Hitting the High Notes!

MVHS Chorus - 2nd semester

Spring Semester Information

Welcome to the inaugural edition of "Hitting the High Notes!" I hope you will find this newsletter helpful. You'll find all kinds of information about plans and dates for the semester and even more.

Contact info: Renee_Wicker@gwinnett.k12.ga.us or 678-407-7622


Thurs Jan. 16: All State Chorus 2nd auditions @ Brookwood HS

Mon Jan 20: MLK Holiday, no school

Thurs/Fri/Sat. Jan. 30, 31 & Feb 1: All State Reading Chorus in Savannah

Mon Feb 3: Washington Trip payment #3 of $150 due

Mon-Fri Feb 10-14: Registration for 2014-15 school year

Fri Feb 14: Valentines Day & Progress Reports


Mon Feb 17: After school rehearsal for all Adv Women (periods 6 & 7)

Tues Feb 18: After school rehearsal for Men and Varsity (periods 3 & 6)

Wed Feb 19: After school rehearsal for Int and Adv Women (periods 2 & 7)

Thurs/Fri/Sat. Feb 20-22: All State Chorus in Athens

Tues Feb 25: After school rehearsal for ALL SINGERS

Thurs Feb 27: Pre-LGPE Concert; Call time 6:15, concert start time 7 pm

Mon Mar 3: Rising 9th grade Orientation

Tues/Wed/Thurs Mar 11-13: potential LGPE dates, please allow 7 am-7 pm in schedule

Fri Mar 14: Holiday, No School

Washington Trip

Payment #3 - $150 is due on February 3, 2014

Payment #4 - $125 is due on March 3, 2014

If you have questions about monies available in accounts, please email Mrs. Wicker!

There will be some after school rehearsals for this group in order to put together the music we will sing for the Dixie Classic Festival. Students will be able to access rehearsal tracks to learn their individual parts and WILL BE EXPECTED to have their part learned before the first rehearsal. Having individual parts learned ahead of time will allow us to have fewer after school rehearsals!


Salmo 150 - Aguiar

Blow Blow Thou Winter Wind - Rutter

Little Innocent Lamb - Bartholomew


Our Pre-LGPE concert will be Thursday, February 27. Call time for singers is 6:15 pm and the concert begins at 7 pm. Formal dress is expected for all singers.


Class B - Mixed (period 3 & 6):

Little Innocent Lamb - Bartholomew

Blow Blow Thou Winter Wind - Rutter

Class A - Advanced Women (period 6 & 7)

Hotaru Koi - Ogura

Benedicamus Domino - Printz

Class C - Intermediate Women (period 2 & 7)

Sing We And Chant It - Morley

The Turtle Dove - Schram

Actual LGPE dates are March 11, 12 and 13. I anticipate we will sing on only one of those days but will not know when until approximately the end of February. Please keep all three days open from 7 am - 6 pm. I look forward to some gorgeous singing!