Port Susan Middle

Student & Family Update 10.02.22

Curriculum Night

On Wednesday, September 28th, we had our first curriculum night with PSMS families. We understand that not all families were able to attend, so linked below is some information shared by teacher on Wednesday night. If you do not see the information you are looking for or have additional questions, please reach out to the teacher (emails listed at the bottom of this update). We will continue to work together in this partnership throughout the school year. Thank you!


*Click on names to open information*

Mr. Hanson (Computers & Digital Effects)

Mrs. Hanson (HiCap) & Mrs. Hanson (ELA 8)

Mrs. Harrington (ELA 6; ELA 7; Leadership)

Mr. Johnson (7th & 8th Science)

Mrs. Klein (6th & 7th Science)

Mr. McCrumb (6th Math; 6th Science; Explore the Outdoors)

Mrs. Oldow (6th ELA & Social Studies)

Mrs. Pedersen (6th & 7th Math)

Mrs. Schroeder (8th ELA & History)

Mrs. Stunz (Art) & Mrs. Stunz (7th ELA)

Mrs. White (7th/8th ELA & 6th Cultures)

Mrs. Zurcher (Home Ec) & Mrs. Zurcher (7th History)

Advisory/Social Emotional Lesson

As we continue to work together this school year, I will share our Monday message with families so you can get an idea of our conversations with students. Our Promise and Knights Code (pictured below) is posted throughout the building. We also have it referenced daily on our morning announcements with our students. Creating an inclusive setting for every students to be empowered to learn is a priority.
Big picture
MUD \ MODALITIES: Learn a Kindness Practice w/ Houston Kraft
Big picture

Student Involvement (All grades)

Throughout the year, our students have the opportunity to join clubs as they become available. Sign ups and additional information can be found on grade level classrooms or by reaching out to the teacher. If a student joins a club, please arrange transportation home (no transportation provided for after school activities).

Season 2 (Part 1): Boys Basketball

Boys Basketball will be the first part of season two. Practices will begin on October 19. You can sign up on-line following the link, or by getting a packet from the office. Girls Volleyball, the second part of season 2 will start on November 30th.
Big picture
Boys Basketball Sign Ups

Click HERE to sign up

Custodian Appreciation Day

Thank you to our incredible custodians for keeping our building clean. We appreciate you!

Kelly Nicholas, Mary Nicholas, Annette O'Keefe, Tyler Klingenberg, and joining us soon will be Trevor Farkasosky!

Big picture

*Reminder: Parent Communication & Skyward

As we are almost at the midpoint of our first quarter together, teachers have been sending home emails to parents regarding support for their student around expectations as needed. The partnership with families is always important and I encourage parents to reach out with questions as they come up as well (teacher emails listed at the bottom of this update).


A reminder that Skyward is a great tool to check grades weekly for students and parents. Not only is this available through the online website, but there is also a Skyward App available for all phones. If you go to your App store and search "Skyward", it can be downloaded onto your phone for quick access. If you need your parent username/password, please reach out to our office at 360.629.1360

Knights Gear!! *Ends SOON!!

Knights Gear!! Port Susan Middle School PTO has put together an opportunity for families to purchase some school attire. Please use the link below to get a shirt, sweatshirt, or other apparel.

https://fancloth.shop/UX4RZ

Big picture

Week of 10/03 through 10/07

Monday:

Regular Schedule

Social/Emotional Advisory Lesson


Tuesday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

Soccer vs SMS


Wednesday:

9 a.m. start Wednesday Schedule


Thursday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory

Soccer vs Conway

XC @ Anacortes HS


Friday:

Regular Schedule

Academic Focus Advisory


Future Dates

October 13th: Donuts w/Grown-Ups (PTO event) 6:45-7:30 a.m.

