Lynx MS News

AIS West - December 2020

Dear students and parents,


We hope this newsletter finds you well. Huge thanks to everyone who contributed to the AIS West Gives Back project. Your generosity will help our less fortunate neighbors stay warm this winter.


Please carefully read the Important Dates listed below. You will notice that we will have our third independent learning day on Sunday, December 6. This will give students an opportunity to catch up on their studies from home. They will also be able to join Zoom office hours throughout the day to get individual support from teachers.


As always, we are here for you at any time. Do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns.


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Vice Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Important Dates

November 29 - December 2 - Cohort B on Campus

Cohort A at home independent learning


December 3 - Teacher Professional Development Day - No Students on Campus


December 6 - Independent Online Learning Day - No Students on Campus


December 7 - December 10 - Cohort A on Campus - Arts Week!

Cohort B at home independent learning


December 10- Middle School Parent Workshop

10:00am on Zoom


December 13 - December 17 - Cohort B on Campus - Arts Week!

Cohort A at home independent learning


December 20 - December 22 - Cohort A on Campus

Cohort B at home independent learning


December 23 - January 9 - Winter Break


January 10 - Cohort B Returns to School

Big picture

Counselor's Corner

Angela Fushtey - Middle School Counselor afushtey@aiswest.com

We are in the final stretch of time before our winter break and our middle school students are showing a lot of hard work and dedication. Just a reminder that every Monday from 11am to 12pm there is drop-in counseling time where middle students who are in the at-home cohort can drop in and discuss any questions or concerns they have. Also, December 10th is our next virtual coffee morning; we will be discussing how to guide our children in coping with stress and frustration. Hope to see you there!

Student of the Month

Hesham Abdou, Grade 6, is our Student of the Month. He was chosen by his teachers because he embodies the IB Learner Profile Trait: Balanced.


One teacher wrote: Hesham is hardworking, kind, curious and responsible. He is truly balanced!

Teacher of the Month

Ms. Lina Rodriguez, Dance Teacher, is our Teacher of the Month. Ms. Lina was chosen by her colleagues because she embodies the IB Learner Profile Trait: Balanced. Balanced teachers understand the importance of intellectual, physical, and emotional balance to achieve personal well-being for themselves and others.


One teacher wrote: Lina contributes to our school in so many different ways. She is truly balanced. Lina has enhanced the dance room and curriculum. She has had a great impact on the students and teachers since her arrival at AIS.

Library News!

Winter break is around the corner. It will be a long and relaxing vacation. Tired of binging on Netflix? Looking for a chance to detox from digital tools? Come and grab some books from the library to keep you happy, warm and entertained this Winter break.


The Secondary School Library team is very excited to see you. We have made several changes recently and we would love to show them to you. Come check the Biography section to find out more about famous people who have impacted our world and lives.


Our current display racks feature Egyptian and Middle East/North Africa (MENA) themed books. Come see our wonderful selection of books and choose some for the upcoming holiday.


It is that time of the year where we cuddle up at home with a hot drink and a book that will take us far away. Check our display table of winter and Christmas themed books and be transported to another world.


Craving christmas goodies? Why not do them yourself? We have cooking books on how to bake and decorate christmas cookies, biscuits and cakes. Additionally, we have also printed a "Christmas Cookies Easy Recipe," ready for you to take home and try out. Yum :)

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We are continuing to work on building our vocabulary, our ability to identify key elements of the text, and learning about Cuban culture while we read Island Treasures: Growing Up In Cuba.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Grade 6 students are investigating the lives of people who move and look for a better life for themselves, as migrants. World Geography will also explore "Land-Use" conflicts in the Amazon Rainforest.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We are working on exponents, order of operations, and prime factorization. We will finish next week with square roots. We will also be reviewing next week for the assessment in December. Check the Calendar in Google Classroom often for dates of assessments.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

This month in Grade 6 science, students will model tectonic plate movement using Oreos! Students should also be working on their semester review board game - due: December 12th. Students will play the board games in class to help study for the optional semester final. All points gained on the semester final will be counted as bonus points towards students' final grades.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: مراجعة عامة لما سبق دراسته. / تدريبات قراءة متحررة وقرائية وخطي النسخ والرقعة. / درس "إن و أخواتها " نحو. / تعبير إبداعي و كتابة اللافتة.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة ( شرم الشيخ مدينة السلام) النحو ( الضمائر وآسماء الاشارة) الاملاء( ال القمرية والشمسية) تحدث واستماع ( قصة صانع الحرير ) .

