6th Grade Weekly News

February 8-12

Important dates to remember

February 15: NO SCHOOL, Teacher inservice day

February 17: AVID Forms due

February 19: End of the 4th 6th Weeks

February 25 - 26: FMS UIL One Act Play - To Kill A Mockingbird at 7:30 p.m. (Cafeteria)

February 29: Spring Open House/Multicultural Event 6:30 - 8 p.m.

AVID

AVID is an elective class that helps students stay on top of their GPA, provides training in asking and answering higher level questions, organizational skills, time management, and additional leadership opportunities. Additionally AVID classes have Study Group Tutorials with College Tutors twice a week to assist in their challenging and rigorous classes. Students who are in AVID must agree to take at least one Honors Class.


Applications are due on Feb. 17th to the counseling office by Feb. 17th.


AVID interviews will be held during the first week of March. If selected for AVID, your student's schedule will be changed.


For more information about AVID, please contact our Frankford AVID Coordinator, Karyn Wynne at karyn.wynne@pisd.edu.

Big image
Big image

World Wear Project -

Be a part of diverting thousands of pounds of shoes and clothing from local landfills by filling our shoes and clothing donation bin with your gently used shoes, clothing, purses, belts, wallets, hats, caps, backpacks, hard toys, stuffed animals, and pots and pans.

Frankford has partnered with the World Wear Project. For every pound collected, our PTA receives $0.15. The benefit to you? Neater closets, drawers, toy boxes, and kitchens, and the knowledge that less textile waste will end up in our local landfills. Our World Wear Project donation box is located in the parking lot by the gym.

Big image

Frankford Food Pantry:

Communities in Schools has set up a food pantry for students in need at Frankford specifically. The pantry is in need of items such as applesauce, peanut butter, jelly, mac & cheese cups, granola bars and breakfast bars. If you are interested in helping, please send any donations to school with your child. The donations can be dropped off in the front office.

How do I contact my teacher:

6th Grade Counselor:

Sharlene Barton - sharlene.barton@pisd.edu


Math:

Eric McDaniels - eric.mcdaniels@pisd.edu

Patty Walker - patricia.walker@pisd.edu

Kay Marshall - kay.marshall@pisd.edu

Ruth Byerly - ruth.byerly@pisd.edu


Science:

Stephanie Brinton - stephanie.brinton@pisd.edu

Lisa Gilstrap - lisa.gilstrap@pisd.edu

Ashley Harris - ashley.harris@pisd.edu


English/Language Arts:

Lisa Youngblood - lisa.youngblood@pisd.edu

Libby Cooper - elizabeth.cooper@pisd.edu

Nicole Northcutt - nicole.northcutt@pisd.edu

Shika Hershel - shika.hershel@pisd.edu

Kristin Woods - kristin.woods@pisd.edu

Carol Dutton - carol.dutton@pisd.edu


History:

Thomas Rooklidge - thomas.rooklidge@pisd.edu

Elizabeth Satz - elizabeth.satz@pisd.edu

Montrail Davis - montrail.davis@pisd.edu


PE:

Jeff McDonnell - jeff.mcdonnell@pisd.edu

Colby Pate- colby.pate@pisd.edu

Ken Hentges - ken.hentges@pisd.edu

Shanda Hairston - shanda.hairston@pisd.edu

Pam Fox - pamela.fox@pisd.edu


Fine Arts:

Rebecca Cronk (Band) - rebecca.cronk@pisd.edu

Mark Reddoch (Band) - mark.reddoch@pisd.edu

Geoffrey Golden (Orchestra) - geoffrey.golden@pisd.edu

Brittany Denig (Orchestra) - brittany.denig@pisd.edu

Aron Mattes (Choir) - aron.mattes@pisd.edu