2014 ALA Book Awards Announced

ALA is the American Library Association

American Library Association Awards Announced Jan. 27, 2014

January is what I refer to as the Academy Awards time for librarians. We read like crazy hoping we'll have read THE big books of the year. We talk amongst ourselves and make predictions. We hope like crazy that our favorites will come away with those coveted shiny stickers, and on announcement day, some of us even get up at 5 AM to watch the live simulcast of the announcements.

This year's winners are a widely varied bunch of books, but all of them are fantastic titles, chosen with care and much discussion by tireless committees of librarians from around the country.

I hope you'll find some of your favorites here and find some new favorites from the list. Hopefully most of the age appropriate winners for each level will be purchased and added to your collections soon.

If you have questions about the books, let me know! Happy reading :-)

Coretta Scott King Award- recognizing an African American author and illustrator of outstanding books for children and young adults


Honor - Kadir Nelson - Nelson Mandela (K-3 but up to gr. 8 as an intro to NM)

Winner Brian Collier Knock Knock (K-3 but up to gr. 12 as an intro to slam poet Daniel Beaty)



March Book One John Lewis (graphic novel gr. 8 and up)

Darius and Twig Walter Dean Myers (gr. 8 and up)

Words with Wings, Nikki Grimes (gr. 3-7)


PS Be Eleven Rita Williams Garcia (gr. 3-7)

Schneider Family Book Awards for books that embody an artistic expression of the disability experience

Young Reader

A Splash of Red - the Life and Art of Horace Pippin Jennifer Bryant (K-3)

Middle School

Handbook for Dragon Slayers Merrie Haskell (gr. 3-8)


Rose Under Fire, Elizabeth Wein (gr. 9-up)

The Stonewall Award for works of exceptional merit for children or teens relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender experience


Better Nate than Ever Tim Federle (gr. 4-up)

Branded by the Pink Triangle Ken Setterington (gr. 6-up)

Two Boys Kissing David Levithan (gr. 7-up)


Beautiful Music for Ugly Children Kirsten Cronn-Mills (gr. 9-up)

Fat Angie e. E Charlton-Trujillo (gr. 9-up)

The YALSA Awards (YALSA = Young Adult Library Services Assoc.)

Margaret A. Edwards - lasting contribution to YA Literature

Markus Zusak, autho of The Book Thief, I am the Messenger, Fighting Ruben Wolf, Getting the Girl

William C. Morris - first time author

Stephanie Kuehn for Charm and Strange (gr. 8-up)

YALSA Excellence in Nonfiction

The Nazi Hunters Neal Bascomb (gr. 7-up)

The Michael L. Printz Award for Excellence in Young Adult Literature



Eleanor and Park Rainbow Rowell (gr. 9-up)

Kingdom of Little Wounds Susann Kokal (gr. 10-up)

Maggot Moon Sally Gardner (gr. 7-12)

Navigating Early Clare Vanderpool (gr. 6-9)


Midwinter Blood Marcus Sedgwick (gr. 9-up)

The Pura Belpré Awards honoring a Latino illustrator whose children's books best portray, affirm and celebrate the Latino cultural experience

Pura Belpré Illustrator Award


Maria Had Little Llama/Maria Tenia una Llamita anela Dominguez (gr. K-3)

Tito Puente Mambo King/Rey del Mambo Monic Brown, ill. Rafael Lopez (gr. K-3)

Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale Duncan Tonatiuh (gr. K-3)


Niño Wrestles the World Yuyi Morales (gr. K-3)

Pura Belpré Author Award


The Lightning Dreamer: Cuba’s Greatest Abolitionist Margarita Engle (gr. 6-12)

The Living Matt de la Peña (gr. 9-up)

Pancho Rabbit and the Coyote: A Migrant’s Tale Duncan Tonatiuh (gr. K-3)


Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass Meg Medina (gr. 7-12)

The Sibert Award for the most distinguished informational book for children


A Splash of Red - the Life and Art of Horace Pippin Jennifer Bryant (K-3)

Look Up Birdwatching in Your Own Backyard annette Cate (gr. 3-5)

Locomotive Brian Floca (gr. 3-6)

The Mad Potter George E. Ohr, Eccentric Genius Jan Greenberg (gr. 3-6)


Parrots Over Puerto Rico Susan Roth (gr. 2-6)

Theodor Seuss Geisel Award for the most distinguished book for beginning readers


Ball Mary Sullivan (gr. K-3)

A Big Guy Took My Ball Mo Willems (gr. K-2)

Penny and Her Marble Kevin Henkes (gr. K-3)


The Watermelon Seed Greg Pizzoli (gr. K-1)

The Caldecott Medal awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.


Journey Aaron Becker (gr. 1-4)

Flora and the Flamingo Molly Schaar Idle (gr. K-2)

Mr. Wuffles David Wiesner (gr. K-3)


Locomotive Brian Floca (gr. 3-6)

Th Newbery Medal - to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children.


Doll Bones Holly Black (gr. 4-8)

The Year of Billy Miller Kevin Henkes (gr. 2-7)

One Came Home Amy Timberlake (gr. 5-9)

Paperboy Vince Vawter (gr. 6-9)


Flora and Ulysses Kate Dicamillo (gr. 3-6)

This flyer was created by Erin Fitzpatrick-Bjorn, the K-8 District Media Coordinator for the Gresham-Barlow School District.