High School News

April 27, 2020

Big picture

April 27, 2020

Greetings Methacton Parents and Students,


I hope that this email finds all of our Methacton families in the very best of health and spirits. We are now in the third week of virtual learning during the fourth marking period of the school year.

Unfortunately, I must begin by sharing the sad news that the announcement by the Montgomery County Commissioners regarding the extension of social distancing guidelines has led to the cancellation of the Prom that had been already been rescheduled for May 29. All Juniors and Seniors will receive a full refund. I apologize to our Seniors and Juniors. For our Juniors, I am looking forward to spring of 2021 when we can hold both our Prom and Post Prom events. For our Seniors, a summer luncheon gathering is being planned in August that will hopefully allow the members of the Class of 2020 to come together in celebration.

Many aspects of our instructional program and of the entire educational experience have changed since in-person schooling came to a conclusion in March. At the same time, many components of our preparation for the 2020-2021 school year must continue on. I recognize the need to have one place where parents and students can see all of this information relevant to both the end of the current school year and planning for next school year. Please visit this link to view a concise listing of the major elements of our ongoing instruction as well as information specific to both underclassmen and Senior students. This portion of the website will be updated with information for both underclassmen and Senior students and parents throughout the remainder of the school year. Underclassmen parents are encouraged to take note of the course request information, as well as information about acceleration, remediation and waivers. All of this information was shared in January and February but deadlines for these items are approaching now.

Parents of members of the Class of 2020 can view information about special events and activities planned for our Senior class. Included in this information are several additional special activities and opportunities planned throughout the summer, including the Senior luncheon in August. I am excited to share specific details about our planned “drive-in movie” style graduation ceremony plans. These details will be sent to Seniors and Senior parents in a separate communication this week. Please know that I remain committed to making this a meaningful and memorable experience for our Seniors.

To all our parents and students, please know that I am grateful for your continued understanding and support as we work together to create a positive and productive educational experience for our students to close out the 2019-2020 school year.

Yours in Warrior Pride,

Dr. Jason Sorgini

Methacton High School

April 27, 2020

MHS Administration

Dr. Jason Sorgini, Principal jsorgini@methacton.org

Mr. John Smink, 9th Grade House Principal jsmink@methacton.org

Dr. Paul Spiewak, 10th Grade House Principal pspiewak@methacton.org

Mr. Dan Bontempo 11th Grade House Principal dbontempo@methacton.org

Dr. Karey Kochenour 12th Grade House Principal kkochenour@methacton.org

Dr. Jamie Gravinese, Supervisor of HS Special Education jgravinese@methacton.org