The Midwest

By Ellie And Lauren

States And Small Regions In The Midwest

There are two smaller regions in the big region of the Midwest. The two smaller regions are, The East North Central Region and The West North Central Region. There are twelve states in the Midwest. The states are, North Dakota, South Dakota, Nebraska, Kansas, Missouri, Iowa, Illinois, Ohio, Minnesota, Wisconsin, Michigan, and Indiana.


The Wind Cave

The popular wind cave is located in the state of South Dakota. The wind cave is always relatively cold. It is always about 53 degrees in the cave. There are about 90 miles of passageway in the large cave. Wind that comes in and out of the cave can reach up to 70 miles per hour. Also, the wind that comes in and out of the cave makes a whistling sound.

Photo Credit:

The Jewel Cave

The dazzling Jewel Cave in South Dakota, is a great place to explore. Talking about long, the cave contains one of the longest cave systems in the United States. There is over 110 miles of passageways. On the cave’s walls there are crystals, (“jewels”) that gave the cave it’s name.



Lake Itasca

The beautiful Lake Itasca is located in Minnesota. Lake Itasca is the source of the Mississippi River. The lake was named by Henry Schoolcraft, an early explorer. Several tributaries flow into the lake. It is a small glacier lake.

Missouri River

The fabulous Missouri River, in many states in the Midwest, is relatively long. It it is the biggest tributary in the United States, and it is the longest river in North America. The Missouri River flows into the Mississippi River. Native Americans and early explorers are said to have called the Missouri River “Big Muddy.” The river is thick with a lot of mud.



The great Indianapolis, is located in Indiana. Indianapolis is the capital of Indiana. Also, the city is the largest city in Indiana. The population of Indianapolis is 820,445 of 2010. There are more than 200 retail shops, more than 35 hotels, about 300 restaurants, sport venues, movie theaters, art galleries, museums, and parks in Indianapolis.

Photo Credit:


Columbus is the capital of Ohio. Columbus is the fifteenth largest city in the United States. It is the largest city in Ohio. The population of Columbus is 809,798 people of 2012. The city is based on education, government, insurance, banking, fashion, defense, food, clothes, logistics, steel, energy, medical research, health care, hospitality, retail, and technology.

Photo Credit:


Sears Tower

The Sears Tower, also known as The Willis Tower, is located in Chicago, Illinois. This building has a lot of visitors. About one million visitors visit the observation deck a year! It is the second tallest building in the United States, and from 1973 to 1998, it was the tallest building in the world! The tower is 108 stories high. It is 1,451 feet high.

Mount Rushmore

Mount Rushmore, in South Dakota, shows the faces of four American presidents. The faces are carved in the stone of the cliff. The heads of the presidents are sixty feet tall! The four presidents which faces are carved in the rock are George Washington, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Theodore Roosevelt.