Lynx MS News

AIS West - September 2020

Welcome to Semester 1!

Dear parents and students,


Thank you for your patience, flexibility and support during this uncertain time. We are excited and ready to begin welcoming back students next week. Please see the important dates below for details on our staggered return to school.


If you have not done so already, please review our Re-Opening Guide, which has details on our health and safety guidelines, the bell schedule, dismissal times and other important pieces of information.


Student Cohorts will be finalized in PowerSchool on the morning of Monday, September 14. This information is only visible through a web browser; not the mobile phone application.


Do not hesitate to reach out to us, or your child's teachers, with any questions or concerns. Together, we can make this a fantastic school year!


Your partners in education,

Mark Tennant

Secondary School Principal

mtennant@aiswest.com


Chelsea Armstrong

Middle School Vice Principal

carmstrong@aiswest.com


Reham Sherif

Middle School Administrative Assistant

rsherif@aiswest.com

Important Dates

September 6-14 - 100% Online Learning


September 15 - Independent Online Learning

Health and Safety Presentation during Advisory at 8:00am

No Zoom classes.


September 16 - Grade 6 Cohort A on Campus

All other middle school students will independently work at home.


September 17 - Grade 6 Cohort B on Campus

All other middle school students will work independently at home.


September 20 - 24 - Cohort A on Campus

Cohort B at home independent learning


September 27 - October 1 - Cohort B on Campus

Cohort A at home independent learning

How do I know which Cohort I'm in? **Check for the final assignment on Monday morning.

Big picture

Counselor's Corner

Angela Fushtey - Middle School Counselor afushtey@aiswest.com

We made it through these first few weeks and I am so proud of how our Middle School kids have all adapted! All elective changes are now finished so everyone can all settle in and focus. Parents and students are still encouraged to reach out when in need of any support. Students can join the Counseling google classroom by following the link: https://classroom.google.com/c/MzcxMTc2ODk3NjFa?cjc=nz5yqcr
Big picture

What's Happening in Grade 6?

English 6 - Michaela Lucey - mlucey@aiswest.com - Gail Heard - gheard@aiswest.com

We are learning how to identify literary elements to help us better analyze and discuss various types of literature.

Geography 6 - John Lawrence - jlawrence@aiswest.com - Abdelkader Chabi - achabi@aiswest.com

This month in Geography 6 we will be learning about the tools of geography, the geographic setting, map titles and symbols, longitude and latitude and map scale.

Math 6 - Vince Yung - vyung@aiswest.com - Michael Heard - mheard@aiswest.com

In Mathematics 06, we are starting with number systems, number sense and operations, fractions, and decimals. Let’s have fun!

Science 6 - Amanda Bailey - abailey@aiswest.com - Andrea Clark - aclark@aiswest.com

This month in Science we will practice observing our surroundings and thinking like scientists. We'll learn how develop ideas or generalizations based on our observations.

Arabic 6 - Ahmed Khattab - akhattab@aiswest.com - Ali Mansour - amansour@aiswest.com

اللغة العربية: درس "مفتاح النجاح " قراءة. / درس "نصائح أب" قرآن كريم. / درس "أنواع الخبر" نحو. / الفصل الأول "عائلة المشايخ" - قصة علي مبارك.

التربية الدينية الإسلامية: سورة القلم الآيات من (1- 16). / درس "الله واحد لا شريك له“. / نشيد" إله العالمين“

AFL 6 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة ( الاسكندرية والقاهرة) نحو ( اسماء الاشارة وضماير المتكلم و الغاءب) تحدث واستماع ( قصص عربية ( قصة وفاء الكلب ) املاء ( ال القمرية وال الشمسية)

French 6 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 6, we are learning French greetings, introducing ourselves and basic grammar. In our culture section, we will begin to learn about the French speaking world.

Spanish 6 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will learn about the importance of Spanish, and do some research on famous Spanish speaking people.

Drama 6 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we are learning about the importance of personal space, voice training, projecting, movement, improvisation and mime through Drama games. We are also learning about the importance of stage design and costumes in “The Greedy Hippo”.

Dance 6 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning the basic steps of Hip-Hop/ focusing on footwork, elements of dance and body movement.

Technology 6 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

In Technology class we will start exploring the definition of "Robot" and their purpose. Additionally, we will begin working with RobertaLab as a way to simulate robots programming and building.

Physical Education 6 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Ron Thomson mperry@aiswest.com kwards@aiswest.com, and rthomson@aiswest.com

In grade 6 we have focused on expectations and procedures and have developed students understanding of good character traits in Physical Education. We will begin to develop their knowledge around exercise, anatomy and components of fitness in the coming weeks.

Art 6 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

In Art, we are learning about famous Artists and creating research pages and cartoons of the Artists.

Band 6 - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Band classes have begun, but some students still need to come get their instruments. We already started basic assembly of instrument, getting a sound on the mouthpiece, and we will be starting note playing and counting during our next class.
Big picture

What's Happening in Grade 7?

English 7 - Gail heard and Amira Nabhan - gheard@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month students will be reviewing paragraph writing from last year, developing a deeper understanding of punctuation, sentence structure, and grammar in order to better proof-read, and correct their work. They will also learn about plagiarism, and how to avoid it.

Math 7 - Michael Heard and Amira Elsherif mheard@aiswest.com, aelsherif@aiswest.com

This month students will learn to increase their personal math power by developing a "Growth Mindset." We will review and study operations with whole numbers and properties of numbers.

Science 7 - Andrea Clark & Yara Elshorafa aclark@aiswest.com, yelshorafa@aiswest.com

This month the students will be exploring the water cycle, water scarcity, and the impact that humans have on how water is dispersed. Students will be asked to use the information they aquire to develop a feesible solution to Egypt's future water demands.

History 7 - Abdelkader Chabi and Daniel McCarville - achabi@aiswest.com, dmccarville@aiswest.com

This month students will take on the role of archaeologists to investigate how early humans lived. We will explore how early societies lived very simple lives as hunters and gatherers, slowly developing into bigger communities and eventually civilizations!

Arabic 7 - Hussien Fawzy - hfawzy@aiswest.com

Drama 7 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we are learning about the importance of personal space, voice training, projecting, movement, improvisation and mime through Drama games and we are learning the importance of the stage design and costumes in “The Rainbow Fish”.

French 7 -Edwina Nordquist- enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 7, we are doing reviews on presenting yourself and others. We will also start our géoculture of France to learn about the French culture.

Spanish 7 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will learn to say hello and goodbye in Spanish, introduce oneself and others and learn the alphabet.

AFL 7 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة ( بائعة الكبريت) نحو ( الجملة الاسمية والجملة الفعلية ) (تحدث واستماع ) قصص عربية مثل الغراب وقطعة الطعام املاء ( التاء المربوطة والتاء المفتوحة )

Technology 7 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

In Technology class we will start reviewing the components of the Mechanics-Dynamics-Aesthetics video games design framework and begin working on the first summative assignment.

Art 7 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We will begin with learning shading and drawing to techniques, so we can create realistic drawings of objects.

Beginning Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Students are learning the basics of reading notes and counting this semester .

Dance 7 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are studying the Hip - Hop history, basic steps, dance elements and body movements, we are enjoying our time!

Arabic Social Studies 7 - Mohamed Ahmed - mahmed@aiswest.com

الوحدة الأولى : رحلة عبر الفضاء الدرس الأول: ظواهر كونية

Physical Education 7 - Anders Nordquist - anordquist@aiswest.com

We are learning about building character and strong personality!
Big picture

What's Happening in Grade 8?

English 8 - Hadear Hassan & Amira Nabhan - hhassan@aiswest.com, anabhan@aiswest.com

This month, students will be working on their writing skills, reflecting how COVID-19 affected their lives. They will also go over the concept of plagiarism and ways to avoid it, as well as how to use in-text citations to prevent it.

Math 8 - Amira Elsherif & Laila Elfakharany -aelsherif@aiswest.com, lelfakharany@aiswest.com

This week, we will start our Algebra course with a review on the most important concepts students learned in grade 7. This will be followed with a recap on the Algebra topics we covered last year, in order to smoothly engage grade 8 students with their algebra course this year.

History 8 - Daniel MacCarville - dmaccarville@aiswest.com - Hadear Hassan - hhassan@aiswest.com

During the next few weeks, students will learn about primary and secondary sources, and the differences between them, culminating in an activity where they are asked to be primary sources for the COVID-19 experience. This will be followed up by introducing students to the 5 themes of geography, which helps us to study History. They will then work on a group project, and also an individual project about 5 Themes of geography, which will be a summative assessment. Then we will enter into the TCI textbook, beginning with the Introduction, which is titled "Rome:From Republic to Empire". By starting at this point in the book, we will seamlessly connect to the end of the learning sequence from 7th grade History and reinforce key points which will allow us to move into the first chapter of the textbook "The Legacy of the Roman Empire".

Science 8 - Yara Elshorafa & Dina Sonbol - yelshorafa@aiswest.com, dsonbol@aiswest.com

This month students will be carrying out a few activities via Zoom to help them build some skills that are useful for science. We will also begin with our first unit, which talks about Matter and the various properties and changes it can undergo. Students will have a variety of interactive assessments to test their understanding, which include projects and labs.

Spanish 8 - Dolores Rodriguez - drodriguez@aiswest.com

We will learn about Puerto Rican culture, and how to express what you like to eat for breakfast, lunch and dinner in Spanish.

French 8 - Edwina Nordquist - enordquist@aiswest.com

In French 8, we are learning on how to present ourselves with details such as physical appearances, character traits, personalities and preferences. Our géoculture will be focused on the French culture this month.

Technology 8 - Alejandro Corredor - acorredor@aiswest.com

In Technology class students will start exploring the meaning of Algorithm and how computers interpret instructions. Also they will work on visually design several flowcharts to propose algorithmic solutions to computable problems.

AFL 8 - Mohamed Hassan - mhassan@aiswest.com

قراءة ( سميرة موسي ) نحو ( اركان الجملة الاسمية المبتدا والخبر ) تحدث واستماع قصص عربية ( قصة السندباد البحري ) املاء ( علامات الترقيم )

Arabic 8 - Salah Moaty & Aly Mansour - smoaty@aiswest.com, amansour@aiswest.com

القراءة: ١- كبرياء طفل ٢- لو أنني ضابط شرطة. النصوص: ١- نص نصائح غالية. القصة : الفصل الأول والثاني. النحو: الإعراب والبناء/ التربية الإسلامية : سورة الفرقان من (١ إلى ٥) درس : مفهوم الدين. الفصل الأول من قصة أسامة بن زيد.

Art 8 - Hannah Wilson - hwilson@aiswest.com

We will begin with learning shading and drawing to techniques, so we can create realistic drawings of objects.

Dance 8 - Lina Rodriguez - lrodriguez@aiswest.com

We are learning about Hip - Hop history, combination of the steps and body movement

Drama 8 - Ilonka Meier - imeier@aiswest.com

In Drama, we are learning about the importance of personal space, voice training, projecting, movement, improvisation and mime through Drama games. We are also learning about the importance of stage design and costumes in “Sorry, Wrong Number”.

Physical Education 8 - Marty Perry, Katrina Wards, and Anders Nordquist mperry@aiswest.com, kwards@aiswest.com, and anordquist@aiswest.com

In 8th grade PE, we are learning about building character and how good character influences our PE classes. We are also building together our "PE Guidelines for Success".

Intermediate Band - Patricia Granter - pgranter@aiswest.com

Band this year is exciting! All of our group has had at least one year experience and we are already working on music from "Game of Thrones". We will continue to work on new notes and rhythms as the year progresses.

AIS West Middle School

Follow us on Instagram @aise_west_middleschool
Big picture