Tech Tips #2.32

Week of April 27, 2015

Big image
Big image

What is Safety Mode?

Safety Mode is a YouTube setting available on the computer and mobile site/app that helps screen out potentially objectionable content that should not be seen while viewing videos on YouTube at school.
Big image

How does Safety Mode work?

YouTube uses community flagging, age-restrictions, and other signals to identify and filter out inappropriate content.


If Safety Mode is enabled, comments on videos will be blocked, videos may be excluded from search results, and some videos will be blocked from viewing.


NOTE: Safety Mode is not available in the iOS app, so please use the browser to show videos on the iPad to students.


REMEMBER! Always watch videos in their entirety BEFORE using them in class.

Big image

How do I disable Safety Mode?

Staff members may choose whether they want Safety Mode ON or OFF while browsing YouTube.


Watch the video below to learn how to turn Safety Mode ON or OFF in YouTube or click here to read instructions.

How To Disable Safety Mode On YouTube | 2015
Big image

IMPORTANT REMINDER!

  • If you are uploading content to YouTube, make sure to categorize your video as Education in Advanced Settings so it can be viewed with Safety Mode ON.
Big image
Big image

YouTube Resources

Tools for YouTube

GCCISD Educational Technology

We are here to help! Contact us!


Lori Roberts - REL Feeder Ed Tech Specialist

Regina Rogers - GCM Feeder Ed Tech Specialist

Robyn Sewell - RSS Feeder Ed Tech Specialist