March 2020

Get INspirED

The former Workforce & Innovation Newsletter has evolved into #DigitallyINspirED. As we continue to adapt to these changing times this newsletter will take on different forms for the upcoming months to help support your ongoing efforts in digital learning.

We understand the unprecedented times have been a continual adjustment, and as you are preparing for the next few weeks and months, we want to offer you as much support as needed. The resources we are providing will hopefully help with your planning and accommodations you are providing to your colleagues, students, and families. If there are any resources or support requests, please use the Google Form below, and we will strive to help during these uncertain times we are all facing. Please stay safe and healthy and be mindful in taking safety precautions to keep you and your family safe as well.

Resource or Support Request

If there is a resource or support you would like to see, please let us know with this form.


IDOE has a new page with additional supports/resources for eLearning.

You can access supports and resources here. Please share this resource with your colleagues. You will find information on free or low-cost connectivity for those with need, subject area and grade level specific digital learning sites, ideas to extend learning for all students, educational companies offering free services, and support for teachers in delivering remote learning experiences.

The State Educational Technology Directors Association (SETDA) is a not-for-profit membership association launched by state education agency leaders in 2001 to serve, support and represent their emerging interests and needs with respect to the use of technology for teaching, learning, and school operations.

Considerations for Selecting and Reviewing Instructional Materials (From SETDA)

Strategies for eLearning Days in the Wake of COVID-19 Webinar

Presented by Candice Dodson, Executive Director, State Education Technology Directors Association (SETDA); and Stacey Schmidt, PhD, Superintendent, Porter Township School Corporation (IN)

Hosted by SETDA
Sponsored by AT&T Aspire

Webinar| Remote Learning Best Practices

EVERFI is here to help with a remote learning kit and best practices to guide student learning.

During this webinar, our team shares ideas for building a remote learning plan using the latest digital resources available from EVERFI, all at no cost. K12 Implementation Manager, Lauren Pingul, and veteran teacher, Eileen Lennon, walk-through strategies to continue student learning outside of the classroom and share best practices to make a seamless transition from school to home.

Digital Resources with Slide Deck

The following slides will showcase an online resource or tool that you may use in the classroom. Feel free to go through each slide, view the help video, and click on available links. Please do not “EDIT” the slide, as one of your peers has worked hard to create this as a resource for all!

CS Remote Learning Resources

Check out this list of resources that can help computer science learning continue while students are learning from home. All resources are freely available and some providers are allowing free expanded access during this extended period of remote learning.

Tech Plan

Indiana School Tech Plan Survey is Open! The window to submit your district’s 2020 Tech Plan closes on April 3. This survey is the requirement for all public schools to qualify for the connectivity formula grant, common school fund, and grants from the Office of Curriculum and Instruction. More information is available here.

Purple Star School Designation

The Indiana Purple Star School Designation honors schools that have displayed a significant commitment to service members, veterans, and students and families connected to our Nation’s Military. The Indiana Department of Education will honor the first cohort of schools earning this designation in the Fall of 2020.

Application deadline is May 25, 2020.

2020 Horatio Alger Career & Technical Scholarship

1020 scholarships at up to $2,500 each

The Career & Technical Scholarship Program is funded through the Horatio Alger Endowment Fund and the generosity of Association Chairman Emeritus and Endowment Fund President Walter Scott, Jr. Scholarships are awarded to students who have faced and overcome great obstacles in their lives who wish to pursue a career or technical education at an accredited non-profit post-secondary institution in the United States.

Do you (or your students) have a science question?

Superheroes of Science would like to hear from you! Submit your science question for Superheroes of Science by clicking here. You can also tweet us your questions @PurdueSOS. We will find someone to answer your question on a future episode of our podcast. Check us out on your favorite podcast provider and our YouTube Channel: http://bit.ly/SOS_UTube

Innovation Spotlight

Innovative Educator Spotlight Nomination Form

Do you know someone who deserves recognition for innovative educational practices? Tell us about them in this nomination form.


Digital Learning Community Advisory Grant Recipients:

Barr-Reeve Community Schools

Bartholomew Consolidated School Corporation

Brownstown Central Community School Corporation

Carmel Clay Schools

DeKalb County Central United Schools

Dugger Union Community School Corporation

East Allen County Schools

East Gibson School Corporation

East Washington School Corporation

Eastbrook Community Schools

Eminence Community School Corporation

Franklin Township Schools

Geist Montessori Academy

Greensburg Community School Corporation

Hanover Community School Corporation

Irvington Community Schools

Jennings County School Corporation

Lanesville Community Schools

Linton-Stockton School Corporation

Maconaquah School Corporation

Madison-Grant United Schools

Manchester Community Schools

Matchbook Learning Schools of Indiana

Medora Community School Corporation

Merrillville Community School Corporation

Milan Community School Corporation

Mississinewa Community Schools

MSD of Lawrence Township

MSD of Warren Township

MSD Southwest Allen County Schools

Mt. Vernon Community School Corporation

New Albany Floyd County Schools

North Harrison Community Schools

North Montgomery Community School Corporation

Oregon-Davis School Corporation

Orleans Community Schools

Renaissance Academy

Rossville Consolidated School District

South Central Community School Corporation

South Dearborn Community School Corporation

South Madison Community School Corporation

South Ripley Community School Corporation

South Spencer County School Corporation

South Vermillion Community School Corporation

Switzerland County School Corporation

Tippecanoe Valley School Corporation

Triton School Corporation

Union County/College Corner Joint School District

Vigo County School Corporation

Vincennes Community School Corporation

White River Valley School District

Yorktown Community Schools

Meet Our Team!

Jake Koressel

Computer Science Specialist

(317) 234-6702


Christy Hilton, PhD

STEM Specialist

(317) 234-7785


Jennifer Watson

Senior Digital Learning Specialist

(317) 234-2137


Meri Carnahan

Learning Resources Specialist

(317) 234-1329


Shannon Dick

Innovation Specialist