The European Union: Hungary

By: Nicholas Myers

Membership of the EU

Hungary joined the EU in 2004. It was not a founding member of the EU.

The History of Hungary

Hungary became a Christian kingdom under St. Stephon's rule in the year 1000. Hungary was a part of the Habsburg empire. It has been a part of the Schengen area since 2007. It is located around the countries Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, and Austria. The latitude and longitude of Hungary is 47 00 N, 20 00 E. It is mostly flat and has low mountains in the North.

Hungarian Flag History

The flag is divided in three equal horizontal lines. The top is red, the middle is white, and the bottom is green. The colors are based on the Hungarian coat of arms and the French flag. Red stands for strength, white for faithfulness, and green for hope.
Big image

Major Cities

The capital of Hungary is Budapest, which is the picture below. Four other major cities are Kecskemet, Szeged, Pēcs, and Miskoic.
Big image


The Buda castle is a great place for people to go who appreciate agriculture. Lake Balaton is a popular place to go for water sports and fishing. The Danube river splits the country in two and is very pretty with the chain bridge.
Big image


Hungary has a lake called Lake Balaton in the central area and low mountains in the North. Throughout the country, it is mainly flat land. The Danube river runs through the middle of the country.
Big image


Hungary has a parliamentary democracy, and the leader is a Prime Minister or Chancellor. The government has the executive, judicial, and legislative branches. The Prime Minister can be removed from power if he loses confidence in the majority of the ruling party.

Currency type

Hungary uses a forint for their type of currency, not the euro.

Fun facts

Hungary is a highly musical country. Also, someone in Hungary discovered the existence of vitamin C. Finally, the capital was originally two separate cities.