Trix Family News

Week of May 22, 2022

Big picture
Big picture

Message from Principal Perkins (18 Instructional Days Left in Quarter 4)

Happy Sunday Trix Family!


Only 18 instructional days left in the 2021-2022 school year and time is ticking away quickly. We must continue to stay focused on winning the school year with strong attendance and academics.


We are down 6% in attendance the month of May from April. Typically this time of year attendance declines because the end of the year is upon us. I am asking parents to please make sure your scholars are in attendance everyday. Scholars last day of school is June 17th and they should be in school daily until then.


Please join us for our Summer Advantage Parent Meetings on Monday, May 23rd or Tuesday, May 24th.


If you or a family/friend are looking for a spot for a kindergarten scholar for the Fall 2022 school year, please attend our Virtual Kindergarten Round Up on May 25th at 6pm.


Lastly, we are excited to announce our "Muffins with Dads and Muffins with Moms Event", May 25th from 9am-10am in the Trix Gym. This event will allow the opportunity for our parents to ask questions and to learn more about plans for Trix Academy Fall 2022.


See our events fliers below for additional details.


Sincerely,


Ms. L. Perkins, M.Ed


Principal


"Parents are the ultimate role model for children. Every word, movement, and action has an effect. No other person or outside force has a greater influence on a child than a parent." - Bob Keeshan

SUMMER ADVANTAGE PARENT MEETINGS

MONDAY MAY 23RD TRIX GYM 3:45 - 4:30 IN PERSON

TUESDAY MAY 24TH VIRTUAL 4:00 - 5:00 PM


https://phalen.info/SAParentMeeting

Big picture
Summer Advantage 2022: Registration & Dates Now Available

Please Join Us!

Big picture

CALLING ALL FALL 2022 KINDERGARTEN SCHOLARS

Big picture

Spring Assessment Schedule Week of May 23rd

Monday May 23rd - May 26th MSTEP Make Up Assessments (Window Closes May 20th)


NWEA Assessments Begin (Math Testing)


Tuesday, May 24th Kindergarten - 2nd Grade

Wednesday, May 25th 3rd Grade - 5th Grade

Thursday, May 26th 6th - 8th Grade


Make Ups Week of May 31st to June 3rd

Big picture

Climate and Culture

Climate & Culture


  • Please make sure your scholar comes to school everyday in uniform
  • No jeans are allowed
  • No open toe shoes or open sandals allowed.
  • Appropriate length, uniform style shorts can be worn
  • When scholars are out of uniform, parents will be immediately notified
  • For uniform questions or concerns, please contact the main office


Special "Thank You" to our parents for all the support you give and abiding by school rules, procedures and expectations! We Appreciate You!

Big picture

Kickboard Winners Week of May 16th

Next Kickboard Store Thursday, May 26th

Big picture

76% Average Daily Attendance the week of May 16th - May 20th DAILY GOAL 95%

What's Happening At Trix Academy???

Big picture

Upcoming May Dates


May 23rd NWEA Assessments Kindergarten -8th Grade Math

May 25th Kindergarten Round Up

May 27th-May 30th Memorial Day Weekend No School

May 31st School Resumes

Big picture
Big picture

Attention 8th Grade Parents (Male Mentorship Opportunity)

Southfield Kappa League is now accepting application for membership for the 2022-2023 schoo year! Open to all Southfield and Detroit Metropolitan Area young men of high school aged to grow and develop their leadership talents in every phase of human endeavor.

Deadline is June 1, 2022.

Big picture

Staff Email Addresses

Leadership

Luvenia Perkins, Principal - l.perkins@mecc-academies.org

Sheilene Smith, Operations Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org

Tyresha Robinson, Student Enrollment Coordinator - trobinson1@phalenacademies.org

Kenyatta Manley, Office Manager - k.manley@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Laura Green, Instructional Specialist - lgreen@phalenacademies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org

Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Patrice Nelson, Teacher - p.nelson@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Josef McKinney, Teacher - j.mckinney@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Stephanie Stamas, Teacher - s.stamas@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Fifth Grade

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org

Grace Munoz, Teacher - g.munoz@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, SEL Support/Teacher - a.keys@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Art Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Technology Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Physical Education Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org


Reading Intervention

Matthew Bowman, Teacher - m.bowman@mecc-academies.org

Toiya Davis, Teacher - t.paige@mecc-academies.org

Nicolas Wolak, Teacher - n.wolak@mecc-academies.org

Big picture

Have Questions? Contact Us!

At Trix, all of our students are scholars. Our scholars learn robotics and coding; and they participate in daily enrichment courses in arts and humanities. Join us as we help to fuel our students’ dreams with: data driven instruction, brand new state- of-the art technology, and exceptional teachers who truly care about their success.