Astronomy 6.E.1.1

By: Nathaly Castro

Moon Phases

Their are 8 phases of the moon. Theirs: new moon, waxing crescent, first quarter, waxing gibbous, full moon, waning gibbous, third quarter, waxing crescent and back to new moon. It takes 27 days for the entire cycle to happen. The sun is what lights up the different parts of the moon. example: the new moon is dark looking from earth but from sun it's bright.
Flocabulary - Moon Phases


Their are 4 types of tides. their are spring tide, nead tide, Diurnal and semi diurnal. The spring tide is when the moon is behind the earth. And the nead tide is when the moon is in front of the earth. The diurnal tide is when their is a low tide. A semi diurnal is when their is a high tide.
How Do Tides Work?


A lunar eclipse is an in when the moon appears darker as it passes the earths shadow. And a Solar eclipse is when the sun is aborted by the moon. Those are the 2 eclipse. Shadow is a darkness of a object. A penumbra is a shadow coused by the earth or the moon.
What's the difference between a solar and lunar eclipse?


Revolution- is when the moon turns all the way around or spins on its axis one time.Rotation-is rotating around on its axis. The earth is on a axis, its 23.5 tilt. A year is when the earth goes completely around the sun which takes 365 day which is a year. The equator is right in the middle of the earth and its always hot. The southern and northern hemisphere are the top and the bottom of the equator. The southern hemisphere is in the region if the north pole is and the norther hemisphere is the region of the south pole.
What Causes the Seasons