Earth's Layers

Science Project by Aiyanna L. 2nd period


There are four main layers of the Earth: the crust, the mantle, outer core, and inner core.

The crust is the top layer, then mantle, then outer and inner core. A part of the mantle are the Asthenosphere and Lithosphere. The lithosphere are the plates of Earth and they rest upon the Asthenosphere.

Composition and Thickness

The crust is made up of cool rock and continental crust is 5-25 miles thick while oceanic is 3-5 miles thick.

The mantle is made of asphalt and is 1800 miles thick.

The outer core is made of liquid iron and nickel and is 1400 miles thick.

The inner core is made of solid iron and nickel and is 800 miles thick.

Layer Pictures