAJ KAWM NTAWV

Kaum Ib Hli 30: Muaj Kuaj Na

Kaum Ob Hli: Nam Txiv Nai Khu Saablaaj thaum 5:30 tsaus ntuj

Kaum Ob Hli 23- Ib Hli 2: SU TSI MUAJ KAWM NTAWV


Remember to check out the Thomas Jefferson School calendar on the website to view what is going on at the school. The button below will take you to the calendar.

Big picture

Playground Information

The cold Wisconsin weather is almost here! Parents....PLEASE make sure your child is dressed appropriately for the playground.

When there is snow on the ground, students MUST be wearing ALL OF the "Magic 5" to play in the snow: 1) Warm jacket 2) Hat 3) Mittens/gloves 4) Boots 5) Snow pants. We want our students to be safe and warm at recess!!!

COVID-19 Testing in the Wausau School District

The Wausau School District is offering free PCR COVID-19 testing to all students, staff, and even the immediate family members of students and staff.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION TO KNOW

  • When? While testing began Monday, November 1, 2021, two mobile units will be available for COVID-19 testing starting Monday, November 8, 2021. The schedules for those units are below.
  • Who is eligible for testing? All Wausau School District students, their immediate family members, District staff, along with their immediate family members, who are either symptomatic for COVID-19 or close contacts of someone who has tested positive for COVID-19.
  • What does the testing cost? Nothing. It will cost nothing to receive a COVID-19 PCR test. It is being paid for by the Wisconsin Department of Health Services (DHS).
  • Will the Wausau School District test my child(ren) without my consent? Absolutely not. No student will ever be tested for COVID-19 without the consent of a parent/guardian.
  • Who is doing the testing? The staff from COVID CLINIC is administering the COVID-19 PCR tests. They're provided to the District through DHS.
  • If I'm a staff member, student, or immediate family member of a staff member or student, how do I obtain a test?
    • For students: Parents have a couple of options for their child(ren). Parents can fill out a consent form below and drop it off at their child(ren)'s school. Parents could also bring their child(ren) to the mobile units for testing. There, they will be able to register their child(ren) for testing, or they could pre-register them at the link below.
    • For staff and immediate family members: Staff members and/or immediate family members can either pre-register at the link below, or they can show up to the mobile units to register.
  • What kind of COVID-19 testing do the mobile units do? The mobile units do both antigen and PCR testing. However, the Wausau School District only accepts a negative PCR test on a student with symptoms.

  • How long will it take to get results back on a PCR testing? The time is very dependent on the volume of tests the lab is processing. Right now, ( as of November5, 2021) it's taking 2-3 days to get results. If a patient does not see their results within 36 hours, they are being asked to reach out to DHS. Here's the contact information. Please note this is only for PCR results.

    Email: WICOVIDResult@wisconsin.gov
    Phone: (866) 419-6988, 8 AM to 4:30 PM, Monday to Friday

  • Is any of this paid for by the District? No. The Wisconsin Department of Health Services is paying for the mobile units and to staff them, along with, paying for all of the testing.

Big picture

A Big Thank you to 3M & NAEIR for their Donation

Thomas Jefferson received a wonderful donation from 3M and NAEIR. Students signed the Thank You and one of the classes was pictured holding a sample of some items that were received. We really appreciate the donation. Teachers and students have been putting the items to good use. Thank you again for the wonderful donation.
Big picture

Leader in Me

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

PTO Information

Next Meeting December 13th 5:30pm in the Library

Please check out these opportunities to help out with the PTO!!

1.) Please fill out your background check so you can volunteer: Volunteer

2.) Follow on Facebook: Thomas Jefferson Jaguars PTO

Returning back to school from Quarantine

If your student has been Quarantined because of being ill and they received a negative PCR Covid test or alternate medical diagnosis from a medical practitioner, please send test results and any medical documentation to our Health Aide, Megan Bach, at mbach@wausauschools.org . Please contact Megan and send the test results and medical documentation BEFORE sending your student back to school. Any questions, please email Megan and/or call the Health Office at 715-261-0186.

