Week of February 10th - 17th

Announcements, Events and Extracurriculars

No School Monday, February 17th 2020

Please note there will be no school on Monday the 17th for a Staff in-service date.

Save the date!

Aqsa School's Annual Gala will take place Saturday, February 22, 2020! We are very excited to celebrate our 34th Anniversary with you. Please join us at the Gala.
Big picture

Aqsa School Annual Gala

Saturday, Feb. 22nd, 6pm

8055 West 103rd Street

Palos Hills, IL

The Gala is an elegant annual event to celebrate Aqsa School and its supporters. It is a fundraising event that helps the school and highlights the achievements of our students and staff. Please reach out to family and friends and purchase tickets today. We need your support! We look forward to seeing you all there on the 22nd !

RSVPs are enabled for this event.

Big picture

DONATE ITEMS FOR SILENT AUCTION FOR GALA

Help us have a successful GALA on Saturday, Feb 22nd. Every class has a themed gift basket and we are asking each student to make a monetary donation or buy a NEW item for the basket. We need gift cards! Items should be valued AT LEAST at $7 or more.

Let's make gift baskets you want to bid on!

Big picture

100th day of School

On Tuesday, February 4th, elementary students were excited to show their school spirit by celebrating the 100th day of school. Teachers and students came dressed up as their 100-year-old self, with 100 objects on their shirts or like a 1920's child. To teach history, 3 rooms were designated with activities that were symbols of concepts from 100 years ago: Women's Suffrage, A Disney based room because the Mickey characters emerged a century ago, and an invention room highlighting new inventions of the 1920's. Students engaged in science and math activities that used the base 100. Finally, they paraded around the school expressing their joy of 100 days of learning.

Look out for next week...

  • Staff in-service: February 17, 2020. No school for students.
  • Elementary Hadith and Quran Competitions.
  • Aqsa School Gala February 22nd 2020. Please join us.

If you have any ideas or suggestions to submit for the newsletter shoot an email to fnawab@aqsa.edu. We'd love to hear your feedback.

Week of Feb 10th to the 17th

KEY :

ELEMENTARY (E)

JUNIOR HIGH (JH)

HIGH SCHOOL (HS)

Junior high and High School (JH/HS)

ALL (A)


MPR: Multipurpose Room (Aqsa School basement level)

OLP: Oak Lawn Pavilion

YBTC: You Be the Chemist

TBA: To be Announced


Monday, Feb 10th

  • All STUDENT COUNCIL NOMINATIONS TO BE APPROVED


  • 3:30 to 4:30 pm Culture Club in room 4 for 3rd to 5th grade
  • 3:30 to 4:45 pm Debka practice in the MPR (JH).


Tuesday, Feb 11th

  • Iced coffee bar during lunch in the MPR. (JH/HS)
  • STUDENT COUNCIL NOMINEE SPEECHES after PRAYER (for the executive committee) *prayer time will be extended by ten minutes*


  • 3:30 to 5 pm Debka practice in the MPR. (HS)
  • 4-5:30 pm Volleyball practice at the OLP. (JH)
  • 7:30 pm Varsity Basketball Regional Game, Aqsa vs Richards, at St. Francis de Sales (HS)


Wednesday, Feb 12th

  • ADVISORY SCHEDULE: Vote for Student Council Elections
  • Bring your Auction Basket items
  • Additional Science Classes for Science Fair Prep. (6th to 9th)
  • English Dept Field Trip to the Shakespeare Theater at Navy Pier (10th-12th grade)


  • 3:30 to 5 pm Debka practice in the MPR. (HS)


Thursday, Feb 13th

  • 8:30-1 pm Science Fair (JH/HS)
  • 3:30-4:30: Science Fair: WALK THROUGH open to parents and community. Come see the projects our students conducted


  • 3:30-4:15 pm Music Club in room 14 (JH/HS)
  • 4-5:30 pm Volleyball practice at the OLP. (JH)


Friday, Feb 14th

  • You Be The Chemist (YBTC) during lunch in room 9 (JH)
  • Science Fair Scavenger Hunt during science periods
  • Elementary Science Fair Scavenger Hunt- during designated times


Saturday, Feb 15th

  • 5 pm Volleyball game, Aqsa vs KINDI at Universal School (JH)


Monday, Feb 17th

  • NO SCHOOL for students. Staff in-service day

Communication is Key

Please feel free to reach out with any questions at anytime.

AQSA SCHOOL STAFF OFFICE HOURS

ELEMENTARY DEPARTMENT GRADES 3-5

Ms. Ahmad 3rd grade

sahmad@aqsa.edu

Wednesday 3:30-4:15 pm

Room 3


Ms. Hasan 4th grade

rhasan@aqsa.edu

Wednesday 3:30 -4:15 pm

Room 1


Ms. Pallanti 5th grade

dpallanti@aqsa.edu

Monday 3:30-4:15 pm

Room 4


Ms. Moussa Elem. Arabic & Religion

mmousa@aqsa.edu


MATH AND SCIENCE DEPARTMENT

Ms. Chaudhry

mchaudhry@aqsa.edu

M-F lunch 11:49 to 12:19

or 3:30 to 4:30

Room 2


Ms. Krakra

jkrakra@aqsa.edu

Thursday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 12


Ms. Khalaf

maysoonkhalaf@aqsa.edu

M-F Lunch 11:49-12:19

room 12


Ms. Asma Mustafa

amustafa@aqsa.edu

M-F Lunch 11:49-12:19

Room 2


Ms. Said

ssaid@aqsa.edu

by appointment

MPR or Room 2


Ms. Yosef

ayosef@aqsa.edu

M W F 3:30 - 4:20 pm

Room 10


ENGLISH DEPARTMENT

Ms. Baylin

hbaylin@aqsa.edu

M T Thur lunch 11:49 am -12:19 pm

Room 9


Ms. Hartin

shartin@aqsa.edu

Wednesday lunch and 3:30 to 4:30

Room 14


Ms. Ibrahim

amalibrahim@aqsa.edu

Lunch M-F Lunch

Room 9


Ms. Keilhack

jkeilhack@aqsa.edu

Tuesdays lunch and 3:30 to 4:30 pm

Room 17


HISTORY DEPARTMENT

Ms. Ismail

tismail@aqsa.edu

By appointment

Room 2


Ms. Mersch

emersch@aqsa.edu

By appointment

Room 2


Ms. Danielson

kdanielson@aqsa.edu

W 3:45 - 4:30

Room 2


ELECTIVE DEPARTMENT

Ms. Marcelle

amarcelle@aqsa.edu

Monday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 16


Ms. Said

ssaid@aqsa.edu

By appointment

MPR or Room 2


ARABIC AND RELIGION DEPARTMENT

Sit Zahia

zdamen@aqsa.edu

Friday 3:30 to 4:20 pm

Room 15


Sit Laila

lelamin@aqsa.edu

Friday 3:30 to 4:30

Room 13


Sit Hala

hqato@aqsa.edu

Thur 3:30 to 4:30