Arabic SS 6 -Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

الحملة الفرنسية علي مصر ـ الإحتلال الفرنسي( ثورة القاهرة الأولي ـ الحملة الفرنسية علي الشام ـ ثورة القاهرة الثانية ـنتائج الحملة الفرنسية علي مصر )

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students in French 6 are learning vocabulary and expressions on how to talk about likes and dislikes, how to ask people what they prefer and how to agree and disagree.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn the alphabet and numbers, and practice the listening skills to spell names, and give and ask for phone numbers.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we are rehearsing "The Greedy Hippo" for the Celebration of the Arts.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning basic steps of reggeaton a Latin American dance.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Due the quarantine situation we had to modify a lot our plans, and right now students are improving their robotic coding skills with the help of two apps: Lightbot and Swift Playgrounds. When they return to school they will be working on building a simple robot to solve a simple real life issue or problem.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

Students in middle school PE have been completing their first round of fitness testing. Students test their cardiovascular endurance, muscular strength, muscular endurance and flexibility. Students will then make fitness goals with the objective of improving their total fitness by the end of the school year.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are creating an Artwork inspired by Pop Art, learning to paint in a controlled way and understanding the order of how to paint.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

All students not in school should be streaming online for band class. This is required. We are learning a new note and two new songs on p.8.

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

Students are writing a personal narrative, and completing Part 4 of their novel Booked.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

We will continue with decimal numbers and ratios in the coming weeks.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

This month we will be in the lab, investigating how Photosynthesis and Cellular Respiration work! After that, we will be constructing and playing review board games covering all the Biogeochemical Cycles we learned about this semester.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month, students will create a tour of Ancient Egyptian monuments and cities in an attempt to bring tourism back to Egypt.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

القواعد: الفعل الصحيح والمعتل ومراجعة عامة لما سبق دراسته. - القصة : الفصل الثاني - تدريبات قراءة متحررة وقرائية وخطي النسخ والرقعة. - النصوص الأدبية: فضل العلم والعمل - تعبير إبداعي: كتابة مقال ولافتة. - الاستماع : قصة توماس أديسون

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we are rehearsing "The Rainbow Fish" for the "Celebration of the Arts"

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 7, students are learning how to ask about likes and dislikes, how to agree and disagree, and will learn to ask questions.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn how to express what we and other people like to do after school.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (غرائب المخلوقات) النحو ( الاساليب وحروف العطف) الاملاء( علامات الترقيم ( علامة الاستفهام والتعجب) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الارنب والسلحفاة ) .

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students already developed their fist one level video game with Ready Maker. Now they will refine their level design skills and develop a three level demo version of their own video games.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning about artist Pablo Picasso and creating a Portrait inspired by his Cubist Artworks.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Beginning Band 7/8 : All students not in school should be streaming on line for band class. This is required. We are learning a new note and two new songs on p.8.


Intermediate Band 7/8 : We are preparing for our upcoming concert to be held in front of the auditorium during lunch on December 7th.

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning a full choreography with basic steps of reggeaton.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

الجغرافيا : تعاقب الليل والنهار- تعاقب الفصول الأربعة - اليابس والماء

التاريخ: عصر الدولة الوسطى وعصر الدولة الحديثة

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

Students in middle school PE have been completing their first round of fitness testing. Students test their cardiovascular endurance, muscular strength, muscular endurance and flexibility. Students will then make fitness goals with the objective of improving their total fitness by the end of the school year.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, students will work on their media literacy skills, while becoming more media literate. They will explore different techniques the media uses to persuade the public as well as apply them by creating their own ads and PSAs.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

This month, students will continue working on chapter 6, solving multi step equations. This will be followed by solving fractional equations using both methods, cross multiplication and finding the LCD.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

Students have recently completed two amazing projects on the Middle Ages - one on Feudalism, and the other on the Roman Catholic Church. Next they turn their attention to the Decline of Feudalism, covering topics such as the importance of the Magna Carta, the impact of the Black Death, and the significance of the Hundred Years War.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

In December, students will begin exploring Light Energy. They will learn all about its behaviour, its uses, and its different types.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn to talk about family, ask and tell ages, express possession and use comparatives.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

Students are learning to ask how often you do an activity and to ask how well you do something and to ask about preferences. Students also are learning the French grammar tenses, beginning with the Present tense.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

Students are learning how to work with conditionals and use this to create simple interaction. In December they'll face their ultimate challenge and will have to develop a program that applies everything they had learn so far.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

القراءة (غرائب المخلوقات) النحو ( انواع الجموع) الاملاء( علامات الترقيم النقطة والفاصلة المنقوطة) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الحرية ) .

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

القراءة : منتصر ومجاهد - النصوص: في حب مصر - النحو: العطف - غزوة حنين والعباس.

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are learning how to create cardboard letter sculptures.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are rehearsing 'Ice Cream Choreography' for the Celebration of the Arts.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we are rehearsing "Sorry, Wrong Number" for the "Celebration of the Arts".

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

Students in middle school PE have been completing their first round of fitness testing. Students test their cardiovascular endurance, muscular strength, muscular endurance and flexibility. Students will then make fitness goals with the objective of improving their total fitness by the end of the school year.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Beginning Band 7/8 : All students not in school should be streaming on line for band class. This is required. We are learning a new note and two new songs on p.8.


Intermediate Band 7/8: We are preparing for our upcoming concert to be held in front of the auditorium during lunch on December 7th.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool