Child Labor Law's

For working children

What are child labor law's?

Child labor law's are laws that control the work that children are permitted to do and the hours they are permitted to work.


Minors under the age of 16 in Georgia may:

  • Work 4 hours on a school day.
  • Work 8 hours on a nonschool day
  • Work 40 hours on a nonschool week.
  • Not work before 6:00 a.m.
  • Not work after 9:00 p.m.


Minors 14 and 15 years of age in Georgia may:

  • Work 3 hours on a school day.
  • Work 8 hours on a nonschool day.
  • Work 18 hours in a school week.
  • Work 40 hours in a nonschool week.
  • Not work before 7:00 a.m.
  • Not work after 7:00 p.m. (extended to 9:00 p.m. June 1st through labor day)
  • Not work during normal school hours.


Child Labor Law's in Alabama

Employers who wish to employ person under 18 years of age must obtain the appropriate Child Labor Certificate(s) for each location where persons under 18 years of age are employed. A Class I Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of 14 and 15 year old minors. A Class II Child Labor Certificate is required for the employment of 16 and 17 year old minors.


Child Labor Laws in Nigeria.

In Nigeria 15 million children under the age of 14 are working. Many of these children are exposed to long hours of work in dangerous and unhealthy environments, carrying too much responsibility for their age. Working in these hazardous conditions with little food, small pay, no education and no medical care establishes a cycle of child rights violations.

Child Labor Law's in Texas.

If you are 14 in Texas you can work in workplaces that are originally for adults. The work restriction for 14 and 15 year olds in from 7 a.m to 9 p.m. If you are 14 and you can prove that you are a good worker you can be exempt from the hour restriction for one year.