October 21st: Teacher in-service (No School)

October 28th: Picture Retakes

October 31st: Spirit day/Dance (TBA)

November 2-4: Fall Conferences (No late start/early release)

November 4: Last day of Quarter 1


Student Calendar HERE


Linked below are previous communications. Please continue to reach out with any questions you have. You can email me directly (calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu) or call our office at 360.629.1360

August 21st

August 28th

September 4th

September 11th

September 18th

September 25th

District Information

Panorama Survey

Dear Families,


We thank you and your family for being our valued partners as we work together to educate the children in our district. As you may already be aware, building our social-emotional learning skills is an important goal for our school this year. Over the next several weeks, students and teachers will participate in several exercises to better understand these concepts and to reflect on how they perceive these skills in themselves.


We will be asking for your child to reflect on their own mindsets and approaches to learning via an online survey they will be completing at school. The survey shouldn’t take more than 20-30 minutes to complete.


The survey content will ask students to self-reflect on self management, grit, self efficacy, effort, learning strategies and emotional regulation.


We are asking that all of our students participate in the surveys, as their responses will provide invaluable insights into their experiences and how we can improve and adapt our district to their needs. If a student doesn’t feel like they have enough information to answer a question, they will be able to skip the item altogether. The responses to these surveys will be completely confidential.


If you have any questions about the SEL survey , please don’t hesitate to contact Kelly Parsons at (360) 629-1246 kparsons@stanwood.wednet.edu

Community Facilities Advisory Committee Invitation

This year, the Stanwood-Camano School District will form a Capital Facilities Advisory Committee (CFAC). This team’s purpose is to affirm that public schools belong to the entire community, and funding for capital improvements is generated through voter-approved bond measures. Also included in the team’s work are recommendations for how families are assigned to particular schools based on where families reside, school capacity, and immediate and projected enrollment.


Community members play a key role in developing our long-term capital facilities plan and providing input on facility use to ensure the community's values and priorities are accurately represented.


If you are interested in joining this committee, or would like to know more, please complete this form.

Career & Technical Education

The Career & Technical Education (CTE) Program is looking for business and industry leaders to serve as part of the Stanwood-Camano School District Career and Technical Education (CTE) advisory committee(s). These committees advise, assist and provide support and advocacy for quality CTE programs. Advisory committee members are business and industry volunteers representing occupational areas that have feeder programs taught in our public schools. Members have the opportunity to learn more about the CTE program and instructors are able to increase their understanding of the job market, employers' needs, and community opportunities.
CTE advisory committees:

  • Provide information to update, modify, expand, and improve the quality of programs
  • Support and strengthen the partnerships between business, labor, the community, and education
  • Work with students and educators to support real-world experiences and applications
  • Make recommendations that strengthen and expand the CTE curriculum, and provide assistance in implementing these recommendations
  • Identify and validate academic and occupational competencies, determine priorities, and review and evaluate programs
  • Communicate long-term goals and objectives of the CTE programs to students, parents/guardians, employers, and the community

Click Here to learn more.
If you are interested in joining our CTE Advisory Committees, please Click Here to sign up.

Operation School Bell

Dear Families,


Our school district is fortunate to have access to Operation School Bell ®, a program offered by

the Assitance Leagues of Everett ® for students who are in need of new clothes. To qualify for

assistance, a child must be enrolled full time and qualify for the free or reduced lunch program.


The process only takes a few minutes to get started and involves basic information.

In order to participate in this program, it is important that you complete the necessary forms for

EACH child. You can make a copy of the form if you need more, or you can reach out to your

child’s school and request additional copies.

There are options this year for how you would like to receive your clothing. You can choose to

have a volunteer shop for you child and a bag of clothing will be delivered to your child’s school

OR there will be a designated day (undetermined at this time) where your child, with your

permission, will travel with district staff to the facility in Everett to shop for their own clothing

items.


This program is for all SCSD students in preschool through 8 th grade. High school students

participate in a portion of Operation School Bell called “Teen Retail.” Please contact Azra

Grudic, Student Support Advocate, if you have a HS student in need of clothing:

agrudic@stanwood.wednet.edu


Please note that each child can only attend Operation School Bell ® ONCE each school year

(through either the Stanwood-Camano School District or another program such as ECEAP).

To participate in Operation School Bell® your student can pick up a packet from the front office

staff at any time, or you can contact Amy Hart, Student Support Advocate to get the paperwork:

ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu or 360-965-8249.


