Actions & Agendas

A summary of recent School Board action

Board meeting summary: June 9, 2020

View the meeting live via online webstreaming or watch archived meetings here. Meetings are currently being held virtually via Google Meet.

Construction update

Representatives from Kraus Anderson (KA) and Wold provided an update on construction progress and timeline. District staff and personnel from KA shared insights about how the process is working and the progress that has been made to date. For details, click here. For ongoing updates, visit

Placement of staff on unrequested leave of absence

Due to uncertainty of funding, the Board voted to place 21 Early Childhood Family Education teachers on an unrequested leave of absence.

Non-affiliated compensation

The Board approved a 1.75% salary increase and a 403(b) match increase of $500 for non-affiliated employees for the 2020-21 fiscal year.


Bridget Peterson, director of finance, presented the 2020-21 projected budgets for nutrition services, community services, capital outlay and debt service funds. While these budgets are an integral part of school operations, they operate financially in separate funds or reserves. These budgets will be included in the final budget document that will be presented to the Board for approval at the June 23, 2020, School Board meeting. Details can be found on the Budgets and Finance page at after the June 23 Board meeting.

Approval of transportation service agreements

Executive director of administrative services Carole Nielsen reported that the District has established transportation service agreements with multiple service providers. The Board voted to approve the student transportation service agreements with American Student Transportation (AST) and Metropolitan Transportation Network (MTN) for two contract years commencing on August 1, 2020, and ending July 31, 2022, with an option to extend for an additional two one-year contract years.


The Board discussed issues and updates related to Northeast Metro 916 and AMSD.

Thank you

The Board accepted with appreciation gifts from Cynthia Garretson, Wells Fargo Matching Gifts Program, Joel Krueger, Domino’s Pizza, Becky Hepola, Doris and Roger Berglund, Betty & Eugene Bright, Eugene & Kay Christenson, Sue Amundson & David Largaespada, Beth and Mike Donahue, Susan Ebbers, John & Rosemary Hunt, Foothills Foundation- Kara Johnson, Gregory Johnson, Neil and Theresa Koepcke, Munson Charitable Fund -Paul and Karen Munson, Marilyn Nelson, Presbyterian Church of the Way, Amy Davies and Pastor Parker, Pursuit Community Church, Barb Setterholm, Alicia and David Smith, Vickie Sodahl, St. Odilia Catholic Church, Jim Saumweber, St. Vincent DePaul Society, Kevin Griffin, Sunrise United Methodist Church, Stephen and Noreen Thompson, Thrivent Financial Yourcause, United Church of Christ New Brighton, Pastor Amy and Jo Broberg, Misti and Dallan Van Laar, Nancy Victora, Susan Viergever, Laurie Hauser Vinyon, Mary Whalen, Kathleen Willette, Michelle and Jonathan Wood and Susanne & Anton Yerich

A look ahead

June 23, 7 p.m., regular meeting​

Para asistencia en traducciones ó ayuda como intérprete, por favor comuníquese con Angel Toro al 651-724-2854. Yog xa tau kev pab thiab hais ua lus Hmoob thov hu rau Mee Yang ntawm 651-724-0396. Haddi aad ubaahantahay faahfaahin dheerad ah ama turjumaad, fadlan kala soo xiriir Basima Mohamed, taleefanka 651-724-7482.