Lynx MS News

AIS West - January 2021

Happy New Year!


We hope this newsletter finds you relaxed, rejuvenated and ready to get back to learning. Welcome to Semester 2!


As was mentioned in previous communication, we will begin Semester 2 online. Students will attend classes daily following the schedule below. We will not have cohorts while we are 100% online. Classes begin at 8:00am on Sunday, January 10. We expect to return to school on February 21.


We are excited to invite all parents to Parent Teacher Conferences on January 21 on Zoom. This is a time to celebrate student achievement despite the challenges we have experienced.


As always, we are here for you at any time. Do not hesitate to reach out with any questions or concerns.


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Vice Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Middle School Schedule for 100% Online Learning: January 10 - February 20

Big picture

Important Dates

January 10 - Semester 2/Term 3 Begins


January 14 - Parent Workshop - 10:00am on Zoom


January 21 - Parent Teacher Conferences - Zoom

Counselor's Corner

It is going to be a busy month with a new semester starting. Students will have the opportunity to start a brand new elective (unless they are in full year electives). They will also be able to request a change to their elective. An electronic google form will be sent out January 3rd in which students can fill in order to request an elective change. Students will have until January 14th. After this date, no changes will be possible. We do try to accommodate all elective change requests but this is not always possible. By popular request, we will be doing a student workshop on student organization and how students can use their planners to be a more efficient learner and alleviate stress and overload. A few dates in January for this workshop will be available through zoom sessions. January 14th we will be offering a parent zoom workshop at 10am on Dealing with the Changing Middle Schooler. I look forward to seeing you all there!


Angela Fushtey

Middle School Counselor

afushtey@aiswest.com

Secondary School Library News!

We are featuring Secondary School Library books that were made into films and TV series. Come by and see over 100 books in our collection and remember, if you liked the movie or series, you'll love the book! Recently, the SS library paid a visit to the amazing American University Cairo Bookshop for their Christmas book sale and have added over forty new books mainly on Cairo and Egypt to our collection. Come by and check them out. Lastly, come and visit the library the last week in January (28 January) for International day to learn about different countries in the world.

Arts Week!

The last two weeks in December were spent celebrating Arts in the Middle School. We had a visual art exhibition, dance performances, lunchtime band concerts and a variety of student created theater. Enjoy the videos and photos below.
MS Band Arts Week 2020
"The Greedy Hippo" Grade 6 Cohort A
"The Rainbow Fish". Grade 7 Cohort A Drama Class Performance
"Sorry, Wrong Number" G8A part 1
Big picture
Big picture

Student of the Month

Leila Baraka, Grade 7, is our Student of the Month. She was chosen by her teachers because she embodies the IB Learner Profile Trait: Reflective.


One teacher wrote: This student is always striving to do better. She asks incredibly relevant and mature questions for her age. She always goes back and does her summary for her notes, which tells me that she's going back and reading over them again. I don't think it's about the grade for her, I think it's about making sure that she understands the concepts. That is an internal drive that is integral to an IB Learner!

Teacher of the Month

Ms. Amanda Bailey, Grade 6 Science Teacher, is our Teacher of the Month. Ms. Amanda was chosen by her colleagues because she embodies the IB Learner Profile Trait: Reflective. A reflective teacher gives thoughtful consideration to their own teaching, learning and experience. They are able to assess and understand their strengths and limitations in order to support their personal development.


One teacher wrote: This teacher is an incredible addition to our science team! She is constantly planning and reworking her lessons to better reflect her students needs. She asks a lot of questions and is genuinely interested in improving her practice. She is a great teacher.

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We are finishing up the semester by preparing for assessments on analyzing the theme of stories and identifying story elements.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

Students will learn about land use conflict in the Amazon Rainforest. The essential question is, how should the resources of rainforests be used and preserved. Lesson 12 in World Geography.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

We will be starting a new unit on fractions! Representing fractions, equivalent fractions, simplifying fractions, comparing fractions, and improper fractions and mixed numbers.

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

In grade 6 science we will continue the Earth Science unit and begin studying rocks, weathering and soil formation.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته. التربية الدينية الإسلامية: مراجعة على ما سبق دراسته.

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة( شرم الشيخ) قواعد ( ضمير الغائب) املاء ( علامات الترقيم ) تحدث واستماع ( قصة الثعلب والغراب).

Arabic SS 6 - Asmaa Mahmoud- amahmoud@aiswest.com

محمد على وليا على مصر - البيئة الصناعية

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 6, we will be learning French greetings, introducing ourselves and basic grammar. In our culture section, we will begin to learn about the French speaking world.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will start the new rotation by discussing the importance of Spanish, and to reflect whether students should learn Spanish or not.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we will be reflecting on our semester and performances.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are working on flexibility and floor movements.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

In Technology class we will start exploring the definition of "Robot" and their purpose. Additionally, we will begin working with RobertaLab as a way to simulate robots programming and building.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

In grade 6 students will be creating S.M.A.R.T goals that will help them achieve total fitness. A middle school fitness journal will be rolled out which involves fitness testing, goal setting and fitness tracking. Contexts that students are learning new skills are Ultimate Frisbee, Table Tennis and Modified Games.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are completing or Pop Art Painting.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

We are learning Jingle Bells!