Thank you,


Amy Hart

Student Support Advocate

Stanwood-Camano School District

Middle School Lunch Menus/Information

Click HERE for Food Service

Thank you!

Cherae Almanza, Principal calmanza@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crysty Auckland, Assistant Principal/Athletic Director cauckland@stanwood.wednet.edu


Teacher Emails

Dave Austin (6-8 Fitness & 6 Leadership) daustin@stanwood.wednet.edu

Jonathan Bletscher (6-8 Band) jbletscher@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joan Campbell (6-7 Math) jcampbell@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tamara Pedersen (6-7 Math) tpedersen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Stunz (7 ELA & 6-8 Art) lstunz@stanwood.wednet.edu

Grace Gale (6 Science & 6-8 STEM/Robotics) GGale@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sub for Grace Gale is Jeffrey Trammell jtrammell2@stanwood.wednet.edu

Chelsea Hanson (6-8 ELA/Humanities) CHanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Nate Hanson (6-8 Computers/Digital Effects) nhanson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Audrie Harrington (6/7 ELA & 7/8 Leadership) aharrington@stanwood.wednet.edu

Joshua Keaton (7/8 History) jkeaton@stanwood.wednet.edu

Seth Hills (6 Social Studies) shills@stanwood.wednet.edu

Selena Wyman (guest teacher for Seth Hills) swyman@stanwood.wednet.edu

Lori Johnson (6-8 Assist) ljohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Wade Johnson (7/8 Science) wjohnson@stanwood.wednet.edu

Rebecca Klein (6/7 Science) rklein@stanwood.wednet.edu

Meghan Lawrence (6-8 PBS) mlawrence@stanwood.wednet.edu

Ellianna Martin (6-8 Math) emartin@stanwood.wednet.edu>,

Daniel Mccrumb (6 Math/Science & 7/8 Outdoor Ed) DMccrumb@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sarah Oldow (6 ELA/Social Studies) soldow@stanwood.wednet.edu

Catherine Perry (6-8 EL) cperry@stanwood.wednet.edu

Tracy Riley (6-8 ELA) TRiley@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kelcie Rocha (7/8 Math) krocha@stanwood.wednet.edu

Brad Rochon (7/8 Science) brochon@stanwood.wednet.edu

Connie Schmidt (6-8 Health) cschmidt@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sheri Schroeder (8 History & ELA) sleeschroeder@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kym Shoemaker (7/8 Math) kshoemaker@stanwood.wednet.edu

Crystal Titus (6-8 Fitness) ctitus@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kayte White (8 ELA & 6 Cultures) kwhite@stanwood.wednet.edu

Julia Zurcher (7 History & 7/8 Home Ec) jzurcher@stanwood.wednet.edu


Office Support

Jayde Piggot (6 Counselor) jpiggott@stanwood.wednet.edu

Keli Niegemann (7/8 Counselor) kniegemann@stanwood.wednet.edu

Emily Bowne (School Psychologist) ebowne@stanwood.wednet.edu

Kandyce Hansen (Speech Language Pathologist) khansen@stanwood.wednet.edu

Sara Harlan (Librarian) sharlan@stanwood.wednet.edu

Amy Hart (Student Support Advocate) ahart@stanwood.wednet.edu

Taylor Little (Mental Health Therapist) tlittle@stanwood.wednet.edu


The Stanwood-Camano School District does not discriminate in employment, programs, or activities on the basis of sex, race, creed, religion, color, national origin, age, veteran or military status, sexual orientation, gender expression or identity, disability, or the use of a trained dog guide or service animal and provides equal access to the Boy Scouts and other designated youth groups. Inquiries regarding compliance and/or grievance procedures may be directed to the District's Title IX/Affirmative Action Officer and Civil Rights Compliance Coordinator, Maurene Stanton (mstanton@stanwood.wednet.edu), or the Section 504/American Disabilities Act Coordinator, Robert Hascall (rhascall@stanwood.wednet.edu) Stanwood-Camano School District, 26920 Pioneer Hwy, Stanwood, WA 98292. Telephone: (360) 629-1200.