Glenside Middle School

April/May 2016 Newsletter

Big image

A Note from the Principal

Dear Parents,


I hope you all have been enjoying some of the warmer temperatures and sunshine! It’s amazing how that can change your mood and brighten your day. All 7th and 8th grade students will take the PARCC test in the next couple of weeks. Please try your best to ensure that your child is in attendance and on time during these days. Additionally, all 8th grade students will also take the new Illinois Science assessment in early May.


We are very excited to welcome you on April 13th from 3:30 – 6:30 pm and on April 20th from 5 – 8 pm, for Student Led Conferences – Goal Reviews. At this point in the year you might think you don’t need to come in for conferences. I would urge you to reconsider as open lines of communication are crucial for student success. Often times, students need help ending the year strong. By coming in and talking with your child and his/her teachers, you’ll get an idea of what your student has been doing and what you can do to support their education. If you have any questions or concerns while you’re in the building, please stop by the office and see any one of us. Our doors are always open! I look forward to seeing you all!


Sincerely,

Chris Collins

Student News

Kids Against Hunger

28 Glenside students and many staff members went to Kids Against Hunger as a Builder's Club service project. While we were there, we packed over 7,000 meals, which will be shipped to Nicaragua for families in need.

Leadership Conference

Eight of our 6th graders were invited to a Student Leadership Conference at the Illinois Holocaust Museum & Education Center The students heard Keynote speaker Ryan Hreljac, founder of Ryan's Well Foundation.

Wrestling Finishes Strong

The Glenside wrestling team finished 5th place at the IESA Sectional Tournament at Wheeling-London Middle School. The Raiders qualified 4 wrestlers to the state tournament at Northern Illinois University. Awesome job boys!

Glenside Game Night

We played games from Boggle to Yahtzee in promotion of literacy and numeracy skills. Students were challenged in games with friends, family and Glenside staff, participated in a raffle, and learned about hosting game nights at home. What a fantastic turnout. The evening was a great success!

Destination Imagination

Glenside Middle School sent two teams to Destination Imagination for the first time this year. Our student teams both chose to participate in the Technical Challenge: Pace of Change. The teams were challenged with building a vehicle able to carry at least one team member across the presentation site multiple times. The vehicle's propulsion system and the vehicle movement method had to change during the presentation. Students also had to create and present a story about change. We are very proud of the hard work our teams put forth to pull off this exciting adventure.

Upcoming Events

Thursday, April 7

GMS PARCC-7th Grade ELA

7:00pm Spring Sports Awards


Friday, April 8

GMS PARCC-8th Grade Math

Glenbard Parent Series-Grooming for Excellence/En el asiento del conductor (Spanish)


Saturday, April 9

Glenbard Parent Series-Grooming for Excellence/En el asiento del conductor (Spanish)


Monday, April 11

7:00pm Board of Education Meeting

7:00pm Booster Meeting - Voting new members (LMC)


Tuesday, April 12

GMS PARCC-8th Grade Math

9:45am GMS-Elgin Symphony Orchestra Field Trip


Wednesday, April 13

GMS PARCC-8th Grade Math

2:50pm GMS Student Council

3:30pm GMS Student-Led Goal Review Conference


Thursday, April 14

GMS PARCC-8th Grade ELA

7:00pm African-American Parent Committee-Career Trends: Planning for the Future


Friday, April 15

GMS PARCC-8th Grade ELA

Glenside-Midterms Sent Home with Students


Tuesday, April 19

GMS PARCC-8th Grade ELA

QBEF FUNdraiser at MODPizza


Wednesday, April 20

Career Fair for 7th Grade

Book Fair

2:45pm GMS Battle of the Books

2:50pm GMS Student Council

5:00pm GMS Student-Led Goal Review Conferences & Book Fair

7:00pm Glenbard Parent Series-Helping Girls Thrive: The Mother-Daughter Relationship


Thursday, April 21

Book Fair


Friday, April 22

Book Fair

2:00pm Glenside Has Talent


Saturday, April 23

10:30am Glenbard Parent Series-The Secret to Achieve It! (Spanish)

8:30am State Contest Band and Choir


Monday, April 25

NWEA Testing Begins


Tuesday, April 26

6:00pm Washington DC Parent Meeting for 6th Graders

7:00pm Glenbard Parent Series-The Power of Joy in the Home


Wednesday, April 27

2:50pm GMS Student Council

7:00pm Glenbard Parent Series-Film: The Mask You Live In


Friday, April 29

8:30am GMS-Character Counts Breakfast

12:45pm GMS Career Fair


Monday, May 2

6:00pm GMS Music Booster Meeting


Tuesday, May 3

Cougar's game field trip


Wednesday, May 4

Glenbard North Musical

2:50pm GMS Student Council


Thursday, May 5

8th grade Brookfield Zoo trip

7:00pm Glenbard Parent Series-Calming the Nerves: Everything You Need to Know About the College Admission Process


Friday, May 6

Tour to Americana + Community - Symphonic Band and Choir


Monday, May 9

School Improvement Day-No Student Attendance

7:00pm Board of Education Meeting


Tuesday, May 10

7:00pm Glen Jazz Fest at GBSouth - Jazz Band


Wednesday, May 11

IL 8th Grade Science Assessment

2:50pm GMS Student Council

6:00pm Concert - Bands + Choir


Thursday, May 12

2:05pm Spring Spirit Assembly


Friday, May 13

Great America Rewards trip


Monday, May 16

6:00pm GMS Music Awards Banquet + Uniform Collection - Bands + Choir


Tuesday, May 17

11:00am Glenside vs Marquardt Battle of the Books


Wednesday, May 18

GMS Track Conference

2:50pm GMS Student Council


Thursday, May 19

Glenside-8th Grade Graduation

GMS Track Conference (Rain Date)

6:00pm 8th Grade Dance


Friday, May 20

8th grade Graduation Practice


Monday, May 23

Glenside-8th Grade Springfield Trip

Americana vs District 15 Battle of the Books

7:00pm Board of Education Meeting


Tuesday, May 24

Glenside-8th Grade Springfield Trip


Wednesday, May 25

2:50pm GMS Student Council

7:00pm Graduation - All Band members perform at GBN


Thursday, May 26

Last Day of School


Monday, May 30

No School-Memorial Day


Friday, June 3

Glenside-Report Cards Mailed Home

End of 4th Quarter

Get your GMS News right away!

Connect with us on social media.

You have received this newsletter because you are a student or family member of a student at Glenside Middle School. If you know someone who should receive this newsletter, please forward it or notify us at webmaster@queenbee16.org