K-8 Library News

We Have a Reading Heart

Schedule

Monday, March 30 - Garfield a.m. and Lincoln 11:45-4:05
Tuesday, March 31 - CCCMS
Wednesday, April 1 - Garfield a.m. and Lincoln 11:45-4:05
Thursday, April 2 - CCCMS
Friday, April 3 - No School

Lincoln

This week we are celebrating Agriculture Literacy Week (actually it was during spring break). We will have several guest readers this week reading to the different grade levels. They will be reading the Kansas Farm Bureau published children's books.

Checkout our Destiny home page.

There will not be Friday lessons this week due to Good Friday.

Recommended Read:
You Can Do It! by Betsy Lewin
Call Number E Lew


With a little motivation from his friend, a crocodile realizes he can indeed triumph in the big race in this delightful young reader by a Caldecott Honor-winning illustrator.


Can I do it? wonders the little crocodile when he sees a sign for Sunday's big swimming race. A mean, bigger crocodile tells him he cannot win, but the little crocodile's friend helps him train and tells him more than once that he can indeed succeed. On the day of the big race, the little crocodile is ready to prove himself. Beguiling characters are brought to life in buoyant pen-and-ink drawings with watercolor washes in this tribute to determination.


(Amazon.com)

Garfield

Checkout our Destiny home page.

We will see Mr. Brummet's and Mrs. Argo's/Mrs. McFall's classes on Monday. We will see Mrs. Catlin's and Mrs. Galindo's classes on Wednesday for library lessons. We are finishing our Dewey Decimal presentations.

Recommended Read:
A Tell Tale Start the Misdventures of Edger and Allen Poe by Gordon McAlpine

Meet Edgar and Allan Poe -- twelve-year-old identical twins, the great-great-great-great-grandnephews of Edgar Allan Poe. They look and act so much alike that they're almost one mischievous, prank-playing boy in two bodies. When their beloved black cat, Roderick Usher, is kidnapped and transported to the Midwest, Edgar and Allan convince their guardians that it's time for a road trip. Along the way, mayhem and mystery ensue, as well as deeper questions: What is the boys' telepathic connection? Is Edgar Allan Poe himself reaching out to them from the Great Beyond? And why has a mad scientist been spying on the Poe family for years?

With a mix of literary humor, mystery, a little quantum physics, and fun extras like fortune cookie messages, letters in code, license plate clues -- and playful illustrations thoughout -- this series opener is a perfect choice for smart, funny tweens who love the Time Warp Trio, Roald Dahl, and Lemony Snicket. (Amazon.com)

CCCMS

Checkout our Destiny home page.

The library will be open Monday, Tuesday, and Thursday this week.

We have scheduled class checkouts on Wednesday (Mrs. Yenni) and Friday (Mr. DeBauche). During 8th hour on the following days, Monday (Mrs. Blake), Tuesday (Mrs. Weller), Wednesday (Mrs. Yenni), and Thursday (Mr. Rickley) the 6th grade language arts classes will be in the library for checkout.

Recommended Read:
The Shadow Collectors Apprentice by Amy Gordon

Fans of Holly Horvath and Kate DiCamillo will love this warm, eccentric, and enchanting middle-grade novel.

Peculiar things are going on in the town of Medley over the summer of 1963, but it's hard for twelve-year-old Cully Pennyacre to figure out what it all means. His father has disappeared mysteriously, people don't seem like themselves, and his apprenticeship at Betty's Attic antique store gets stranger each day. The owner has a disturbing hobby of collecting people's shadows with a weird projectorlike machine and foul-smelling chemicals. He claims the process is harmless, but it leaves his victims listless and passive. Odd happenings become the norm as Cully, Batty's granddaughter Isabel, and Cully's best friend band together to get to the bottom of a secret black market in human shadows.(Amazon.com)