Architectural Timeline

by: Trevor Stathatos

Allianz Arena

This soccer stadium, home to Germany's Bayern Munich, was completed on May 30, 2005. The stadium officially broke ground October 21, 2002 in Munich, Germany. The stadium was designed by architects Herzog & de Meuron. This stadium has many unique features like foil air panels with illuminations visible from miles away, a roof with built-in roller binds, a capacity to seat over 70,000 people, and over 10 locker rooms.

Maracana Stadium

Located in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, this soccer stadium opened on June 16, 1950, this project was not completed until 1965. Although there was heavy competition to design this venue, the contracts went to 7 Brazilian architects; Michael Feldman, Waldir Ramos, Raphael Galvao, Oscar Valdetaro, Orlando Azevedo, Pedro Paulo Bernardes Bastos, and Antonio Dias Carneiro. Uniquely, this building is apart of a complex with an arena called Maracanazinho. The stadium can hold a capacity of 78, 838 people, although an astounding 199, 850 people were in attendance to watch a World Cup game here, on July 16, 1950. Maracana Stadium is the largest stadium in Brazil, and the second largest stadium in South America.

Santiago Bernabeu Stadium

With a capacity of 85, 454 people, Santiago Bernabeu stadium is one of the most famous and prestigious soccer venues. Located in Madrid, Spain, this stadium broke ground on October 27, 1944, and was completed in 1947. Santiago Bernabeu stadium was designed by Manuel Muñoz Monasterio and Luis Alemany Soler. The stadium opened on December 14, 1947 for a soccer game between home team Real Madrid and Los Blancos. Santiago Bernadeu is a famous historical site and attraction in Spain, with it being the home venue of world renowned team Real Madrid, and being the site of multiple World Cup games.

Camp Nou

Camp Nou was built from 1954-1957 in Barcelona, Spain. Opening on September 24, 1957, this stadium has been the largest stadium by capacity in Spain. Home to the world famous soccer team, FC Barcelona and the Catalan National Soccer Team, this site has been known for hosting several famous soccer teams and games, including the World Cup. Camp Nou was designed by Francesc Mitjans and Josep Soteras. with the collaboration of Lorenzo García-Barbón. A new press box, renovation of the presidential grandstand and boxes, new parking under the main grandstand, and new lighting and sound systems were all renovated on to the venue after undergoing a facelift in the 1990's.

Wembley Stadium

Located in London, England, Wembley Stadium broke ground on September 30, 2002, and was completed in on March 9, 2007. Opening day, May 19, 2007, drew a large crowd with the staging of the 2007 FA Cup Final. The stadium was designed by architect agencies; HOK Sport, Foster and Partners, and Nathaniel Lichfield and Partners. Wembley Stadium features 2,618 toilets, the most out of all the venues in the world, .25 miles of escalators, the Wembley Arch, with a cross-sectional diameter greater than that of a cross-channel Eurostar Train, and 56 km of heavy-duty power cables.

Estadio Azteca

Estadio Azteca is a soccer stadium in Mexico City, Mexico that broke ground in 1961. The stadium was completed on May 29, 1966. Designed by architects Pedro Ramirez Vazquez and Rafael Mijares Alcerreca, Estadio Azteca has a max capacity of 115,000 people. Costing $260,000,000, this venue has 856 executive suites. This stadium is home to Mexican soccer team Club America. This venue has had historical significance, hosting many important and famous event including; Michael Jackson's Dangerous World Tour, the 1968 Summer Olympics, and two World Cups (1970, 1986).

First National Bank Stadium

Also known as FNB Stadium, First National Bank Stadium is a venue located in Johannesburg, South Africa. The stadium broke ground in 1986, and opened in 1989. FNB was designed by Boogertman and Partners, and HOK Sport. With a capacity of 94, 736, this stadium has hosted many historical events, such as the 2010 World Cup Final. Costing $440,000,000, this venue has had a record attendance of 94, 713 people. First National Bank Stadium has 195 executive suites, and was renovated and expanded in 2009.

Gelora Bandung Lautan Api Stadium

Located in Mekar Mulya, District Gedebage, Bandung (Indonesia), this stadium broke ground in October 2009, and opened/was completed in March 2013 to a soft launching. This venue was designed by architect firm, Penta Architecture. This stadium has a capacity of 72,000 seats. GBLA Stadium will be home to Persib Bandung in late 2015. Costing $40,000,000 (whole stadium), this stadium has 766 toilets, a head of state VIP box for the president (complete with bulletproof glass), and a state of the art helicopter pad.