El Salvador

Known as the Land of Volcanoes

Background Information

The capital of El Salvador is San Salvador.

Major cities

Four major cities in El Salvador are Santa Ana, Nueva San Salvador, San Miguel, and San Francisco. The picture to the right is a building in Santa Ana.


El Salvador was not controlled by another country. The country gained independence on September 15, 1821.

Official language

The official language of El Salvador is Spanish.

The flag

On the flag of El Salvador shows three equal horizontal bands of blue,white, and blue with a coat of arms in the center. The two blue bands on the outside represent the pacific ocean and the Caribbean sea. The white band in the middle represents the land between the two bodies of water.

Geographical Information

El Salvador is in Central America, bordering the North Pacific ocean, between Guatemala and Honduras.

Physical features

Three physical features in El Salvador is Cerro el pital, Río Lempa, and the Seafari Bahamas.

Political information

El Salvador has a republic type of government. Leading their government is President Salvador Sanchez Ceren.

Economy information

The currency in El Salvador is U.S dallors and El Salvador is a capitalism economic system.

Tourists attractions

People should visit because of the city, San Salvador, for its fantastic modern infrastructures. Tourists should see the beautiful islands like the Seafari Bahamas and go on a vacation to El Salvador to experience the amazing environment.