Diffrent types of joints of the body

types of joints

A joint is the point where two or more bones meet. There are three main types of joints; Fibrous (immoveable), Cartilaginous (partially moveable) and the Synovial (freely moveable) joint.


These joints are also called "fixed" or "immovable" joints, because they do not move. These joints have no joint cavity and are connected via fibrous connective tissue. The skull bones are connected by fibrous joints. Sutures are found between bones of the skull.

Slightly movable

Slightly movable joints are sometimes called cartilaginous joints.

The bones are separated by a cushion of cartilage. The joints between the vertebrae in the spine are cartilaginous joints.

The bones can move a little bit, but ligaments stop them moving too far. This is why we can bend, straighten and rotate through the back, but not too far.


Freely movable - also known as synovial joints. These contain synovial fluid inside a synovial membrane which surrounds the joint. An example is the knee joint.

Synovial movable

90% of the joints in the body are synovial joints. They are freely movable.

Synovial joints contain synovial fluid which is retained inside a pocket called the synovial membrane. This lubricates or ‘oils’ the joint.

All the moving parts are held together by ligaments.

These are highly mobile joints, like the shoulder and knee.

Six types of Synovial Joint


Movement at joint = Flexion/Extension.

Examples = Elbow and Knee.


Movement at joint = Rotation of one bone around another.

Examples = Top of the neck.

Ball and Socket

Movement at joint = Flexion/Extension/Adduction/

Abduction/Internal & External Rotation.

Examples = Shoulder and Hip.


Movement at joint = Flexion/Extension/Adduction/


Examples = joint of the thumb.


Movement at joint = Flexion/Extension/Adduction/


Examples = joints in your wrist.


Movement at joint = Gliding movements.

Examples = Intercarpal joints.