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

students will do a short unit on poetry and then start their second novel: The Breadwinner by Deborah Ellis.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

Grade students will practice, describe, and apply computational skills using fractions and decimal numbers.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

We will be starting our unit over the cell cycle. We will create a cartoon video illustrating the steps in the life cycle of a cell and we will be in the lab to use microscopes to witness these steps first hand.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month, students will start a new unit. We will travel all the way to India in order to explore Indian society, culture and historical influences.

Arabic 7 - Sahar Mahmoud - smahmoud@aiswest.com

مراجعة الدروس الواردة باختبارالوزارة لغة عربية ودين /وقواعد:إعراب الفعل المضارع وأسلوب الشرط /-النصوص:حديث شريف "من أعمال الخير"/قصة عقبة بن نافع/ التربية الدينية :سورة يس ودرس"الإيمان بالرسل والاقتداء بهم".

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama. we will be reflecting on our semester and performances.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 7, we will be starting a new topic on how to ask about things in a classroom and how to use classroom expressions. In grammar, we will be learning different articles and in our Géoculture section, we will continue to explore the French francophone speaking world.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will learn new vocabulary to describe yourself and others, and practice likes and dislikes.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة( غرائب المخلوقات) قواعد (الاسماء الموصولة ) املاء ( همزة القطع ) تحدث واستماع ( الخياط الشجاع ).

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

In Technology class we will start exploring the components of the Mechanics-Dynamics-Aesthetics video games design framework and begin working on the first summative assignment.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are completing our Picasso Portrait Paintings.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Beginning Band 7/8 : We are learning Jingle Bells!

Intermediate Band 7/8: Our first concert was last week. Ask your son/daughter to watch it on whatsapp. They were awesome!

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are working on choreography techniques.

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

الحياة السياسية عند المصريين القدماء - توزيع اليابس والماء بالعالم

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

In grade 7 students will be creating S.M.A.R.T goals that will help them achieve total fitness. A middle school fitness journal will be rolled out which involves fitness testing, goal setting and fitness tracking. Contexts that students are learning new skills are Ultimate Frisbee, Table Tennis and Modified Games.

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, students will start a new unit. Students will read a story and analyze as well as draw inferences from the text, while following the main character and the challenges they face.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

In January, we will start a new chapter "Algebraic Factorisation." Students will learn how to identify the highest common factor in an expression, and will learn how to use the identities to factor expressions.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

After a successful inquiry into the Medieval period in Western Europe, students will now turn their attention to the Italian Renaissance. Here they will discover the rebirth of ancient Greece and Rome, leading to a flourishing in art, architecture, literature, and humanism, both secular and religious.

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

In January, we will begin a new unit. Students will use their prior knowledge about waves to explore Sound energy.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

Students will learn new vocabulary to talk about clothing, stores, colors and seasons.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 8 in January, we will focus on grammar, accents and graphic signs, the different articles and the group of verbs. In our Géoculture section, we will explore the Province of Québec.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

In Technology class students will start exploring the meaning of Algorithm and how computers interpret instructions with the help of a few coding video games. Also they will work on visually design several flowcharts to propose algorithmic solutions to computable problems.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة( غرائب المخلوقات) قواعد (اعراب الفاعل ) املاء ( حروف تنطق ولا تكتب ) تحدث واستماع ( ماء الصحراء ).

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

- اللغة العربية والتربية الإسلامية : مراجعة ما تم دراسته والاستعداد لامتحان الوزارة.

Arabic Social Studies 8 - Mahmoud Sharkawy- msharkawy@aiswest.com

الوحدة الرابعة في التاريخ : ١- الخليفة ابي بكر الصديق ٢ - الخليفة عمر بن الخطاب ٣- الخليفة عثمان بن عفان

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We are completing our Picasso Portrait Paintings.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

Studying about pop music to select a song for a new choreography.

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

We are going to reflect on our radio play " Sorry Wrong Number" and work on the sound.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

In grade 8 students will be creating S.M.A.R.T goals that will help them achieve total fitness. A middle school fitness journal will be rolled out which involves fitness testing, goal setting and fitness tracking. Contexts that students are learning new skills are Ultimate Frisbee, Table Tennis and Modified Games.

Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Beginning Band 7/8 : We are learning Jingle Bells!

Intermediate Band 7/8: Our first concert was last week. Ask your son/daughter to watch it on whatsapp. They were awesome!

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool