Cell Cycle & Mitosis

Robert Mckenzie

Cell Cycle

The cell cycle is the division of somatic cells. They divide so that the cell can grow, so that the dead or damaged cells get replaced, and certain cells can be specialized. The first 3 phases of the cell cycle are G1, G2, & S (also called the interphase). The last two phases are Mitosis then cytokinesis.

First 3 Cell Stages.

Each stage of the cell cycle has a specific job. During G1, the cells grow quickly and it synthesizes proteins in preparation for mitosis. During the S phase, the DNA is copied so that there will not be any cell death or disease.

These are Pictures of G1, S, and G2

Last 2 Phases

MItosis & Cytokinesis

During mitosis the cells are seperated into 2 different identical sets of chromosomes. Both of them have its own nucleus. Cytokinesis is the splitting of the cytoplasm of the parent cell and creates two different new cells. To the left is a picture of cytokinesis.


Mitosis alone has 4 different stages. They are (in order) prophase, metaphase, anaphase, and telophase. The first phase prophase seperates the genetic info of a cell into 2 parts. These two parts are called daughter cells. There is a picture of prophase on the right.

Metaphase and Anaphase

In metaphase the chromosomes line up in the center of the cell. This is to prepare the splitting of the cell. During anaphase, the chromosomes are split and the sister chromatids separate to oppisite sides of the cell. Metaphase is shown to the left and anaphase is below.
Big image


In the last phase of mitosis telophase, the sister chromatids finally reach to complete oppisite side of the cell. Once this happens, the cells begins to split into two pieces. In the cell cycle this would be the end of mitosis and the cell would be split into two.