TRIX ACADEMY

January 25, 2021

Dates to Remember

1/25/2021 - Food Distribution

1/26/2021 - Food Distribution

1/27/2021 - School Spirit Day

1/28/2021 - School Spirit Day

1/29/2021 - Parent-Teacher Conferences

From the Desk of the Principal

Hello Trix Academy Family!


Parent-Teacher Conferences will be held this Friday, therefore online learning will begin at 12:30pm. Please expect various forms of communication to schedule a time to speak with your child's teacher regarding his/her progress for the second marking period. Families may also contact your child's teacher to schedule a time. For the second Parent-Teacher Conferences, Trix Academy will hold a raffle. At the conclusion of the scheduled conference time, as a parent your name will be entered into a raffle to win one of several gift certificates and each scholar who attends conferences, will receive a surprise. We look forward to speaking with everyone during conferences.


Sincerely,


Detra Coleman, Ed.S.

Trix Academy School Leader

Parent-Teacher Conference Tips

It is important for the teacher, scholar and parents to be on the same page. One critical part of the conversation during parent-teacher conferences will be the strategy to help your child retain the strength and/or build on an area for improvement. For a few helpful tips to guide discussions during conferences, please see below.


  • What is my child's area of strength for the second quarter? How is this different from the first quarter?
  • What specific strategy can I use to help my child keep the area of strength?
  • What is my child's area for improvement for the second quarter? How is this different from the second quarter?
  • What specific strategy can I use to help my child build on an area for improvement?


If you have any additional questions or concerns, please call the office at (313) 426-1020 or email Ms. Coleman at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.

School Spirit Days

The last Wednesday and Thursday of each month, scholars who have a Trix Academy t-shirt can show their school pride by wearing their Trix Academy t-shirts. Scholars who attend in-person are allowed to wear jeans with their school spirit t-shirt.

Scholar Led School Events Committee

Attention Scholars! Do you enjoy speaking with others and working as a team? Trix Academy has the idea and answer waiting just for you. We are looking for scholars to help plan activities for our school community. If you are interested in joining the school events committee, please email Ms. Coleman your interest or let you homeroom teacher know, after you have permission from your parent. The school events committee will meet once a week and work together as a team to develop ideas that all of our families can enjoy each month as another way of bringing our school community together. I look forward to speaking with those who are interested.

Art Contest

Do you enjoy being creative through art? Coming very soon, scholars will have the opportunity to showcase your drawing ability. Trix Academy will hold it's first art contest, facilitated by Mr. Robertson during the month of February.

Accepting Applications

Trix Academy is accepting new scholar applications. If you are aware of a family who is searching for a safe, nurturing and educationally focused school, please call the office at (313) 426-1020 or visit http://trix.mecc-academies.org for enrollment information.

The Importance of Attendance

Robo calls as well as other communications are being sent on a daily basis for those scholars who are not logged into their class daily. As a gentle reminder, attendance is an integral part of the learning process. Scholars should log into their Blackboard class session at 8:30am. The first class of the day is geared towards getting scholars ready for instruction and to check-in on our scholars to ensure they are continuing to build social skills. Remaining logged in for the day is also critical because scholars will receive a deeper understanding of content pertaining to reading, math, science and social studies. In order for scholars to count as present for the day, remaining logged in is important. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact Ms. Coleman at (313) 426-1020 or d.coleman@mecc-academies.org.

Laptop Care and Tips

Many of our scholars have received devices for virtual learning. Below are a few tips to ensure the technology devices are not accidently damaged or lost.


  • Ensure the case remains on the iPad or Chromebook
  • Ensure food and drinks are not around the technology device
  • Ensure scholars are stationary when using the iPad or Chromebook
  • Monitor data usage on the hotspot
  • When lessons have concluded for the day, ensure the scholar places the device in the same location for the next day
  • Ensure technology devices are plugged in to charge at the end of the school day in order for scholars to have a fully charged device for the next school day.


If you have any questions, please let me know via email at d.coleman@mecc-academies.org or by calling the office at (313) 426-1020.

Breakfast

Trix Academy serves breakfast daily from 8:05am - 8:30am in each classroom to ensure social distancing is being observed. It is very important for all scholars to arrive at breakfast time to eat breakfast and begin learning at the start of instructional time.

Staff Email Addresses


Leadership

Detra Coleman, Principal - d.coleman@mecc-academies.org

Paula Hayes, Culture Specialist - p.hayes@mecc-academies.org

Karen Orpe, Instructional Coach - k.orpe@mecc-academies.org


Sheilene Smith, Office Manager - s.smith@mecc-academies.org


Martha Miller, Social Worker - m.miller@mecc-academies.org


Special Education

Sharon Dye, Lead Teacher - s.dye@mecc-academies.org

Monica Mbua, Teacher - m.mbua@mecc-academies.org



Kindergarten

Charlene Long, Teacher - c.long@mecc-academies.org

Chelsea Henry, Teacher Assistant - c.henry@mecc-academies.org


First Grade

Tiara Owens, Teacher - t.owens@mecc-academies.org

Darryle Cross, Teacher Assistant - d.cross@mecc-academies.org


Second Grade

Asia Bradley, Teacher - a.bradley@mecc-academies.org

Atica Bell, Teacher Assistant - a.bell@mecc-academies.org


Third Grade

Christine Truesdell, Teacher - c.truesdell@mecc-academies.org


Fourth Grade

Sheryll Purdy, Teacher - s.purdy@mecc-academies.org

Michelle Kulcharyk, Teacher Assistant - m.kulcharyk@mecc-academies.org


Middle School

LaTesha Gordon, ELA Teacher - l.gordon@mecc-academies.org

Pantel Tzavellas, Social Studies Teacher - p.tzavellas@mecc-academies.org

Steven Orellana, Teacher Intern - s.orellana@mecc-academies.org

Andre Keys, Teacher Assistant - a.keys@mecc-academies.org

Johari Brown, Math Teacher - j.brown@mecc-academies.org

Paige DeRue, Teacher Assistant - p.derue@mecc-academies.org

Yolanda Betty, Science Teacher - y.betty@mecc-academies.org


Enrichment

Bryant Robertson, Teacher - b.robertson@mecc-academies.org

Edward McLean, Teacher - e.mclean@mecc-academies.org

Jerel Allen, Teacher - j.allen@mecc-academies.org