Mission Trail Elementary

Sunday Update for September 12, 2021

Good morning!


This was a wonderful and wacky week! Wednesday felt like Monday, but Friday felt like Friday! We love the cooler recess times, and it feels great. Red Friday at MTE was truly a fun day. The children love seeing all the red and Mahomes was clearly the most represented player at MTE. I am so excited for the Chiefs later today!


Our staff had a meaningful workday on Tuesday! We made the most of every minute as we worked on developing our professional learning communities and strategizing for the year ahead. I am so grateful for the expertise and commitment of our staff. In a year where you can’t yet get into the building much, we thought we would make a gift to share with our MTE community. Please click the link to view our MTE Family Slide Show. We thought this would be a fun way to share our MTE family with you. This helps you know the team who works with your children each day. Not all our staff participated, but most did! Please enjoy!


https://docs.google.com/presentation/d/1VAP2rB-PwSyZDPsBJgbxFiXl2t4WcZHgcqazhODdVV0/present#slide=id.ge77d2ed6f7_0_27


I hope you are enjoying the weekend! I am getting ready for a kitchen remodel starting in a few weeks, so yesterday was spent emptying some cabinets and getting prepared. It is amazing how much kitchen stuff I have that I never use. It will be a few weeks before the real work starts, but it is never too early to prepare.


As always -if you have any questions, comments, or concerns – please reach out to me.


“It is a great day to be a bulldog!”


Debbie

MTE Calendar At-A-Glance for September/October 2021

Monday, September 13 DAY 2

Tuesday, September 14 DAY 3 PTO Meeting 9:00 & 7:00, Leawood Middle School Eagle Fest 3:00-6:00

Wednesday, September 15 DAY 4

Thursday, September 16 DAY 5

Friday, September 17 DAY 1 MTE Spirit Day Students and Staff are encouraged to wear school spirit wear or school colors

Monday, September 20 DAY 2

Tuesday, September 21 DAY 3 PTO Chipotle Night 4:00-8:00 PM(see info at the bottom of this email)

Wednesday, September 22 DAY 4

Thursday, September 23 DAY 5

Friday, September 24 DAY 1 MTE Spirit Day Students and Staff are encouraged to wear school spirit wear or school colors

Saturday, September 25 MTE Carnival 3:00-6:00 PM

Monday, September 27 DAY 2 Zoom Conferences 4:00-7:30 PM

Tuesday, September 28 DAY 3

Wednesday, September 29 DAY 4 Zoom Conferences 4:00-7:30 PM

Thursday, September 30 NO SCHOOL, Zoom Conferences

Friday, October 1st NO SCHOOL

Monday, October 4 DAY 5 Cafeteria & Custodial Appreciation Day

Tuesday, October 5 DAY 1

Wednesday, October 6 DAY 2

Thursday, October 7 DAY 3

Friday, October 8 DAY 4

Big picture
Big picture

The PTO would like to invite the entire MTE community to join us for the first quarterly PTO meeting on Tuesday, September 14th. This year, we are offering two opportunities to attend. Your presence and ideas add value and provide a great opportunity to find out what is happening at our school from the PTO's perspective.


Morning 9am at Gezer Park. Coffee and treats will be provided. Feel free to bring younger siblings and a comfortable yard chair.


Evening 7pm Zoom. Enjoy the meeting in the comfort of your own home or waiting for carpool. The link will be sent closer to the date.


Evening Zoom Link


Join Zoom Meeting

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/87578248460?pwd=Q09rMHZ3UXl6U0dJK3NLMWJhVDNOUT09

Meeting ID: 875 7824 8460

Passcode: 738562

Big picture

Carnival Volunteers

We need volunteers to make this event great! We are asking that each family please sign up for one shift during the event. We cannot make this work without the full support of our Mission Trail Community! Middle School and High School students are welcome to participate and receive community service hours.

Please click below for a full list of volunteer opportunities:

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture