Your Vote Matters!
How to register and vote in North Carolina
Registering can be confusing if you don't know what you're doing. Keep reading to see voting requirements, ways you can register, deadline information, and what to do if you can't vote on the voting day.
There are three main qualifications to vote set forth in federal law:
- You must be at least 18-years-old
- You must be a United States citizen
- You must be registered to vote in a state
Each state has a deadline to register to vote. Its usually between 20 and 30 days before the election. North Carolina's is 25 days. You can register to vote in person or by mail, email, or fax. Registration can be done in person at a variety of different state agencies, including the Division of Motor Vehicles Office (DMV). Registering requires you to fill out your name, address, age, and party preference on a registration form. First time voters must also show proof of citizenship and age.
Military/Overseas/Out of State Registration
If you are unable to vote on election day, you may fill out an absentee ballot. Simply request one from your local election board and return it by 5:00 A.M. the Tuesday before election day.
2016 Voter ID Requirements
Starting in 2016, there will be new requirements that require IDs to be shown before you can vote. You will need to have a photo ID to proceed to the voting machines. I you do not have a valid photo ID, you will not be allowed to vote.