Thank you so much!!

Link to WSD Covid Dashboard, Elementary and Secondary Matrices

As we enter the 2021-22 school year, the Wausau School District is offering the highest quality educational experience for students. We are taking several steps to monitor and mitigate the spread of COVID. We are also taking steps to minimize the time lost to quarantines.

We are working with the Marathon County Health Department to monitor and mitigate the spread of the virus in our community and our schools and will revisit our protocols as necessary at any point during the school year. Public health is a whole community effort and the District can not be successful on our own. Below are some practices that families can take, as well as, the school district.

Wausau School District COVID-19 Information

COVID-19 DASHBOARD COVID-19 GUIDELINES COVID-19 MITIGATION STRATEGIES UPDATE

Big picture

Bussing Questions??

We are happy to help answer bussing questions as best we can. Often times, however, First Student Bus Company is your best first contact.


First Student Contact Information:

715-842-2268 Phone

715-845-5155 Fax


First Student policy required ALL bus riders to wear a face mask. If your student is a bus rider, please make sure they have a mask for the before and after school bus ride.


Field Trips require all riders to wear a mask. Please remember to have a couple masks in your students backpack so they are prepared when attending field trips.

NOTICE OF EDUCATIONAL OPTIONS FOR STUDENTS WHO RESIDE IN THE WAUSAU SCHOOL DISTRICT

The Wausau School District (WSD) offers a variety of educational options to students who reside within District attendance boundaries. The District’s primary educational pathway and instructional program involves a progression from 4-Year-Old Kindergarten through 12th grade, leading to a high school diploma. Some of the specific educational programs offered to eligible students enrolled in and attending a District school include:  Early-childhood special education (for those students at least 3-years-old but not yet school age)  Special education for students with disabilities  English Language Learner programs  Gifted and Talented (GT) education  Career and Technical Education (CTE) programs  Individualized program and curricular modifications  Alternative education programs for at-risk students (students identified as being at-risk of not graduating from high school)  Summer learning programming  Charter schools  Virtual education program Wausau School District schools include: 4K Learning Academies – G.D. Jones, Hawthorn Hills, Riverview, Thomas Jefferson Franklin Elementary Riverview Elementary Grant Elementary South Mountain Elementary Hawthorn Hills Elementary Stettin Elementary Hewitt-Texas Elementary Wausau Area Montessori Charter (WAMCS) (K-6) Thomas Jefferson Elementary Horace Mann Middle G.D. Jones Elementary John Muir Middle Lincoln Elementary Enrich Excel Achieve Learning Academy (EEA) (6-12) Maine Elementary Wausau East High John Marshall Elementary Wausau West High Rib Mountain Elementary Wausau Area Virtual Education (WAVE) (6-12) The District’s most recent school and school district accountability reports, as issued by the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction under section 115.385 of state statutes, can be accessed at http://apps2.dpi.wi.gov/reportcards/. Under the “District” heading, scroll down and select “Wausau.” You can then select the report card for the District or for any school within the District. Educational options for WSD students involving part-time attendance at an educational institution other than a WSD school include:  The Early College Credit Program, which allows Wisconsin public and private high school students to take one or more courses at an institution of higher education for high school and/or college credit. “Institution of higher education” means an institution within the University of Wisconsin System, a tribally controlled college, or a private, nonprofit institution of higher education located in the state.  The Start College Now Program, which allows Wisconsin public school students who have finished 10th grade and are in good standing to take one or more courses at a state technical college.  Part-Time Open Enrollment, which allows a student enrolled in a public school in the high school grades to attend public school in a nonresident school district for the purpose of taking a course offered by the nonresident school district. A student may attend no more than two courses at any time in nonresident school districts. For WSD students residing within the boundaries of the District, additional full-time educational options that are not a school or instrumentality of the District include:  High school students meeting certain age and other eligibility requirements may be permitted to attend a technical college or certain other programs for the purpose of completing a program leading to a high school diploma or a high school equivalency diploma.  Full-time Open Enrollment involving physical attendance in a public school of a nonresident district or attendance through a virtual charter school associated with a nonresident district.  A student with a disability who meets eligibility requirements may apply to attend an eligible, participating private school under a scholarship awarded through the state’s Special Needs Scholarship Program as established under section 115.7915 of state statutes.  Enrollment in a private school of the family’s choosing (at the family’s own cost, as applicable).  Enrollment in a home-based private educational program as provided under state law. Educational options for children who reside in the WSD and who are enrolled in and attending a private school or home-based private educational program include:  The opportunity to attend WSD summer learning programming.  The opportunity to apply for approval to take up to two courses per semester in a WSD school subject to sufficient space, pursuant to section 118.145(4) of state statutes.  A student involved in a home-based private educational program may participate in WSD interscholastic athletics pursuant to section 118.113 of state statutes. For more information about any of these educational opportunities, please contact the Education Department of the Wausau School District at 715-261-0527.

Staff Directory

Principal Mr. Johnson bsjohnson@wausauschools.org

Secretary Mrs. Tammy Steckling tsteckling@wausauschools.org

Building/ Office para Mrs. Colette Tranchita ctranchita@wausauschools.org


Health Aid:

Ms. Megan Bach- mbach@wausauschools.org


Pupil Services

Counselor: Ms. Sue Doerr sdoerr@waususchools.org

Social worker: Mrs. Morgan Knetter mknetter@wausauschools.org

Psychologist: Mrs. Amanda Melville amelvill@wausauschools.org

Bridge Room Coordinator: Ms. Amber Sparby asparby@wausauschools.org


4K Staff

Mrs. Amber Channel achannel@wausauschools.org

Ms. Samantha Kniess skniess@wausauschools.org

Mrs. BreAnne Wais bwais@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Renee Krautkramer rkrautkr@wausauschools.org

Mrs. May Xiong maxiong@wausauschools.org


Kindergarten Teachers

Mrs. April Voigt avoigt@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kelly Hummel khummel@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Katelyn Veith. kveith@wausauschools.org


1st Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diana Gartzke dgartzke@wausauschools.org

Mrs Deb Treager dtreager@wausauschools.org

Mr. Matt Schilling mschilling@wausauschools.org


2nd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Diane Eder deder@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Carrie Helke cahelke@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Taylor Frank tfrank@wausauschools.org


3rd Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jill Ebersold jebersol@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Sandy Knoll sknoll@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Heather Trollop htrollop@wausauschools.org


4th Grade Teachers

Mrs. Leslie Ninnemann lninnema@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kary Riggs kriggs@wausauschools.org


5the Grade Teachers

Mrs. Jen Davidson jdavidso@wausauschools.org

Ms. Emily Fritz efritz@wausauschools.org


Encore Team

Art- Jennifer Lingford jlingford@wausauschools.org

Gym- Christin Sullivan csulliv@wausauschools.org

Science- Tori Dienger vdienger@wausauschools.org

Music- Sana Wressell swressel@wausauschools.org

Library- Jennifer Moore jmoore@wausauschools.org


Special Education

Mrs. Justine Callahan jcallahan@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Kim Ickert kickert@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Jennifer Faust jfaust@wausauschools.org


Gifted & Talented

Mrs. Cheryl Borta- cborta@wausauschools.org


EL

Mrs. Paokee Xiong. paxiong@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Lisa Alexander lalexand@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Halle Veenstra- hveenstr@wausauschools.org


Title I

Mrs. Amy Akey- aabitzak@wausauschools.org

Mrs. Trenny Frahm- tfrahm@wausauschools.org


Speech

Mrs. Michelle Debot mdebot@wausauschools.org


Translation support

Mrs. Eileen Thao ethao@wausauschools.org

The Wausau School District does not discriminate on the basis of race, age, color, religion, national origin, ancestry, creed, pregnancy, marital status, parental status, sexual orientation, sex (including transgender status, change of sex or gender identity), or physical, mental, emotional, or learning disability (“Protected Classes”).