Child Labor Laws

Kaitlyn Hatfield

In the USA:

  • Those who are under 14 must work from home and can't work for a company unless it is their parents.
  • Between 14 and 15, numerous laws are in place. These laws regulate the hours that can be worked, the type of work, and the youth minimum wage.
  • Between 16 and 17, there are no regulations on hours, however, there are restrictions on types of jobs.
  • After 18, no job restrictions apply.


In Georgia:

Minimum Age: You have to be older than 14 to get a legal job in the state of Georgia


Maximum Work Hours:

UNDER 16:


  • 3 hours on a school day
  • 8 hours on a non school day
  • 18 hours on a school week
  • 40 hours on a non school week
  • Not during school hours
  • Between the hours of 7 am and 7 pm (9 pm on between June 1 and Labor Day)


No time restrictions on minors 16 years or older.


Prohibited Occupations:

  • May not serve alcohol
  • May not work in machinery
  • May not work in manufacturing
  • May not manufacture or store explosives



In Iowa:

Minimum age: Without a work permit-16

With a work permit-14


Maximum hours:

UNDER 16:



  • 4 hours on a school day
  • 8 hours on a non school day
  • 28 hours on a school week
  • 40 hours on a non school week
  • May work during flex school hours, no scheduled school should be missed.
  • Between the hours of 7 am and 7 pm (9 pm on between June 1 and Labor Day)



No time restrictions on 16 years or older.


Prohibited Occupations:

  • May not serve alcohol
  • May not work in machinery
  • May not work in manufacturing
  • May not work in laundry or dry cleaning
  • May not work with hazardous chemicals.

In Japan:

  • May not work until March 31 after their fifteenth birthday
  • May work when 13 or older if the work is not injurious and the employer has permission from the local Labor Standards Administration office.
  • Under 18, no extended hour or night-time work
  • Cannot work with maintenance or machinery


In Switzerland:

  • Minimum age of 13
  • 13-15 are allowed to work in minimally stressful environments.
  • No more than 9 hours per week during the school year.
  • 15 hours when school is not in session
  • Protects up to 20 years of age.