The Spark Newsletter

November 6, 2021

Big picture

Student's Of The Week

A-Gl Student of the Week

The student of the week is Chiamaka Ezeala nominated by Mrs. Slavinski

Go-O Student of the Week

The student of the week is Tuyen Ho nominated by Katie Cummins.

P-Z Student of the Week

The student of the week is Ogooluwakaashi Phillips nominated by Coach Andrews.

What to expect this week.

  • Front doors will open at 7:15am. First bell rings at 8:15am. when students arrive on campus, they will go to the Gym, until they are released to class.
  • Students who arrive after the 8:15am bell, will receive a Tardy. Unless they have arrived to school on a late bus.
  • November 8-11th - Girls Basketball Tryouts

Order Your School Yearbook

http://www.balfour.com

Look for Leaman under "Shop my School"

Basketball Tryouts

Girls - Week of November 7th

Boys - Week of November 15th

Season starts December 8th

Big picture

Washington DC Trip - 8th Grade

REGISTRATION DEADLINE EXTENDED TO DECEMBER 15TH.

Attention 8th graders and parents. Registration is now open for the 2022 Washington DC and Colonial Virginia trip. The dates of the trip are March 12 to 16, 2022. We will visit some amazing places and you will get to have fun with your friends!

Don’t miss this great trip!

www.worldstrides.com/signup

phone number is 800-468-5899

Big picture

Canvas Information

Did you know that LCISD has created a dedicated page that explains Canvas. This is where you can find details on how to log in, videos on how students and parents can utilize Canvas, how to create a parent login and find parent support.

Check it out!!! https://www.lcisd.org/students-parents/canvas/canvas-information

Smart Tag Information

This past week, every student received their NEW Smart Tag.


SMART Tag Replacement: If a student has lost or misplaced their Smart Tag - please order a new one by clicking through this link?

https://www.lcisd.org/departments/support-services/transportation

Big picture
Big picture
Big picture
Big picture

From Athletics - Basketball

David Perez - Boys Athletic Coordinator - david.perez@lcisd.org

Nicole Smith - Girls Athletic Coordinator - nsmith@lcisd.org


Football Practice & Schedules Available on the Athletics Website

Attendance for 2021-2022

Please review this year's Attendance Procedures for Leaman

Leaman's Attendance Page

  • Absences DO count forwards Exemptions for student's final exams.
  • Excused doctor's notes must be received within FIVE days of the absence

Final Exam Exemptions

Below are the guidelines for qualifying to receive exam exemptions.

For attendance - all medical notes are due within Five (5) days of the last date of absence.

Upcoming Events

November 8-11th - Girls Basketball Tryouts

November 15-18th - Boys Basketball Tryouts

November 22th-26th - Thanksgiving Holiday

December 17th - Half Day - School Dismissal at 12:15pm

December 20th-31st - Winter Break

Leaman Jr High Admin Team

Michael Semmler - School Principal - msemmler@lcisd.org

Karl Carlton - Assistant Principal - kcarlton@lcisd.org

Jimitra Granger - 7th Grade Assistant Principal - jimitra.granger@lcisd.org

Derek Getschow - 8th Grade Assistant Principal - derek.getschow@lcisd.org

Leaman Jr High Counselor Team

Kevin Kracker (Alpha A - Gl) - kkracker@lcisd.org

Anita Oliphant (Alpha Go - O) anita.oliphant@lcisd.org

LaToya Session (Alpha P - Z) lsession@lcisd.org


Sylvia Rodriguez - Counselor's Secretary / Registrar srodriguez@lcisd.org

Additional Information for Leaman Jr High