7 Principles of the Constitution

by: Grayson Sims

Limited Government

Limited Government a principle in which the power of the government is limited, so it will not overthrow the people and become a dictatorship. An example of limited government is our national government, it contains laws for us to follow but they don't exceed their limitation of control.

Separation of Powers

Separation of Powers is the division of powers among the legislature, excecutive, and judicial branches. The state and national governments both have a judicial, legislative, and excecutive to separate powers and prevent one branch from overthrowing another.

Checks and Balances

The Checks and Bakances system is a system in which each branch of government can check the powers of the other branches to prevent any branch of government from becoming too powerful. In our national government each branch checks on the other two branches to prevent any one from becoming too powerful.

Popular Sovereignty

Popular Sovereignty is a government in which the people rule the consent of the governed. The government is ruled by the people's beliefs and opinions, not those of their own


Republicanism is a form of government in which people elect representatives to create and enforce laws. People vote not only for the president but representatives to display and show their beliefs in front of government officials.

Individual Rights

Individual Rights refer to the liberties of each individual to pursue life and goals without interference from other individuals or the government. Examples of individual rights include the right to life, liberty and the pursuit of happiness as stated in the United States Declaration of Independence.


Federalism is a system in which powers are divided between the national and the state governments. It is where the national government and the state government both have powers and separate them evenly to better accompany the people.