Gray Wolf

Canis Lupis

Gray Wolves are an endangered species in North America.

There are about 5,000 Gray Wolves left in existence.

Gray Wolves were protected under The Endangered Species Act but have been recently stripped of their federal protection.

In the Northern Rocky Mountains, and the Western Great Lakes have the liberty to kill Gray Wolves.

Gray Wolf Facts

  • Gray wolves can vary in color. (black, white, gray)
  • Each howl is different, like a fingerprint.
  • Wolves were once common across all of North America.
  • Wolves live, travel, and hunt in packs.(usually 7 or 8 wolves)

Habitat and Range

  • Gray Wolves are indigenous to North America.
  • Currently Gray Wolves can only be found in the lower 48 states, Canada, and Alaska.
  • Gray Wolves live in habitats ranging from the woodlands, tundra, and desert.
  • The historic range of the Gray Wolf covered 2/3 of the United States.

What's endangering Gray Wolves?

  • Human expansion into their habitats.
  • Hunting

Conservation Efforts

  • On June 17, 2013, the Endangered Species Act protecting the Gray Wolf was annulled across the lower 48 states.
  • April 2011, Congress attached to a bill that wolves are protected in: all of Idaho, and Montana, the eastern parts of Washington and Oregon, some parts of Utah.
  • September 2012, Gray Wolves are protected in Wyoming.


"Basic Facts About Gray Wolves." Defenders of Wildlife, 2014. Web. 30 Nov. 2015.

"ReSTORING THE GRAY WOLF." Restoring the Gray Wolf. Center for Biological Diversity, n.d. Web. 03 Dec. 2014.

"Wolves." World Wildlife Fund, n.d. Web. 04 Dec. 2014.